We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Updates” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Rafael Melgar No. 45 | Entre Calles 5 y 7 sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 58 hotels in Cozumel
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Updates”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Glad to see that the hotel made some nice upgrades. Each room has a new AC unit. Very quiet unit and they can get pretty damn cold if you want. Our room also had a new flat screen and bigger, new fridge with freezer. This was our 3rd stay here. It's all about the value at this place. It is down town. It does have a balcony on the water if you select that (we always do). It is a great place to watch the ships come in and out, watch the scuba fleets load and unload, and watch the fishing crews fish for bait from the pier. Maid service is great. We gave them a little tip each day and they went to town cleaning our room. They even went onto our balcony and turned our chairs over during a downpour, so they were dry when we got back to the room. Malidad and the rest of the desk staff were great.

It's is a little noisy sometimes being that it is downtown, the bathrooms do not have a fan in them so it does get humid in there, there is not an elevator, and the pool is not an infinity or Olympic sized pool, and there is not a bar there. That being said, that is why you are paying $60-$90 a night depending on season. It is a great value. Every oceanfront room was filled during our stay. We will be back in 2014 as long as the price is right!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    75
    30
    10
    4
See reviews for
30
108
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This hotel has been one of my favorites. The rooms and the hotel itself were exceptionally clean and the staff was very helpful. When choosing between the ocean view and the typical room, we splurged and paid the extra 9 dollars for a deck with a hammock overlooking the ocean and the gigantic room.

I tend to enjoy staying in small boutique hotels, and had I based my choice exclusively on the main picture, I would not have chosen this hotel. Don't let that picture fool you; fortunately, I dropped in to a pleasant surprise.

Vista del Mar is located only a couple blocks from the main square and the ferry dock in one direction, one block from Señor Frog's, Hooter's and the party-style ilk in the other direction, a couple kilometers in this same direction from all of your SCUBA diving companies, and a skip and a hop away headed inland from the actual pueblo of Cozumel.

If ever back in Cozumel, I'll be sure to book ahead of time to guarantee a room here again.

Room Tip: Pay the little bit extra for an ocean view room. The non-ocean views do not enjoy a deck and are muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was a great value. We came to dive, and the room, while not a luxurious one, was very large so we were able to easily spread out our gear and dry it on the balcony. It had a sort of lawn/reclining chair and a padded stool. We had an ocean view room, and in the evening we enjoyed the sunsets, rum drink in hand on the Adirondacks on the balcony (there wasn't an ice tray in the mini fridge so the receptionist offered to put in a tray in the big fridge for me.) The staff was great - whether it was letting us use their phone or bringing breakfast when we hadn't arranged it in advance. Though we were kind of shocked at the touristy feel of the city, the hotel was a pleasant refuge.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We went to Cozumel to dive and read positive
Reviews about Vista Del Mar. They weren't wrong. The hotel is centrally located one block from the main downtown square and two block from the ferry pier. (We walked from ferry to hotel easily)
The rooms were surprisingly spacious and very clean. We had an ocean front room on the second floor and had an unobstructed view of the ocean and the Punta Langosta cruise ship pier. The bathroom was well appointed as had a wonderful stone shower with room for two. King size bed and refrigerator made this the ideal location for exploration in town and so so for diving south of town. We had booked with "Dive with Martin"and learned that they don't pick up at any docks in our area, necessitating a cab ride to and from the hotel each day. Not a big deal, but food for thought if you want to stay in town like we did, consider diving with a shop closer to town.
Overall a great little hotel for very little money!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We had a room facing the sea face. Wonderful view. The staff was very nice and helpful and any problems they were quite helpful. As for the continental breakfast, I thought it was really good. Assorted Mexican pastries, orange juice and coffee. I'm not saying this is 5 star but for the money it's a steal:)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This is a great boutique hotel, close to everything. The staff was amazing. Also the ocean view rooms were great - one of the best values we've had. The rooms were spacious and extremely clean. We also found beaches nearby (e.g., Playa Azul is a short taxi ride away) plus we rented a jeep for two days and went to some of the beach resorts/clubs on the island. What we enjoyed most was being able to walk everywhere and just soak in a laid back lifestyle - pretty much eating and drinking, especially checking out some of the local loncherias and good dinner places.

Room Tip: Definitely book the ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bragg Creek, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I don't like writing negative reviews but people need to know for sure what they will be getting for their money.
We thought the hotel room was just to sleep but we couldn't even get that.
First of all we were supposed to get a king bed, they are very sneaky thinking we couldn't tell it was a Queen bed sideways, my husband's feet hanged at the bottom.
They ask you on the first day when you would like your coffee and "continental Breakfast" brought to your room. We told them 8.30 a.m. We got it the first day and it was a combination of very old looking and stale pastries. Jokingly I told my hubby that they probably got them the night before from the discount bin at the end of the day at Mega. Sure enough a few days later we saw one of the employees at the Mega getting the pastries.
Anyway, the coffee and breakfast never arrived again until we asked what had happened three days later. I very distracted desk clerk told us we never told them the time. so we told him 8:30 again but to send just coffee because we were not going to eat the stale breads. Coffee made it once more in the whole 10 days we were there.
Every morning you are woken up at 7:00 a.m with the honk of whatever cruise line happens to dock 2 blocks away. Right in front of the hotel is a smaller dock used for diving boats. Every day at 7:30 you are woken up with the banging of the metal oxygen tanks that are thrown into the cement. Same happens if you decide to take a nap, divers are back and tanks are thrown into the truck. The roads are noisy so if you are looking for some peace and quiet this is not the place to be.
The hotel is close to everything so that was a plus, you are in the heart of down town.
The room is nice and roomy I give them that much. Cleaning happens every other day and they change their old and sometimes with holes towels every other day.
The pool is clean however there is only 2 places to sit with a metal chair and a two other very uncomfortable plastic lounge chairs that you can only lay down, you can't turn and tan your back as they are very odd shape. It’s only sunny for a few hours in the morning as it’s in the back and there are buildings all around.
On the third night there was a banging on our wall, it kept going on and off so we asked someone to take a look, it came from upstairs and it sounded like someone was pounding on a door every 20 minutes or so.
We had a sleepless night as the guy could not go check (he was security only) They checked next day in the afternoon. It was a mini fridge that was rattling against the wall all night. Oddly enough the people in the room didn't hear it. Walls are thing because we could hear others talking and the tv's next door.
I went looking for extra towels and found their storage so I just helped my self as nobody was around in the front desk, in this room they had a bathroom for the employees as well. I saw the coffee mugs guests get were washed and left to dry in the toilet sink, I was kind of happy I only drank the coffee twice!
All in all I will never stay here and I will not recommend the place. I was very disappointed, people always tried to look busy when you went by and nobody ever said hello unless you did first.
There are much better places for less or the same money that will actually take care of their guest and show that they cared.

Room Tip: Stay in the back rooms if you want some peace and quiet however the hotel has a market and it gets n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Address: Av Rafael Melgar No. 45 | Entre Calles 5 y 7 sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 58 hotels in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the waterfront overlooking the magnificent Bay of San Miguel in the mere heart of down town. Surrounded by the commercial district, restaurants, bars, entertainment and the most prestigious dive shops.Extraordinary location for all tastes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vista Del Mar Boutique

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.