We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buccanos at Night a Five Star Worldwide Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buccanos at Night

Buccanos at Night
Playa San Juan km 4.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte ( Interior Club Cozumel Caribe), Cozumel 77600, Mexico
+52 987 872 0100
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Buccanos at Night is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 247 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $35
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Eclectic, Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Multi-ethnic, multi-sensory dining experience where flavors clash on purpose. Contemporary seafood, fresh fish & premium quality ingredients that change with the season. Oceanview dining terrace with a panoramic view of the mainland skyline enhanced by torches & candlelight. A more relaxed and social approach to dining awaits you at 'Buccanos at Night' Friday and Saturday evening from 6-11pm
Tulsa, Oklahoma USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Buccanos at Night a Five Star Worldwide Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Nov. 1, 2013 ate dinner at sunset in a facinating beautiful Mayan setting complete with oceanfront view of a fabulous sunset. We were having a birthday dinner for a friend and they brought a FREE dessert for the birthday girl. It was also opening night and they gave us a free round of drinks including a great Mandarin Mojito. Three of us ordered a special of the night and each was soooo good and beautifully presented the third ordered the lobster which was perfectly cooked and served. The stack of onion rings was amazing. The steak was so tender and perfectly cooked. It sounds like I am gushing but I just can't say enough about this fabulous dining experience. Buccanos is on the north end of the island and is just perfect in every way. The owner and chef personally presented us with descriptions of the specials of the night - amazing. The waiters were attentive and right there to refill drinks or deliver anything you needed. The meal was not that pricey - the four of us had drinks, appetizer, meal and a fantastic dessert for $176 US including steaks and lobster well worth every penny. This is not only the best restaurant on Cozumel but is one of the3 finest in the world! It may not get as many ratings because it is not open for the cruise ship crowd. If you are staying on the island make a special night for yourselves at Buccanos!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i_falkenberg, Owner at Buccanos at Night, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
We are happy that your birthday dinner was a success and words cannot describe how honored we are to have received such a great review. Thank you again and we look forward to meeting with you girls in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    27
    10
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food, great setting, great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Our first visit to this restaurant, and we couldn't have been happier. We've been coming to Cozumel for five years, and Buccanos is now one of our favorite restaurants on the island. It's right on the ocean, beautiful evening setting, with candle lighting. (Nice touch: they supply little flashlights so you can read the menu more easily.) I had the skirt steak special and seasonal pumpkin martini, he had the shrimp paella and margaritas. Excellent, excellent, excellent all around. The steak was tender, served with perfect onion rings. The paella was creamy and delicious. Large portions, very interesting seasonings. The Canadian chef has come up with a creative, seafood-focused menu with other entrees equally tasty. I'm coming back next week. Don't miss this one!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i_falkenberg, Owner at Buccanos at Night, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. It puts a smile on our face that you had a special night and look forward to your next visit this weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mitchell, Kentucky, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Buccanoos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

First need to say that I think that this restaurant deserves a second visit. The service left a lot to be desired. Took forever to place our order but obviously very short staffed. Food was very good and atmosphere was great. The owner was very accomodating. Perhaps we arrived on a bad night. Our experience was more of a 3.5 rating but I will give it another chance in the future.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i_falkenberg, Owner at Buccanos at Night, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for spending time to send a review.... just curious why you waited six months.
During April I do apologize as we were in high season and tried to accomodate the
client demand but made a committment shortly there after not to oversell our restaurant
hence we abide strictly by the reservation system. We would appreciate if
you do give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“The Best Dinner in August”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

It was definitely the best recommendation we had, me and my friends had and amazing dinner with a great atmosphere and the view was awesome. This place exceeded our expectations in all: food, atmosphere and services. If you happen to be in Cozumel is a most

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting - Food OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We had a beautiful night here. Lovely setting. Very busy. Cocktails weak. Food was ok bur not remarkable. The watermelon salad was disappointing. They forgot to bring partner's salad so skipped it. Lobster ravioli was good as was the fish. They must be doing something right that we missed because it seemed there were a lot of regulars here. You are basically paying for the ambiance and view here. For really good food and strong drinks we will go to Kinta or Kondesa in town.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buccanos at Night also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Buccanos at Night? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buccanos at Night, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.