We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dive Company!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tres Pelicanos Dive Center

Tres Pelicanos Dive Center
Calle 5 Sur Entre Avenida Raphael Melgar y 5ta Ave # 400B | Colonia Centro, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
+52 1 866 779 9986
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to Tres Pelicanos Dive Center, the place where scuba divers come to dive their tank and/or computer profile. Our goal is to have each diver achieve the longest bottom time possible-SAFELY. We do not do DECO dives. We also take a longer surface interval in-between dives. We offer plenty of water to keep hydrated and snacks of sweet bread and fruit. Our boat is fast and comfortable. We have a fresh water shower on board to wash the salt off your face and for a camera rinse. Our crew sets up your gear and also takes it back to the shop where it is rinsed and brought back to the boat the next day for your dives. Our dive masters have years of experience diving the reefs of Cozumel. We understand that you work hard for your vacation dollars and want your experience with Tres Pelicanos to be a memorable one. We know that we cannot improve on the wonderful underwater world of Cozumel so we work hard at giving you the best customer service possible. We want the time when you first step on the boat until you enter the water and then back to the dock to be the most relaxing and enjoyable time of your vacation. So come on in and become a member of our Pelican family. Thanks Steve
Longmont, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Dive Company!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

My daughter and I spent 2 weeks diving with Tres Pelicanos. Servando and Jorge were great dive masters - they took time to show us large and small creatures. They were easily able to accommodate both novice and experienced divers during a dive. They also were great at obtaining agreement between all the divers for which sites we'd dive at. You could tell that safety was important too. Servando accommodated our schedule for a Nitrox class and did a great job teaching it. Edgar and ChefLan were the boat captains and were always attentive, quick, careful and helpful. Our gear was washed each night and ready on the boat the next morning.
We took a prepaid cab between the dive shop and the calleta to catch the boat - this worked well and there was no waiting on either end. When we dove both the morning and afternoon, we were dropped at a local beach restaurant, minimizing our time on the boat and maximizing our lunch break. We really enjoyed this.
The boat was large and fast!
If you want a great dive experience, try Tres Pelicanos!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manta_man_505, Owner at Tres Pelicanos Dive Center, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
LauraS thank you for your very nice Trip Advisor review of our dive center, Tres Pelicanos. Your point that we can accommodate both experienced and more novice divers was very well stated. We understand that not everyone is equal in experience. However our dive guides are very attentive as you so nicely pointed out. The keep their experienced eyes on all divers.
You now belong to our growing family of PELICAN divers and all of us here hope to see you again soon. Thank you for choosing to dive with us, and thank you for your kind words in your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    3
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“We love Tres Pelicanos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

First of all, let me just start by saying this is my second time diving with Tres Pelicanos (the first was Dec 2013/Jan 2014) and the only reason I didn't do a review before was because I hadn't yet made a Trip Advisor account. On our last trip down we met Steve, the shop owner, who is a great, charming guy. Our first experience with Tres Pelicanos was also spectacular.

Anyway, you cannot go wrong by choosing Tres Pelicanos as your dive shop in Cozumel. They have an awesome operation running and are a joy to work with. Their boat, the Skinny Shark, is fast and always gets to the dive sites quickly, easily outrunning other boats in the water.

The captain of Skinny Shark, Chan Flan, is fantastic. He is funny and talkative and is quick to get your gear up on the boat after the dive and onto a new tank before you can even climb onto the boat. We also had Edgar as a captain due to Chan Flan getting injured while working to set up the boat for the day (get well soon Chan Flan!!). Edgar was also great at getting the tanks up and changed between dives. He was so funny and even helped me practice my Spanish! Thanks Edgar for not judging my horrible pronunciation!

The dive masters working with Tres Pelicanos are also a great group. We dove with Servando and Jorge for all of our vacation and as always we were pleased to have them leading our dives. Jorge found some of the tiniest Spotted Drums and Seahorses I've ever seen!! He was great to talk with and helpful with our tanks and equipment.

As always, Servando was beyond excellent. He also has fantastic eyes and is able to see the tiniest critters on all the reefs. One time he managed to coax a Sailfin Blenny out of it's hole so that the group could see the whole fish. He's also great at getting the Splendid Toadfish out of their holes so we could appreciate their beautiful markings. Servando is truly a great asset to the Tres Pelicanos dive team. Also, thanks so much to Servando's dive master-in-training, Samuel, who helped lift heavy tanks and equipment onto the boat post-dive. He was a great help on the boat for setting up equipment in the morning and packing it away in the afternoon.

Pony was great as well, especially when our wetsuits didn't make it to the boat with all our other gear one day we dove. He drove our wetsuits to a beach club along the way to our dive sites so that we could have them for our dive. He keeps track of all your dives and does a very good job of it.

Jeannie was very helpful in scheduling our dives (and our whale shark snorkel) and getting back to us with information very quickly. She's awesome. We are also avid 4-dives a day divers and Tres Pelicanos was great about letting us do 2 morning and 2 afternoon dives every day that we wanted (which was every day we were in Cozumel). Jeannie made sure that we were always able to do afternoon dives during our trip. They made sure that the shop had the boat and a dive master available for us and I think by having the option, many more people ended up doing afternoon dives that they hadn't originally planned to do. So, thanks for that Jeannie!

