We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed and concierge Manuel - very misleading!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel

Save Saved
You added Occidental Grand Cozumel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Occidental Grand Cozumel
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Km 16.6 Zona Hotelera Sur | Colonia El Cedral San Francisco Palancar, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Disappointed and concierge Manuel - very misleading!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I'll get to Manuel in a moment, but the Occidental Grand was just as disappointing as the other poor reviews on this site says. If you've never been on an all inclusive Mexican vacation, then this resort may be acceptable...but this is really poor compared to some of the other choices.

Rooms - The rooms are a decent size but never seem to get cool (due to there only being A/C vents in the room but not in the large bathroom). The beds are hard as a rock, so sensitive back people look elsewhere. The concierge Manuel said he would correct the hard bed by putting down " sponges" on the bed. "Sponges" really means a folded up bedspread...not effective at all. We had the staff bring in a roll-away bed that my wife used and it was much softer. The lock on our room "broke" three times while we were there. "Broke" means that anyone could open the door from the outside, with or without a key. Eek! None of the drains worked well and we were never ever able to get any hot water in the bath tub. The maid (Geida) was very attentive and helpful.

The grounds - surprisingly, the is the best part of the resort. I am usually not terribly concerned about the landscaping as long as it is not awful, but these grounds are incredible. It felt like we were in a tropical rain forest. There are a number fairly large iguanas and some cats that roam the grounds. The swamp that you walk across to get from the resort rooms to the pools and beach was not expected and a breeding ground for enormous mosquitos...they said they sprayed for bugs every night at 6pm but we never saw it and if they did, it was not effective. We used insect repellant the whole time and got eaten up.

The pools - there are two pools on property and both are good. The relaxation/quiet pool is located in the middle of a lush courtyard with comfy chairs and some shade. The activities pool is located down by the beach and was large and nice. (Loved the daily water polo and water volleyball games) It is common for them to run out of clean towels throughout the day.

The beach - there was a moderate amount of seaweed trash and rocks on the beach (not clean) which I did not expect. There is a pier and dive shop here for the scuba divers. You can snorkel right off the beach and see a lot of sea life.

The food - this was one the worst parts of the trip. I do not expect all-inclusive resorts to have great food...but I do expect it to have some flavor and not be dreadful. Breakfast was the best of the three meals while dinner was the worst. The "reservations only" restaurants were so lousy that we cancelled our subsequent reservations. Plus the buffet dining room is stifling hot...no open windows and non-functioning a/c.

Our concierge, Manuel - our experience with him was by far the worst part of our trip. I don't normally single out any poor-performing employees, but this man was deceptive and should not be working in this role. He was quick to greet us with a friendly invitation to their time share, err "vacation club" in exchange for a $50 discount coupon for excursions. He told us to "play the game" and pretend to be interested and to come as a family so he gets more credit. He told us to plan for a 60 minute presentation and took a $20 reservation fee. The reality is that the vacation club presentation was almost 2 hours and the hard-pressing sales guy used lots of sample pricing savings that I couldn't validate (like a discounted flight to Madrid that sounds great but can't be proven). Manuel had to activate my $50 coupon but then tells me it was only on excursions that the resort offered and had to be spread across 3 excursions. Talk about the classic bait and switch! The only excursion that I wanted was a jet ski, but that wasn't offered by the resort so he refused to allow me to use my coupon. I complained to the resort manager, who forced Manuel to stand by his original offer. Manuel booked a jet ski for us from another vendor and he told us to meet the jet ski out by the resort dive shop. When no one showed up, I called Manuel from the resort dive shop. In reality, the jet ski was at the Alberto's beach club that was south of the resort ("50 meters" according to Manuel) We walked at least a kilometer over to the beach club just to use the jet ski and then walked another kilometer back...just another deception. This single man ruined way too much of my family's vacation time.

