We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine hotel at a great price!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Rafael Melgar No. 45 | Entre Calles 5 y 7 sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fine hotel at a great price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We went to Cozumel to dive and read positive
Reviews about Vista Del Mar. They weren't wrong. The hotel is centrally located one block from the main downtown square and two block from the ferry pier. (We walked from ferry to hotel easily)
The rooms were surprisingly spacious and very clean. We had an ocean front room on the second floor and had an unobstructed view of the ocean and the Punta Langosta cruise ship pier. The bathroom was well appointed as had a wonderful stone shower with room for two. King size bed and refrigerator made this the ideal location for exploration in town and so so for diving south of town. We had booked with "Dive with Martin"and learned that they don't pick up at any docks in our area, necessitating a cab ride to and from the hotel each day. Not a big deal, but food for thought if you want to stay in town like we did, consider diving with a shop closer to town.
Overall a great little hotel for very little money!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    95
    34
    11
    5
See reviews for
34
128
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We had a room facing the sea face. Wonderful view. The staff was very nice and helpful and any problems they were quite helpful. As for the continental breakfast, I thought it was really good. Assorted Mexican pastries, orange juice and coffee. I'm not saying this is 5 star but for the money it's a steal:)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This is a great boutique hotel, close to everything. The staff was amazing. Also the ocean view rooms were great - one of the best values we've had. The rooms were spacious and extremely clean. We also found beaches nearby (e.g., Playa Azul is a short taxi ride away) plus we rented a jeep for two days and went to some of the beach resorts/clubs on the island. What we enjoyed most was being able to walk everywhere and just soak in a laid back lifestyle - pretty much eating and drinking, especially checking out some of the local loncherias and good dinner places.

Room Tip: Definitely book the ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bragg Creek, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I don't like writing negative reviews but people need to know for sure what they will be getting for their money.
We thought the hotel room was just to sleep but we couldn't even get that.
First of all we were supposed to get a king bed, they are very sneaky thinking we couldn't tell it was a Queen bed sideways, my husband's feet hanged at the bottom.
They ask you on the first day when you would like your coffee and "continental Breakfast" brought to your room. We told them 8.30 a.m. We got it the first day and it was a combination of very old looking and stale pastries. Jokingly I told my hubby that they probably got them the night before from the discount bin at the end of the day at Mega. Sure enough a few days later we saw one of the employees at the Mega getting the pastries.
Anyway, the coffee and breakfast never arrived again until we asked what had happened three days later. I very distracted desk clerk told us we never told them the time. so we told him 8:30 again but to send just coffee because we were not going to eat the stale breads. Coffee made it once more in the whole 10 days we were there.
Every morning you are woken up at 7:00 a.m with the honk of whatever cruise line happens to dock 2 blocks away. Right in front of the hotel is a smaller dock used for diving boats. Every day at 7:30 you are woken up with the banging of the metal oxygen tanks that are thrown into the cement. Same happens if you decide to take a nap, divers are back and tanks are thrown into the truck. The roads are noisy so if you are looking for some peace and quiet this is not the place to be.
The hotel is close to everything so that was a plus, you are in the heart of down town.
The room is nice and roomy I give them that much. Cleaning happens every other day and they change their old and sometimes with holes towels every other day.
The pool is clean however there is only 2 places to sit with a metal chair and a two other very uncomfortable plastic lounge chairs that you can only lay down, you can't turn and tan your back as they are very odd shape. It’s only sunny for a few hours in the morning as it’s in the back and there are buildings all around.
On the third night there was a banging on our wall, it kept going on and off so we asked someone to take a look, it came from upstairs and it sounded like someone was pounding on a door every 20 minutes or so.
We had a sleepless night as the guy could not go check (he was security only) They checked next day in the afternoon. It was a mini fridge that was rattling against the wall all night. Oddly enough the people in the room didn't hear it. Walls are thing because we could hear others talking and the tv's next door.
I went looking for extra towels and found their storage so I just helped my self as nobody was around in the front desk, in this room they had a bathroom for the employees as well. I saw the coffee mugs guests get were washed and left to dry in the toilet sink, I was kind of happy I only drank the coffee twice!
All in all I will never stay here and I will not recommend the place. I was very disappointed, people always tried to look busy when you went by and nobody ever said hello unless you did first.
There are much better places for less or the same money that will actually take care of their guest and show that they cared.

