We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special but I would come back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bookmark
You added Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Rafael Melgar No. 45 | Entre Calles 5 y 7 sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
Cham
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nothing special but I would come back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here only for 3 nights but I really felt comfortable... Big room with 2 beds (which we moved together-even better! ;-)
Breakfast is served to your room every morning (you tell them what time).
Close to ferry and centre (3-5min), centre is very small and depending on the season, not really busy, so don't expect any nightlife..
There was no beach close to this hotel but some beachfront hotels offer nice locations & chairs for free and you can also snorkel there if not too windy (Hotel Barracuda & Restaurant Margaritaville -both only 3mins away)
Get a car or motoroller and explore the island, there is a lot to see..

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    86
    31
    11
    4
See reviews for
31
117
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The staff were friendly, the room was clean, bed comfortable and the location very central without being noisy. On the downside, the room was very small and the breakfast not very impressive. The rooms facing away from the sea do not have balconys even though it says so in the description.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Simple but very clean and was well worth the money. I went in slow season so the price was better than normal. But if you want on the water and in the city for a reasonable price this is the place. You walk out of the hotel and your right in the midle of town, close to senor frogs and carlos and charlies.

Room Tip: No elavators
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Illinois
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed at Vista del Mar for three nights August 29-31st. If you stay here, you want to get the ocean view room for sure. The hotel is right downtown which is fun, but it's a long way from any beach. The good things are: the staff was friendly, they bring breakfast to your door in the morning including coffee, the rooms are large, the air works well, we had a refrigerator that worked well, and the ocean view is great. We sat out on the balcony and watched the people pass below on the street, traffic, the ocean and ships. Loved it. The downside are: the beds are very hard, you can't flush paper down the toilets, no safe (at least in our room), and the breakfast is really nothing more than a few dry rolls with butter and jelly. The other thing that bothered us is the hotel isn't really very secure. There are two ways to enter the hotel, neither are gated or controlled at all, although from morning until mid evening there is someone in the second floor where they have their reception area. We never used the tiny roof-top pool. Looked okay, very small. We stayed the next two nights next door at the Casa Mexicana. Much nicer in every way, except the view isn't as good unless you get ocean front room and the cost is higher.

Note: We usually stay at a resort hotel on the beach, but wanted to try some of the less expensive options this time around. The good thing about doing this is we could move about and were free to eat/play where ever we wanted. The bad part is we probably spent as much doing it this way than if we stayed in a higher-end beach front resort due to cab rides, etc. At times moving around was a bit of a bother too - not as relaxing as it could have been. Next time in Cozumel I think we will stay at a beach front hotel just for the ease and convenience.

Room Tip: Spend the couple extra bucks and get an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

The Vista del Mar is just five minutes walk from the ferry terminal and enjoys nice ocean views (if you opt for a sea view room). It is located towards one end of town, but every part of town you need to get to is less than 20 mins walk. Our room was spacious, clean and had a fridge plus air conditioning... Which unfortunately had no remote control, so had to be switched on maximum, or off totally - suggest requesting a room that has a control. The hotel has a small pool at the back that gets sun until early afternoon, it is a peaceful spot to cool off away from the shopkeepers who are on full 'American tourist aleart'.
It's a short taxi ride to real beach, costing $50mxn, there are hotels nearer the beech, but we wanted to be near restaurants, etc.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW , TX
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed at the Vista del Mar just for one night before hoping on a cruise ship and it was perfect. The location is amazing if you want to be close to shops and restaurants, you are literally right in the middle of them. The hotel is also super convienient to the ferry and one of the two cruise ports.The staff at the hotel were very friendly and accommodating.
I was slightly reluctant to book the hotel originally because the cost was so little, but I was very impressed by the room! We had a huge deck with comfy chairs and a hammock on it, our view was the ocean in front of us and below us the hustle of the shops. The room was large byinternational standards even with a king size bed and large beareau. The bathroom, was very cute and clean, with a lot of character, the shower was made of river rocks, it was spa-esque. I would recommend this hotel to anyone unless they cannot traverse stairs, this hotel does not have an elevator.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the top if quiet it important, although we noticed at least in this part of Cozu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

United Airlines cancelled our flight out of Cozumel and refused to compensate for the inconvenience, claiming force of nature clause and excessive rain in our connecting city of Houston (we suspect, however, that United just cancelled the flight to boost its profits...). The Vista del Mar hotel was at the Southern end of downtown Cozumel. A nice location within easy walking distance of the Mega Store (sort of a Mexican WalMart). The Mega had cheap pizza slices and decent cappucino and pastries. The Vista del Mar served us a continental breakfast of coffee, pastries from the Mega store and orange juice (more like Sunny D than real orange juice). The small pool was very clean, but it would have been nice if it had been lit so we could take a cooling dip after sundown. The rooms were clean, but spartan. The shower was roomy. The hot water and water pressure were A-OK. The toilets had the third world-style plumbing, so the toilet paper had to go in the trashcan and not down the toilet. We kept the bathroom door closed to contain the smell. Very inexpensive at $58 per night all in for our family of four. Pay in pesos if you can. We did not get one the ocean view rooms, which were an extra $20 per night. Side note and warning: Don't fall victim to the hucksters at the Playa del Carmen ferry pier. We made the mistake of accepting a "deal" and had to suffer through a miserable 4-hour time share presentation (was supposed to be an hour and a half including lunch) at the very aggressive (the sales manager was even rather rude) Adena Thai (sp?) hotel in PdC. At least we got about $200 or so worth of goodies for our trouble. FWIW, we did not care for what we saw of PdC. It seemed like Oahu (commercialized resort town with beaches to lay around on and frat-party style bars like Senor Frogs to get drunk at) whereas Cozumel seemed like Kauai (laid back, ecological, do-it-yourself snorkeling etc.). As for time shares...investigate buying them online if you think they might fit your budget and needs. Don't do a presentation unless you are sure you can say no no no no no.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Address: Av Rafael Melgar No. 45 | Entre Calles 5 y 7 sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the waterfront overlooking the magnificent Bay of San Miguel in the mere heart of down town. Surrounded by the commercial district, restaurants, bars, entertainment and the most prestigious dive shops.Extraordinary location for all tastes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vista Del Mar Boutique

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.