In closing, don't stay here...choose ANY other place!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OccidentalVC, Community Manager for Occidental Vacation Club at Occidental Grand Cozumel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear GaryinOK,

On behalf of Occidental Vacation Club and Occidental Hotels and Resorts, I apologize for the experience that did not meet your expectations, and for not being treated the way you deserved.
The description you give about the behavior of the Concierge does not represent in any way our philosophy when it comes to Customer Service. I will forward your comment to the corresponding department, so that proper measures are taken on the subject and this situation does not happen again to any other Occidental Hotels & Resorts guest.

Best regards,

Ignaura Tejeda
Community Manager for Occidental Vacation Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,035
    967
    415
    232
    138
See reviews for
645
1097
42
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (648)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We have visited Cozumel several times. This was our first stay at the Occidental Grand and we thoroughly enjoyed it.
We were a little apprehensive after reading some of the previous reviews and some of the tips helped us prepare. We did carry sunscreen/repellant. The repellant was handy on a couple of the evenings as there were a few mosquitos.
There is plenty of covered seating area on the beach and the sand is soft. There is a little walk to the beach, but we got accustomed to it and enjoyed the tropical scenery along the way.
The food is for the most part, buffet style and there are plenty of selections. The specialty restaurants are difficult to book. We noticed that when we did go to dinner at one of the restaurants that there were very few customers.
We opted for the Romance Package mainly for the guarantee of a king size bed and the couple's massage. The room was beautiful, roomy, and cool when we arrived as it was throughout our stay. Massage was great as well.
We rented a car one day and took one trip into town. We did a little shopping, but felt quite pressured by the vendors. The Loomas Travel Agent at the hotel recommended a submarine adventure which was pretty awesome. We've been to the ruins in the area in the past; however, didn't quite make it before closing time (3:45 for the ruins on the island). We did find a shop about one block from the ruins that sold hand made Aztec pottery.
The main reason for our week vacation was relaxation. We felt that the Occidental met our needs quite well.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 12th bldg. It is a little secluded and we found it to be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed 7 nights at the Occidental Grand. Overall, it was a pleasant experience. There were the usual "barkers" at the airport and we would have saved an hour if we had just ignored the "official tourist information" people. At the hotel, were were greeted by their Vacation Club staff who tried to sell on their vacation club. Overall, the resort was unique in its location in a mangrove. It was spread out but soon we enjoyed the walks to the dining areas, pools, and beach. We loved walking boardwalk at night and listening to the natural orchestra! There was a very lovable hotel cat who wandered around. The food was good but you had to wear long pants, which I didn't bring, to eat at the specialty restaurants; however, you could order off their menu in the main dining room. Our room was large and well kept; however, the airconditioner roared all the time but the room was still humid. The dining room was not airconditioned and hot. I got a massage in the spa and it was wonderful. My son earned PADI certification and I made several dives. Their dive operation was great due to the dive masters. We traveled to the east side of the island and the beaches were beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ore City, Tx
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We went to Cozumel expecting a beautiful island, but were disappointed, gorgeous water but scrubby underbrush around the island. We stayed at the Occidental Grand, and were also disappointed. When we got out of the van, our luggage was set on the ground and we were told they would be taken to our room, we were escorted into the reception area thinking we were talking to hotel staff which turned out to be "time share" salesman dressed in nice uniforms with Occidental name tags. We were told we did not need to return to our transport van to arrange pick up which we had already paid for when booking our trip. This caused a HUGE problem later (We were supposed to get a voucher from him for return transport) After having to deal with a very pushy " time share" salesman insuring us that he could arrange "great deals" for expensive excursions we then went to look for our luggage which was still sitting on the sidewalk unattended. We lugged our luggage over to a counter and waited for quite some time to be acknowledged and checked in. We were celebrating our 16th anniversary and my husband had paid extra for the romance package which included the choc covered strawberries, a bottle of champagne and a massage (which we never got) and were disappointed to find none of these things. After complaining to the customer service desk for four days we finally got our champagne and mushy strawberries on our last night. The room was nice and clean and pretty,the bed was very hard and our balcony consisted of a small concrete area outside with 2 cheap flimsy plastic chairs. The shower had plenty of hot water at all times. Our room was plenty cool but our fridge was less than cold. The safe worked. The grounds where well kept, except for a shallow (concrete water area????)which was cloudy and had quite a bit of iguana droppings due to the few large animals who stayed there at all times. The staff was less than helpful. I requested that our fridge be stocked with just Diet Coke and water, no need for orange soda or beer, there were 2 of them. I was told that they didn't have diet coke but yet all of the bars had diet coke?? The bars had long lines and the staff did not serve the guests. We even tried giving large tips which still didn't get us very good service. Dining consisted of either buffet food or burgers. The buffet seemed to use left overs from the previous day in a different way. We were allowed to dine at one of the two restaurants which was very good , the service was great. The beach area had lounge chair after lounge chair, three rows deep. The ocean view was obstructed by a swimming area border surrounded by big orange floats, beyond that was a fleet of boats anchored at all times. The most wonderful thing we discovered in Cozumel was our first diving experience. We went on an uncertified dive trip with Diving With Martin's service. Amazing!!!!! The reef was like a different world!!! This excursion saved our trip. We have to save all year to be able to celebrate our anniversary each year, we were so excited but this was a Huge waist of money. Except the dive!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela S, Social Media at Occidental Grand Cozumel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Tracy D

