We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst beach ever, horrible food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Cozumel All Inclusive Golf & Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Cozumel All Inclusive Golf & Beach Resort to your Saves list
Melia Cozumel All Inclusive Golf & Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Costera Norte km 5.8, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Paradisus Cozumel, Melia Mayan Paradise)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Worst beach ever, horrible food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

My husband and I went to Melia over Thanksgiving. It was a horrible experience. I have been to Mexico and Cozumel many times and always all inclusive. This is the first time we went out to eat at least once a day. The food was horrible. Dried out , over cooked or under cooked, zero flavor. I am not a picky eater by any means but I couldn't find anything edible. Saw many people leaving plates full of food on the tables. Just not appetizing at all. The restaurant that needed a reservation was worse than the buffet. I lived for breakfast so I could have an omelette.
I would have been less unhappy about the food if the beach wasn't such a disaster. The water in front of the hotel is dark brown. It smells like sewer. We couldn't swim. Had to walk down to the El Cozumelino hotel to swim. I go to Mexico to see beautiful water out of my window not a sewer. So disappointing. Plus it smelled horrible all the time.
This was the most boring hotel I have ever been to. People fought for chairs in the lobby to try and use the internet for some entertainment. Just say try because it often didn't work. There were a couple shows we enjoyed but one hour and then nothing else to do. By our last 2 days we were ready to leave which I am usually crying about leaving Mexico because we love it there.
We also had an incident where we walked in and found a woman that was not a maid in our room watching our tv. We called down to ask what she was doing as she didn't speak English. She ran out while we called. They sent security up because they said no one should have been there. He checked our key pad to see who had been there. The said they would let us know. It took us 2 days of asking to see a manager to finally have one give us a lame excuse . Very unprofessional front desk.
I would never go back even if given a free week at this hotel. There are so many better hotels in Cozumel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    682
    343
    160
    115
See reviews for
432
753
25
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We traded in to Melia with RCI. Our room was on the 2nd floor with small kitchen area/ dining area/ living room and a bedroom with king bed that can be closed off the rest of the unit by opaque sliding doors. There is a cold water tub on our balcony with beautiful views of the grounds, pool, beach and palapas. We opted for non-all inclusive and have driven our rental car to various restaurants on the island.
The hotel offers various activities on a daily basis, from dancing lessons to beach volley ball. There are shows nightly, but we have not attended any choosing to spend our evenings in town.
We have done a lot of RCI exchanges, and this one is one of the nicest we've had. Most guest are all inclusive and not all of them are happy with their situations. I'm pretty sure we have some of the nicest accommodations at this resort.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cozumel
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I read several reviews that made me worried about my choice to stay at the Melia. All of my worries were unfounded. The hotel was nice and the staff was very friendly. The rooms were clean and everything was enjoyable. I always found bartenders at the bar when they were supposed to be open and had no problems getting service. If you are reading the negative reviews and thinking of passing over this hotel do yourself a favor and give it a try.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

The place is a dump. The food is uneatable and the drinks come in a little plastic cup and the booze is cheap. My deadlock was broke, they did nothing about it. The plug in the bathroom sink was broke. I had to hold the plug up while I waited for the hot water to heat to wash my face otherwise it would overflow, which happened the first time I turned the water on and it over flowed the bathroom counter and floor and soaked every thing In the way. The floors in the room were filthy dirty. The coffee table and dining table in the room were dirty. It looked like little kids greasy hands prints all over them. A maintenance man came up. He fixed the safe. And looked at the deadbolt and sink and said I'll have to fix those tomorrow, which never happened.

No coffee pot, only refrigerator in the room and its suppose to have soda and beer drinks in it, but u only get two beers a day. I called the next day and asked if I could have a couple more beers and some tomato juice and they said yes but u have to pay ten dollars to have it delivered. Anything u want in this all inclusive dump u have to pay ten dollars for. It smells like manure outside and there is a little dirty brown stream flowing into the ocean.

I took pictures maybe I can download them here.

Room Tip: Just don't go to this dump.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Ill
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed there for a week earlier this year. At check out they placed the amount that was reserved on my credit card as well as the correct amount due for my stay. This was a $250 additional charge. Was told to call credit card company when back in US and they would remove the charge.

I did as told and the Melia told my cc company it was a valid charge. Melia told me to request a credit again, but my credit card company refused since it was already disputed by Melia once. This all started back in March 2013 and still can not get my $250 back.

The hotel is beautiful and we love PV, but a real nightmare in trying to get a refund for what we were overcharged!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

we stayed at melia Cozumel for 14 nights. Overall very good hotel with excellent service and very friendly personnel. Our 6 year old had a great time at the kids club, SUSSY was keeping them occupied and entertained with games at the pool the beach or the kids club. SUSSY, very professional and with amazing positive energy, the kids loved her. The food was good with many options for all tastes. The beach is great, white sand, the sea not so good but you can walk 50 meters and swim in great clear water.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I live in Cancun so I went for a weekend relax. I asked my son what did he want as a birthday present and he asked for a weekend in Cozumel. When I made the reservation I let them know that it was my son's birthday that sunday. When we arrived on saturday, the room assigned was beautiful. We enjoyed the pool, the food... everything. Next day, when we returned to the room from the pool, Sully from Monster's Inc was knocking on the door with a cake. There were 3 waiters with Sully and they sang "Las Mañanitas" to my son. He was very surprised and of course... very happy. All the employees are very friendly. The ones I remember are Ignacio, the restaurant captain, Carlos our waiter everyday, America, the frontdesk girl, and Ricardo Lima, the food and beverage manager who is also very nice. The service is great. I recommend this hotel if you want to relax and enjoy the pool, the beach, the oceanview, good service, nice people. Next day, on monday when we check out we were sad that our vacation ended so fast. We had a wonderful time and we said that it would be our newest family tradition to celebrate everybody's birthday in Melia Cozumel!!!

Room Tip: The highest floor, the better view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Cozumel All Inclusive Golf & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cozumel All Inclusive Golf & Beach Resort

Address: Carretera Costera Norte km 5.8, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Paradisus Cozumel, Melia Mayan Paradise)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Cozumel All Inclusive Golf & Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of the most charming all-inclusive hideaways in the Mexican Caribbean, featuring a long, shallow sugar sand beach perfect for wading or swimming, four restaurants, five bars, and unlimited amounts of fun. This beautiful beachfront resort is directly across the street from the island’s premium golf course, Cozumel Country Club, featuring an 18-hole, par 72 championship course designed by the Nicklaus Design Group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Melia, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Melia Cozumel All Inclusive Golf & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Cozumel All Inclusive Golf & Beach Hotel Cozumel
Melia Cozumel All Inclusive Golf And Beach Resort
Sol Melia Cozumel
Cozumel Sol Melia
Resort Melia Cozumel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Cozumel All Inclusive Golf & Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.