We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better than last time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ventanas al Mar

Save Saved
You added Ventanas al Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Ventanas al Mar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Costera Oriente Km. 43.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 57 hotels in Cozumel
Richmond, VA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Even better than last time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We returned to Ventanas al Mar after more than a year because we were so taken with the wild beauty and solitude of the place, and this visit was even better than last time. The hotel has tweaked some details without altering the essence of the place. The electricity is 24 hours now, which is a big help for charging phones and for use of fans (no AC - open air cooling), and WIFI is available as needed in the lobby, which is quite useful in light of the isolation of the place. Joel and Rosalbo were delightful and made us feel like family. In fact, one evening the staff was celebrating a birthday dinner and shared their delicious meal with us gratis.It was among the best meals we had during our vacation. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Room 21 has great cross ventilation and overlooks the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    17
    2
    3
    4
See reviews for
7
63
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I must say I was a little leery when I booked this hotel. After arriving in Cozumel and driving across the island to Ventanas I was pleasantly surprised. I had booked the hotel after seeing it on trip advisor. I wanted something a bit out of the ordinary, not the textbook All inclusive. The rooms are very clean and spacious. The bed was hard but very comfortable. The bathroom was a bit small and we did have a problem with the shower not draining, but the issues were minor. You have to realize that you are in a place running on solar power and a generator. There is no air-conditioning but of the three nights we stayed only one was a bit too warm and humid for a great night's sleep. The sound of the surf is so comforting and it's quiet so we had no issues sleeping. Make sure to step outside at night as well because the view of the stars from here is amazing. Seeing as there is no power on the eastern side of the island the view is not obstructed by articial light.

Coconuts is right next door. What a great time! The food is OK, nothing to write home about and the drinks are pricey but well worth a visit.

Mezcalito's is right down the road too but I would not recommend it for food.

A rental car is the way to go if staying here(I suggest ISIS). You have the freedom to visit the San Gervasio ruins and Punta Sur or go downtown everyday if you'd like. I also suggest bringing a cooler with water/drinks/beer and snacks for your stay. I requested a fridge in our room and it was there when we checked in.

Lastly, we did take advantage of the dinner service on our last night and wished(after the fact) that we had every night. The grouper with garlic sauce was out of this world! We would stay here again. For us 3 nights was enough. I think if we were with another couple it would be a bit more fun but if you are looking to get away from it all, look no further. Note, that there is no swimming at the hotel as the surf is WAY to rough. You can swim at the beach at Punta Sur and right down the road at Chen Rio(very crowded on Sundays).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

If you're looking to unwind in a stress free environment this piece of solitude is for you. The staff treated us like royalty. We stayed seven nights and sometimes we felt as though we were the only guests at this private (total getaway) hotel.
We did have WiFi access the entire time. I kind of wish we hadn't because it was a distraction we didn't need. Breakfast and dinner meals were individually prepared. Healthy choices of fresh fruit and seafood abound. Like the reviews before me I hesitate to uncover this jewel because it's so small I might not get a reservation the next time I plan to go.
Warning: If you're looking for parties and loud music this is not the place for you. If you can't live without air conditioning for a few days this is not the place for you.

Room Tip: Room 26 for the starry night sky, the suites are two story with spiral staircases
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed at Cozumel for six wonderful nights. We checked in on the 25th of March and departed for the US on April 1. The view from the hotel is so beautiful. The beach to the left of the hotel is wonderful and the sound of the surf is very relaxing. The nights were cool and we enjoyed the bed, it was so comfortable. If you want to get away from the busy life ‘Ventanas al Mar’ is the place to go. It is such a quiet location and it was a nice change of pace from Carmen del Playa and Cancun. You will likely need to rent a vehicle because the hotel is roughly 20 kilometers away from town. With that said, it is a romantic place with beautiful views and the staff is excellent!!

Joel and Rosalba are the best managers we had ever met. They are warm and kind, keep the atmosphere relaxed, and the hotel runs so efficiently. The hotel recently started dinner service and the chef makes EXCELLENT food. We ordered wine with pasta, fish, meat and traditional Mexican dishes. It was all fantastic. The morning breakfast is great as well. Between the views, location, staff (especially Joel and Rosalba), accommodation, food and drink we give this hotel the highest recommendation.

Should you stay you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Any room you choose you will love. If you want to spend a little extra go for Suite 1 if it is avai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

A wonderful hotel and great service from Joel, Rosalba and the entire staff. Ventanas al Mar is a very quiet, no frills, secluded place...... so if this is what you want it is the place for you! No WIFI but you don't need it here......you have the beach, sunrises, and the ocean! Meals are served for breakfast and dinner, be sure to have the red snapper it is delicious! My husband and I will certainly be back to enjoy this beautiful hideaway!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I hesitate to review this little gem simply because I want to make sure a room is available! We have been traveling to the Yucatan since 1986 and hadn't visited the east side of CZM in several years. While browsing, I found Ventanas and we couldn't resist---even though booked on the west side for our month. We spent two fabulous nights under the fantastic care of Joel and Rosalba and the entire staff. They now have electricity(solar power). Plus, they also serve dinner now too---you order ahead of time. All the food is fantastic--breakfast and dinner. We enjoyed our CLEAN and beautiful, simple room. Leave your worries elsewhere and enjoy the little touches that make this hotel so special----the view during the day, the stars at night, your own little beach, sleeping to the sound of the ocean, the lovely furnishings and talavera, the entire experience is simply a treat. You will feel so relaxed and refreshed! We took a taxi since we knew we would not want to leave to visit the other beach bars---done that. As another reviewer said, Coconuts is next door to replenish your beer---take a little cooler and they will even give you ice. For dinner, you are able to order a bottle of wine when you place your food choices. I could go on and on, but will stop with my hope to visit again and we will always treasure our memories of this first stay! Abrazos Joel y Rosalba!!!!

Room Tip: The stairs are worth the climb for room higher up. The view is be beyond description!!! And, you h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Found this beautiful place by accident because having lunch at Coconuts was on my list of things to do in Cozumel! This hideaway is located on the beach right below the bar. I couldn't believe my eyes! Absolute beauty. Extremely secluded. What a perfect spot for a quiet holiday!!! No night life, but Coconuts is pretty wild and open until 7:00

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ventanas al Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ventanas al Mar

Also Known As:
Ventanas Al Mar Hotel
Ventanas Al Mar Cozumel
Address: Carretera Costera Oriente Km. 43.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cozumel
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ventanas al Mar 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ventanas al Mar Hotel creates a relaxed atmosphere for guests who want a unique Caribbean experience. The oceanfront hotel is located on the east, windward side of Cozumel Island where there is always a breeze. The delicious homemade produce breakfasts is included in our rates. The great sandy beaches of the East coast, the sound of the ocean waves crashing on the rocks and the silence of the nature far away from the city offer a wealth of opportunities for visitors wanting to GET AWAY FROM IT ALL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Ventanas al Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ventanas al Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.