If you're looking for a small, organized dive shop with a fast boat and smaller dive groups (we had a max of 10 each day we dove because we aren't too fond of big cattle call dive groups of more than 20 people) and a shop that let's you dive all of your air (instead of requiring everyone to go up with the first diver that is low on air), look no further than Tres Pelicanos.

Steve, you have an excellent operation and shop running in Cozumel. We will continue to dive with Tres Pelicanos on every trip to Cozumel. Thanks again for a wonderful experience!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manta_man_505, Owner at Tres Pelicanos Dive Center, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Valerie H ---Don't know what to say except a huge THANK YOU for that fabulous Trip report on our dive shop, Tres Pelicanos. Perhaps you should have included that you are in no way related to us because It was such a wonderful review.
Your post described perfectly everything that we have implemented into our business. Our slogan "DIVING THE WAY DIVERS LIKE" has been our direction since our beginning. A terrific dedicated staff that truly enjoys what they do. Starting from your first internet connection asking questions--to making reservations,--- to the shop guys and finally our boat crews consisting of captain and dive masters. Friendly and attentive all of the guys really have been the stars of Tres Pelicanos. When you add a fast comfortable boat into the equation---well the results are exactly what you posted.
All of us here wish to express our gratitude to you not only for choosing to dive with us but especially for telling the world about your terrific experience. You are a veteran PELICAN now and all of us hope to see you soon again. Thank you so much, Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great dive operation...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

My wife and I have dove with several outfits in Cozumel and Tres Pelicanos was one of the best. Excellent dive leaders, their boat seemed like it was one of the fastets on the water meaning getting to the dive sites quicker. All around great experience and reasonable price with their dive package/hotel arrangement. Would definitely use them again.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manta_man_505, Owner at Tres Pelicanos Dive Center, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
JCNeibling thank you for your Trip Advisor review of our dive shop, Tres Pelicanos. Your kind words of praise brought smiles to our boat crew and office staff. You are a Pelican now and hopefully will return in the near future. Thanks so much for choosing to dive with us.
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Top Dive Shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I went to Cozumel invited by a friend to dive with Tres Pelicanos. I have been diving all over the world due to military assignment and later as recreational diver and can state with certainty that Tres Pelicanos runs a top notch operation. They are committed, organized and friendly. The dive boat had different experience levels and Dive Masters Servando and Jorge were able to make the dive safe for all but also entertaining for each dive. I dove 2 full days ( 4 dives/day including night dive) and all were perfect - safe, on-time and great spots.
I definitely recommend this shop to anyone (recently certified to 'die hard' O.W. divers with 200+ dives logged).
All office staff very friendly and accommodating. I can't attest to the schedule set up as it was done by my friend.
If you going to CZM and want to dive, visit this shop before making a decision. It is worthwhile!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, Owner at Tres Pelicanos Dive Center, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Marcelo B thank you for your very nice review of our dive shop. It was very impressive. We should make an advertisement using your kind words describing not only your dives, but more to the point, your very good experience diving with us. I especially liked the fact that you mentioned our dive schedule.
In Mexico it is not usually possible to keep on time schedules. We understand that folks are on vacation and the ease and relaxation of a vacation sometimes put us a few minutes behind. However that is not to say that we mind. We are not there to rush our guests and enjoy the fact that 60 to 70 minute + dives are the norm with us. If we happen to get back a few minutes later than expected, our staff just accepts that fact and hurries to re-load the boat, eat lunch and get back out for the afternoon dives.
Thank you for choosing Tres Pelicanos. You are now a welcome member of our growing Pelican family and all of us hope to see you again soon.
Saludos Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Organization!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

A group of 12 family and friends spent a week in Cozumel from June 29, 2014 to July 6, 2014. Six of us dived with Tres Pelicanos; three of the six of us got their open-water PADI certification from Servando shortly after arrival in Cozumel.

I was--and am--impressed by Jeanie's informative and friendly e-mails which organized us for the certification exercises in a shallow cove, and then for the boat diving. Jeanie prepared a schedule of costs for each of the 6 of us, and Pony, who took care of the 'business" part of the dive, was pleasant and easy to deal with.

Our group had Servando and Jorge as our dive masters and we felt very lucky to dive with them. Servando really was as confidence-building and positive as other divers have reported! And Jorge was just as helpful and calming and knowledgeable. What a great week! Thank you Tres Pelicanos! Ruth Tegart

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, Owner at Tres Pelicanos Dive Center, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
rtgart, thank you so much for your review of Tres Pelicanos Dive Center. We are happy that your experience in Cozumel was a memorable one.
As you stated, Jeanie was very helpful in organizing your dives and stay. We call her our Mamma Pelican. As you know, there are many dive shops in Cozumel. However I don't believe that any of them can return emails as quickly as Jeanie does. She tries to be through in getting all our clients questions answered. We know it is important for our guests to have all of the information they want before they arrive. We are very fortunate to have her.
All of us here miss your group, You guys are now members of our Pelican family and we hope to see you again soon. Thank you again, Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tres Pelicanos Dive Center also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Tres Pelicanos Dive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tres Pelicanos Dive Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.