We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Rafael Melgar No. 45 | Entre Calles 5 y 7 sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 57 hotels in Cozumel
Benson
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Just the right place to stay, close to everything, staff is the best, clean rooms and great view of sea and all the downtown action.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    70
    29
    10
    4
See reviews for
29
106
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

What a pleasant surprise Vista del Mar was! The Room overlooked the ocean and each morning we watched the ships (cruise ships and cargo ships) dock and unload (passengers and cargo) which was entertaining, yet still quiet as we were far enough away to not hear the noises/voices.
Each morning we were greeted with a knock on the door where a friendly employee brought coffee, juice, milk and pastries. It was royal treatment.
The rooms are spacious and the balcony comfortably sat 3 people and a table.
I would go back in an instant. Highly recommend for couples, friends or just about anybody.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

Just a short walk to the right from the ferry and directly across the street from the ocean, so you have a wonderful view off your balcony each day. There is a busy road in between but hey, you're right in town in Mexico so choose your poison. No need for taxis as most everything is in the vicinity including large town square with live music. That's a real plus. Doorway is right off the street in a small shopping area so convenient and felt safe. Wish we could have used the cool rooftop pool but not enuf time. Hotel arranged scooters and snorkling trips for us, both within 2 blocks of hotel. Clean, large, comfortable room in island style with nice priviate bath. Brought us a nice continental breakfast to our room which we ate on the balcony. An onsite restaraunt would make it perfect but for the money, this place is worth it and we'd stay again for sure.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Vista Del Mar has approximately 15 rooms and has a great ambiance and vibe. The rooms are clean, spacious, and nicely decorated with a patio overlooking the ocean. The ocean view isn’t perfect because you do have the view of one of the cruise ship piers and some other smaller piers/boats but it really wasn’t much of a detraction, especially since the nearby cruise pier seemed to be used less than the one further south. As others have said, the slightly higher price of oceanfront is more than worth it. The bed was comfortable and not rock hard like a lot of Mexican hotels.

A large bottle of water is delivered to your room every day and there is also a tank of water in a room near the front desk where you can get refills. The room has a fridge which is great for keeping that water cool; we certainly drank plenty of it due to the heat. Breakfast is delivered whenever you request it and we only had one day where we had to go down and ask for it in the morning but that’s probably because I wasn’t clear that I wanted it delivered at the same time for the rest of the week. Even then it didn’t take long to get it to our room. Breakfast consisted of coffee, orange juice, and 2 pastries per person. I don’t want a heavy breakfast so I thought it was adequate; if you need more food you can always go buy some delicious chicos at Mega (I really wish I could buy those at home).

Speaking of Mega, the location of the hotel is just about perfect. Mega is a large grocery store and it’s located just a short walk to the south, with tons of restaurants to the north in walking distance as well as the square. After staying downtown I would never want to stay anywhere else in Cozumel. On most islands I prefer to stay in a location that’s more remote but Cozumel was different due all the great downtown restaurants, how clean the main streets were, how safe I felt, and how mellow the town was after the cruise ships had left. If you are staying in a resort and eating at the same restaurant every day you’re really missing out. We dove with Scuba Mau and had to take a taxi but it wasn’t a far drive. We did rent a car for the second half of our trip and unfortunately there isn’t parking at the hotel but that’s not surprising given the size/location. Parking on the main street is expensive most of the time but it is free at night and on Sunday and the hotel suggested we park in the nearby shopping center parking lot during the day (which is free but appears to be intended only for customers). Instead we just parked on the street a short walk away where it was free all the time. The parking is in general free once you get east of 15th so we just parked on 7th right before 15th and we never had a hard time finding a parking spot; we parked in the same spot every time. The hotel is located near/above a bunch of stalls and stores with annoying salespeople which open up when the cruise shops are in port but which were all closed as soon as the ships were gone (around 5) and we didn’t find this to be too annoying; it’s going to be a problem everywhere downtown and if anything these stores seemed to be open far less than most.

