We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Rafael Melgar No. 45 | Entre Calles 5 y 7 sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 58 hotels in Cozumel
Shawnee, Kansas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Beyond expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This review is overdue but we all know how busy we get when we get home. We stayed here June 2-9. There were 4 of us =2 rooms. Both were ocean view. One was on 4th floor while the other was on 2nd. This suited our needs as the 2 on 4th floor were making their first trip to Cozumel and loved the view. There are many comments about the noise but it did not bother us too much as we are early risers and enjoyed sitting on balcony watching the city wake up. The rooms are a very nice size. The weather was bad the first half of our trip as the first tropical storm was developing but by the 4th day it cleared up. This did not stop us. The location was great as anywhere was a short walk or the taxi stand was right there. The ladies at the hotel were first class. I told them I would forget their names, and I did but they were amazing. They made reservations for us at the chocolate factory (A MUST DO- GO THERE) and the Pirate cruise which was nice because the rain kept them from going out most of week. The hotel was very clean. One of our concers prior to ariving was the room safe situation. There is a safe opperated by a key not electronic/digital. It was large enough for my 10.1" tablet, phones, travel documents, charging cords, portable speakers and cameras. The morning breakfast was just the right amount to snack on while everyone got ready to start the day. It was juice, coffee and a few pasteries. We requested all croissants and they usually could accomodate. The beds are stiff but we had no problem sleeping on them but they are not our memory foam or pillow top. We have slept on much worse in other places in Mexico. Pool... We did not use (see weather- rain)
I will finish this review by stating that this is the 4th difderent place I have stayed in Cozumel (Aura, El Coz., Casa Mexicana) and I will return. Why? Service, location, affordability and it is clean. I can't think of anything else I would like in a hotel. We like all-inclusives but we feel we miss out on too much if we stay at one in Cozumel.

Room Tip: We loved the view from the ocean view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    74
    30
    10
    4
See reviews for
30
108
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Glad to see that the hotel made some nice upgrades. Each room has a new AC unit. Very quiet unit and they can get pretty damn cold if you want. Our room also had a new flat screen and bigger, new fridge with freezer. This was our 3rd stay here. It's all about the value at this place. It is down town. It does have a balcony on the water if you select that (we always do). It is a great place to watch the ships come in and out, watch the scuba fleets load and unload, and watch the fishing crews fish for bait from the pier. Maid service is great. We gave them a little tip each day and they went to town cleaning our room. They even went onto our balcony and turned our chairs over during a downpour, so they were dry when we got back to the room. Malidad and the rest of the desk staff were great.

It's is a little noisy sometimes being that it is downtown, the bathrooms do not have a fan in them so it does get humid in there, there is not an elevator, and the pool is not an infinity or Olympic sized pool, and there is not a bar there. That being said, that is why you are paying $60-$90 a night depending on season. It is a great value. Every oceanfront room was filled during our stay. We will be back in 2014 as long as the price is right!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This hotel has been one of my favorites. The rooms and the hotel itself were exceptionally clean and the staff was very helpful. When choosing between the ocean view and the typical room, we splurged and paid the extra 9 dollars for a deck with a hammock overlooking the ocean and the gigantic room.

I tend to enjoy staying in small boutique hotels, and had I based my choice exclusively on the main picture, I would not have chosen this hotel. Don't let that picture fool you; fortunately, I dropped in to a pleasant surprise.

Vista del Mar is located only a couple blocks from the main square and the ferry dock in one direction, one block from Señor Frog's, Hooter's and the party-style ilk in the other direction, a couple kilometers in this same direction from all of your SCUBA diving companies, and a skip and a hop away headed inland from the actual pueblo of Cozumel.

If ever back in Cozumel, I'll be sure to book ahead of time to guarantee a room here again.

Room Tip: Pay the little bit extra for an ocean view room. The non-ocean views do not enjoy a deck and are muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was a great value. We came to dive, and the room, while not a luxurious one, was very large so we were able to easily spread out our gear and dry it on the balcony. It had a sort of lawn/reclining chair and a padded stool. We had an ocean view room, and in the evening we enjoyed the sunsets, rum drink in hand on the Adirondacks on the balcony (there wasn't an ice tray in the mini fridge so the receptionist offered to put in a tray in the big fridge for me.) The staff was great - whether it was letting us use their phone or bringing breakfast when we hadn't arranged it in advance. Though we were kind of shocked at the touristy feel of the city, the hotel was a pleasant refuge.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We went to Cozumel to dive and read positive
Reviews about Vista Del Mar. They weren't wrong. The hotel is centrally located one block from the main downtown square and two block from the ferry pier. (We walked from ferry to hotel easily)
The rooms were surprisingly spacious and very clean. We had an ocean front room on the second floor and had an unobstructed view of the ocean and the Punta Langosta cruise ship pier. The bathroom was well appointed as had a wonderful stone shower with room for two. King size bed and refrigerator made this the ideal location for exploration in town and so so for diving south of town. We had booked with "Dive with Martin"and learned that they don't pick up at any docks in our area, necessitating a cab ride to and from the hotel each day. Not a big deal, but food for thought if you want to stay in town like we did, consider diving with a shop closer to town.
Overall a great little hotel for very little money!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We had a room facing the sea face. Wonderful view. The staff was very nice and helpful and any problems they were quite helpful. As for the continental breakfast, I thought it was really good. Assorted Mexican pastries, orange juice and coffee. I'm not saying this is 5 star but for the money it's a steal:)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This is a great boutique hotel, close to everything. The staff was amazing. Also the ocean view rooms were great - one of the best values we've had. The rooms were spacious and extremely clean. We also found beaches nearby (e.g., Playa Azul is a short taxi ride away) plus we rented a jeep for two days and went to some of the beach resorts/clubs on the island. What we enjoyed most was being able to walk everywhere and just soak in a laid back lifestyle - pretty much eating and drinking, especially checking out some of the local loncherias and good dinner places.

Room Tip: Definitely book the ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Address: Av Rafael Melgar No. 45 | Entre Calles 5 y 7 sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 58 hotels in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the waterfront overlooking the magnificent Bay of San Miguel in the mere heart of down town. Surrounded by the commercial district, restaurants, bars, entertainment and the most prestigious dive shops.Extraordinary location for all tastes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vista Del Mar Boutique

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.