Room Tip: Stay in the back rooms if you want some peace and quiet however the hotel has a market and it gets n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomball, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My wife and i just returned from Cozumel, where we once again stayed at Vista Del Mar.
Mia, the young lady at the desk always takes good care of us and has lots of good local information. This was our fifth stay and we'll be back again!
Basic, Clean, Safe and comfortable...just the way we like it.

Room Tip: water front, $68.00 per night included tax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Central and very adequate place to stay in Cozumel town. Sea-view rooms have balconies with chairs offering open sea views and the comings and goings of the cruise boats and ferries. Recently refurbished rooms, large beds, AC, TV, fridge, sheets and towels were in good condition. Limited breakfast. We choose to stay here to experience the life of the town, the cruise-boat crowds, the divers heading out etc. but found it quite quiet at night. Helpful staff. Would stay here again if in town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

By reading the reviews on this property, I can only guess that those who stayed at this hotel expected next to nothing from such an establishment simply because they were staying in Mexico but we frequent Cozumel often and our decision to try the Vista Del Mar was a HUGE mistake, especially when considering that another hotel we typically stay in is the next door (literally), the Casa Mexicana, and we only saved less than $10/night switching. Yes, the rooms seemed clean other than the excessive black mold on the bathroom ceilings but if you expect ANY enmities that typically come with a hotel anywhere, this is not the place for you!

You can not get ice! You have to walk down the street to buy it but there is no place to store it in the room. The continental breakfast was a disappointment, 1 cup of coffee each (which has to be delivered, there is no coffee in the room), 1 small glass of OJ each, and four small dry Mexican pastries. That’s it! No fruit, nothing else! The Casa Mexicana provided a full hot and cold breakfast buffet every morning!

Room cleaning is every other day here. The sheets had concerning stains on them every change. Every towel in the room was so torn, frayed, shredded and full of holes, you had to actually take care when using them so you didn’t get caught up in them yet they were reluctant to allow us to have any more than one per person.

This place is NOT ADA accessible! If you’re at all physically challenged by stairs, you can not stay here. If you’re there to dive, there are stairs only and NO help whatsoever with luggage or gear. Not even a luggage cart! The mattress was as hard as they get (which I prefer) but if you’re opposed to such, this is not the place for you! Furniture is minimal, a bed with nightstands and a folding TV table. No chairs in the room. We had to bring the wood patio chairs from the deck inside the room on stormy days.

Worst of all was the noise; yes, it is on the main drag in the center of all but because all the rooms overlook the main street and the pier, we did not get one full night sleep in our five nights there due to construction noise and tank noise. The hotel is located directly across from a main dock where ALL scuba tanks are picked up and delivered in the middle of the night and those delivering them take NO concern for the hotel guests at 2-3am when tossing them on and off the trucks! The Casa Mexicana rooms were set in from the street, sheltering you from such noise.

I have no doubt that many of the favorable reviews for this establishment were posted by property management themselves for they are simply untrue and they give visitors a poor idea of what Cozumel truly has to offer or what the minimum standard is for most hotels.

Room Tip: We can only assume that the closer to the street you are, the worse the noise is but frankly, those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Address: Av Rafael Melgar No. 45 | Entre Calles 5 y 7 sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the waterfront overlooking the magnificent Bay of San Miguel in the mere heart of down town. Surrounded by the commercial district, restaurants, bars, entertainment and the most prestigious dive shops.Extraordinary location for all tastes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vista Del Mar Boutique

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.