We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Condo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cantamar Condominiums

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cozumel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cantamar Condominiums
Save
You added Cantamar Condominiums to your Saves list
Carretera Costera Norte Kilometre Uno, Cozumel 77601, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Northville, Michigan
Level Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful Condo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Two couples stayed in Cantamar # 303 for two weeks in January. The location is great only being a mile from downtown and 1/2 mile from the north marina. We walked into town many times. The condo is nicely decorated in Mexican art and had a beautiful view of the ocean. The pool and small man made beach is a few steps away and there is a nice reef along the front of the complex. We used Aldora dive shop with is only 3 condos up the road.
The owners have all you need in the condo and we cooked several meals. Lots of great restaurants in and about town.
One of the nicest places we have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: We loved the view from the balcony of this second story condo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
AZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed in 303. We stayed in this beautiful condo for New Years and had a great experience. The moment we arrived we were happy and knew we were going to have a great trip. The place is decorated very nicely and feels very authentic and cozy. Our 2 year old daughter loved the room with the two beds and the fishes all over the walls. The view is incredable. The pool and sand area are great and we really really enjoyed the snorkeling right off the property. Truett and Jill give you all sorts of tips as well as where to go eat in town and things to do. We utilized this and were very happy with their reccomendations. Another great thing about their condo is that we felt very safe while we were there!

Kristen, Greg, and Charlee

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 127Kris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Cantamar 303 provided a perfect atmosphere for our family to enjoy a much needed week of relaxation. Our kids snorkeled several times a day. It was so nice of the Lawson's to provide the equipment to us at no charge. The beach, pool, and facility were always spotless. Oscar, the caretakeer, is awesome. We lost hot water one day and Oscar had the problem resolved the next morning. Although we didn't actually cook there--only ate breakfast and lunch, the kitchen appeared to be well stocked. Jill put us in contact with a reputable tour guide who arranged an island tour and fishing expedition for us. Both were quite enjoyable. My only negative issue is that the maids were in the condo 4 days of the week. We didn't need maid service, so their presence was a bit intrusive. If you take advantage of the amenity, it won't matter. My best tip for travel to Cozumel is to bring lots of small currency--$1 and $5 bills for tips and taxi fare.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShellyH660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We recently stayed at Cantamar 302 for a relaxing 7 day vacation in Cozumel. The view is fantastic, there is great snorkeling off the dock, a nice sand/beach area to relax in the sun and a very nice pool (though we never used it with the ocean right there!). The studio was just big enough for two and well kept and clean. Our hosts Jill and Truett called to check on us and were gracious and accommodating. Having a vonage phone to stay in touch with home and wi-fi in the condo was great. We rented a scooter for trips to town and our mandatory trip around the island. The kitchen is well appointed so we did our own cooking for breakfast and lunch. The bathroom is small but with a good shower, plenty of hot water and th A/C system, if you need it, works great. Best were the morning and evening breezes - just open the front and patio doors and enjoy.

There is a dive shop 3 doors down, so if you are diving and want easy access, this is the place, though we used Blue Dream Cozumel at Playa Azul since we know the owner and prefer the personal attention of a smaller dive operation.

We highly recommend, for a couple, a stay at Cantamar 302. Cute, cozy, and well kept. For more than 2, Jill and Truett also own Catamar 303 which I am sure is as well-kept and appointed as 302 is. Stay here and enjoy your trip to Cozumel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Cantamar 303 was a great place to stay for us! This was our first long term stay to Cozumel (had done day trips off cruises) and the condo made for a fantastic vacation. There were four of us, including a 7 and 10 year old. The condo was exactly as described. Large master bedroom with a king size bed and a 2nd bedroom with two bed for the kids. It worked out perfectly. Great balcony facing the ocean, with stunning views. We spent a large amount of time simply eating breakfast, lunch of enjoying a late night cocktail. The condo building was quiet and very relaxing, so if you are looking for a "party spot" (which we were not) not your kind of place. The full kitchen had everything you could possibly want (pots, pans, untensils, cutting boards etc) along with full fridge/freezer. We went to the Mega supermarket the first night and loaded up on soda, eggs, snacks, milk, cereal, bread, fruit etc which was great for breakfasts and lunches, and helped keep costs down. The wireless internet was flawless, which was great to keep in touch. TV had some cable channels and a nice selection of movies for the DVD player, which helped with the kids. Outdoors you will find a very nice pool area right next to the sea along with a small manmade sand area with lawnchairs to relax. You can jump right off the dock and partake in some good snokeling...the kids really enjoyed that! The entire property was very clean and extremely well cared for. There is locked gate to enter the property, which adds a feeling of security. Downtown San Miguel is only about a 15 minute walk or a five dollar cab ride away. There you will find all the shops and restaurants. We didn't rent a car and relied on cabs (which are very easy to find) that we used everyday to hit downtown and the beaches and it worked out just fine. If you want to do a bunch of longer trips to the "wild side" of the island, then I'd consider renting a car as cabrides are more expensive to those spots. This condo is north of downtown, while most of the major beaches are on the south side. Typically it was a $15 cabride to most of the beaches. I have nothing but great things to say about Cantamar 303. Way, way better than a hotel and I thought a great value for your money. We're already discussing our next staJill was extremely helpful in getting things set up and providing advice on things to do, restaurants etc. I would highly recommend Cantamar for your stay in Cozumel....you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

This condo has everything. It was the perfect location at the most amazing spot! It is comfortable and clean with friendly staff and guests. The owner tells you everything you need to know to have the perfect vacation and takes care of your needs. The snorkling in that particular spot right off the balcony is the best on the island. I can't wait to go back! I just got back yesterday and and ready to go back tomorrow. I highly recommend it. I plan on using it again ASAP!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

What a view! Beautiful, relaxing, quiet, fully equipped just buy your food.
Close to the action if that is what you want.
Walk to town...
Condo is clean and like home, you feel very welcome and any problems
are met with immediate action.

The snorkeling is the best, I find something new daily..
would come back for that alone.

Beautiful!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k9saver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel B Cozumel
Hotel B Cozumel
#22 of 52 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 stars 520 reviews
4.9 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Villas Las Anclas
Villas Las Anclas
#1 of 52 in Cozumel
5.0 of 5 stars 307 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
2.1 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cantamar Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cantamar Condominiums

Address: Carretera Costera Norte Kilometre Uno, Cozumel 77601, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Cozumel
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Cantamar Condominiums Cozumel
Cantamar Condominiums Hotel Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing