We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casita de Maya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Casita de Maya to your Saves list
Casita de Maya
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 Ave. Bis x Blvd. Aeropuerto | Quintana Roo. #420, Cozumel 77620, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Book Locally and Save!!
Ranked #2 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

A Little Slice of Paradise

My wife and I chose to stay at Casita de Maya for our Summer vacation. We both wanted to see Cozumel from another prospective than an All Inclusive, which we have done so in the past.
The reviews for the hotel we researched were exactly what we wanted.

However, we were a little bit apprehensive, (my wife especially) when we arrived as the hotel is just a short walk from the Cozumel Airport and our directions we had led us to a small street in a Residential Neighborhood. I think the fact of not taking a Taxi or arranged transportation was
On our minds, but we said “No Worries” this is different type of vacation. We were so right.

Upon arrival we were surprised how Tropical, and Picturesque Casita de Maya was. Dan and his
assistant Daniel greeted us warmly and provided Fresh Water and a welcome drink for us. Dan showed us our room and gave us a rundown on the workings of the place, then offered us assistance in Rental Cars, and Restaurants in the area. Our room was Immaculate, and very well decorated. Jolie our maid, kept our room clean and spotless during our stay. Wilber kept the pool spotless and Daniel served us Authentic Mexican Meals that were just fabulous! He was so kind and wonderful to us. We loved it! At night we would sit on our Terrace and have a drink, read a book, or just relax in the pool and do nothing. It was exactly what we were looking for.

We snorkeled, rented a Jeep, and drove around the Island, went into town and just had a blast. We definitely will be back to this lovely little hotel in the future…Thanks Dan, Daniel, Jolie, Wilbur, for a wonderful time!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    14
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
29
151
17
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I have stayed at Casita de Maya many times over the years, both with just my husband and with the family. All I can say is that Dan and all his staff ( Wilbur and Jolie ) are amazing. This boutique hotel is always clean, the rooms are excellent and comfortable and the pool refreshing. It is a very lovely twenty minute walk to the center of town. Dan is quick to help whether you need a car or advice on a restaurant. With four rooms that look onto the lobby ( with tv, stereo, bar and resident pets ) we always feel like we are visiting family!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Great little hotel owned and ran by a great man. Such a warm and genuine welcome and attentive service throughout our stay. Much better than a big chain hotel. Clean and very comfortable. Ask Dan for restaurant reccomendations nearby. Very good experience.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I have stayed in this little haven away from the stress of life several times. There is nothing that Dan and his great staff Jolie wilbur Erik and Diego the local go to food and tour guide can not make your trip to Cozumel the best. If you want 5 star service this is the place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Went to Cozumel for a short vacation to relax and do some diving. This was our first time visiting the island in over two years and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Casita de Maya again. The hotel is conveniently located near the airport, yet there is no airplane noise. You are in walking distance to many great restaurants and a short cab ride to the beach.

Our room was impecable and the hotel staff was gracious and courteous. You now have the option of ordering drinks and food at the hotel which is nice if you do not wish to venture out. Dan, the owner of the hotel, is very helpful regarding places to go and thing to see on the island.

We will definitely be returning to Casita de Maya on our next visit to Cozumel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Located right next to the airport, however, no airport noise can be heard. The place has easy access to the downtown plaza. It has a car rental next door making it easy to cruise around to the island beaches and local watering holes. The owner is Dan Komorosky, who has great knowledge of eating places and local hangouts for fun. His Casita De Maya is very comfortable with pool and great decor. His rooms have comfortable bedding with air conditioning and refrigerator. Rooms have great cleaning service. Dan whom is Canadian, has great comand of the spanish language and can be a great help with getting around.
All in all, a great fun place to stay and enjoy Cozumel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

You know your holiday is going to go exceptly well, when Dan who owns the hotel went the extra mile to walk me too the local beer store and introduce me to a couple of local restaurants.

In fact he walked down 5 blocks to introduce me to the owner of this restaurant and only to have a delicious meal to boot! So you truly get to experience the real Mexico in a very charmiing and safe neighbourhood.

Since I was there for diving, it was so convenient to catch a cab to the downtown pier for a cost of $2.50 US per trip, you do not need a car.

Then I mentioned that I would like to rent a bike and Dan offered his bike along with a bike lock and only said, enjoy!!

The town is so easy to get around and safe to do so on a bike.

My room was exceptionally clean and quiet. The air conditioner was sooo quiet, very impressive indeed.

What really made the holiday for me was Daniel who would make me breakfast every morning and also make up a tastey box lunch for when I went diving.

I even put Daniel to the task of making me dinner one night and enjoyed very tastey burritos along with chips and salsa. Talk about fresh as he made up the salsa himself!

Finally, I truly enjoyed relaxing with Dan over a cold beer or two as he provided most interesting and engaging conversations.

So, without question, I will strongly recommend Dan's hotel to all my friends and business aquaintences.

Thanks again, Richard Boon

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casita de Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casita de Maya

Address: 65 Ave. Bis x Blvd. Aeropuerto | Quintana Roo. #420, Cozumel 77620, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Casita de Maya 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casita de Maya is the only hotel within walking distance from Cozumel International Airport, yet far enough to enjoy the quiet splendor of Cozumel. Providing the elite and casual traveler with clean, safe, and comfortable air conditioned accommodations. Our guest can enjoy easy access to Taxi Service, Rental cars, Tours and Island Excursions, conveniently located to fine Local Dining. We provide our Travaler's a unique experience into the real Mexican culture. Now Free Internet/Phone calls to USA/Canada ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casita de Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casita De Maya Cozumel
Casita De Maya Hotel Cozumel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casita de Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.