The staff at the front desk ranged from good to excellent. They were always friendly and helpful when we had questions. The desk was also staffed pretty much all day and evening long which was impressive given the small size of the hotel. I was unable to get the wi-fi to work but I didn’t try that hard or mention it to the staff.

Cozumel is an inexpensive destination full of great values, but even in Cozumel it was amazing to only pay $72 a night for such a great place. When I write reviews I always seem to create a laundry list of complaints even for the places I really enjoy but I found Vista Del Mar to be practically perfect.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

We were looking for something in town (not an all inclusive) so we could explore town and all of the activities and restaurants. Vista del Mar was in the perfect location for us. The room was in a great location and the housekeeping staff kept our room spotless (we left 3-4 bucks on the bed every morning and they were very appreciative). They even put flower pedals in a decorative pattern on our bed the last night we stayed. The desk staff was always cheerful and very helpful.

We are not very picky people and do not spend a lot of time in the room so we could deal with some of the things that others would consider negatives...
Try to get a room as high up as you can. We had a low room on the 2nd floor and it can get pretty noisy at night. Also the AC worked well, but is a small unit, so the room was cool, but not as cool as we liked at times.

That being said, we already know that when we visit Cozumel next year we will book at the Vista del Mar and just request to be put on a higher floor. The room is priced so that it is very affordable and the small things can be over looked.

Great stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Jackson, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

A small hotel with lots of privacy, squeaky clean rooms, excellent water pressure, awesome and responsive staff, good ocean views and street level action. We had the pool to ourselves most days. There is no better place for people watching than the rooms with an ocean view balcony:) The continental breakfast was delivered timely and cheerfully. We enjoyed every last bite of those sweet rolls! We've stayed in Hotels all over the island since 1982 and decided this is our favorite. One tip: if you're diving or have a problem with stairs, request and confirm a lower level room.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cozumel, Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

The Vista Del Mar Hotel is an ok hotel with a great location. Basically, it is like that old saying ," You get what you pay for." It is not an expensive hotel ;so, basically you get an older hotel which could use some updating. The positives: the staff was friendly and greets you daily; nice views, location is excellent, the room is big; and the hotel has security at night. The negatives: The hotel is old and could use some updates especially in the bathroom. The wall unit a/c does not cool the room very well and someone from the hotel often times turns the a/c off while you are gone during the day; thus, when you return to the room it is very hot (remember the a/c unit does not work well and it takes forever to cool the room down a little. Also, the rooms are not for tall people. The door in the bathroom is standard height, but the floor is raised for plumbing or drainage. Thus, the door frame height is less than 6" high and if you are tall you need to remember to "duck" your head. Unfortunately, on a few occasions I did not remember to "duck" and hit my head on the top of the door frame and it hurt. Also, the shower rod is too low as well. Another issue we had with the hotel is: the cleaning lady will not take your sheets and replace them with new ones unless you pull the sheets off the bed and place them in a bundle on the end of the bed. I heard other customers complain about this issue as well to the reception person. On the website, the hotel claims they bring your breakfast to your room at a time you give them. Well, half the time this service did not occur. We did not say anything and the breakfast was never brought to our room. The only person that brought our breakfast timely every time she worked was Linda. Another item to keep in mind, if you order the Ocean View room with a King bed it is a queen bed turned longways. Thus, if you are tall your feet are hanging way over the end of the bed. Plus, the cleaning crew could do a little better job about cleaning the floors. I walked around the room a few times with no shoes or sandals, and the bottom of my feet would end up black. Overall, I would disagree with many of the reviews of this hotel that give it 4-5 stars. The reviews were the reason I chose this hotel, but next visit I will stay at another hotel that is nearby. I am sorry, but I would not recommend this hotel without explaining the negatives first. Like I previously said," You get what you pay for."

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel

Also Known As:
Hotel Vista Del Mar Boutique
Address: Av Rafael Melgar No. 45 | Entre Calles 5 y 7 sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the waterfront overlooking the magnificent Bay of San Miguel in the mere heart of down town. Surrounded by the commercial district, restaurants, bars, entertainment and the most prestigious dive shops.Extraordinary location for all tastes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.