We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no frills good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mr. Taco

Mr. Taco
Avenida Benito Juarez and Calle 60, Cozumel, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #124 of 265 restaurants in Cozumel
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
St. Albans, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“no frills good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

homely and friendly - boss comes round and talks with customers. By the roadside, but hey great place....

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    7
    7
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba, PR
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The place for Taco's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We went there for a typical Mexican meal and we got a great deal.
Taste food at a reasonable price,. Spice Taco's and great service..

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Had Better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is a tourist trap. Taco stands in the states offer the same kinds of tacos. Beef, chicken, bean, with some fresh salsas were the bright spot. We checked out Taco y Tequila the next night and found it to be much different and more authentic, and we enjoyed it much more. If you want a fast meal which is no out of the ordinary Mr. Taco is for you. There are better places.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The finest Tacos al Pastor ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

If you're in Cozumel for more than a day, you owe it to yourself to try tacos al pastor at Mr. Taco's. I know the name is cheesy but the tacos are not. The locals just flock to this "joint" on Juarez. It is within walking distance of the town square. Just head east on Juarez and its on your left between agenda 55 and 65. It opens in the early evening and the cooking is done on one or two vertical spits. The seating and tables are just plastic chairs under a tent like awning. It has an open air atmosphere for a good reason. They have a huge take out business but the wife and I like to eat there. Typically we'll get 7 tacos with onions and cilantro (the way they're normally served) orchata for her and water for me and the cost is less than $10 US after a 20+% tip. The tacos are great - not over cooked and dry like you often encounter. The tortillas are fresh and the marinade is great. Authentic Mexican food on the cheap.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. Taco also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Mr. Taco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mr. Taco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.