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor. We sincerely apology for the inconvenience you may suffered during your recent stay with us. Your feedback has been directed to each manager department and they are taking the necessary measures. Our main goals are the satisfaction for our guests.

Once again thank you for your review and hopefully give us the opportunity to serve you in the future.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Just returned from 7 nights at OCG- we loved the grounds and the proximity to diving. I think the staff was gracious and hard-working. My biggest complaint was the food and the AC. Our unit ran constantly and it never really cooled enough. The food was somewhat repetitive. Overall- I can't complain too much- our trip was wonderful - Cozumel is a beautiful island and the diving is superb!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The hotel and staff were great. However, the a/c was out in the main dining room where you eat breakfast and dinner.......needless to say - it was almost unbearable. :| I felt sorry for the staff working because it was so hot.

Believe the other reviews when they say there is a problem with mosquitos. Bring lots of off and make sure and apply it heavily when going to breakfast and dinner.

The food and the drinks were good. Luis at the pool bar makes a mean drink and is always cheerful. We are members, so we are able to use the First Club facilities. Luis was funny and so paitient. (yes - a different Luis).. :)

The grounds were immaculate, food great....we would have given it 5 stars - if there would have been air! :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandRapids, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Great location for Divers being so close to the best scuba diving area. The rooms are large with stocked refrigerate, is a nice amenity when you don't want to leave the room. The staff is friendly, and helpful. Food and selection is wonderful. The facility has all you could want including quiet areas. The animals (reptiles) are also entertaining that roam freely on the grounds. We are looking forward to going back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Occidental Grand Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Grand Cozumel

Address: Km 16.6 Zona Hotelera Sur | Colonia El Cedral San Francisco Palancar, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Grand Cozumel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only the Caribbean’s most famous reef system could match the beauty and splendor of the Occidental Grand Cozumel, which is exactly why the two exist side-by-side. Located on Cozumel’s gorgeous San Francisco beach, just above the bottomless blue paradise of the Palancar Reef system, you’ll find an authentic-style state that delivers all the luxuries of a private oceanside hacienda. Gourmet dining, bright and airy rooms, nightly music and entertainment, daily sports and beach activities and an on-site spa and salon make the Occidental grand Cozumel the jewel of any Caribbean experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, Otel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Occidental Grand Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Occidental Grand Hotel Cozumel
Occidental Cozumel
Grand Cozumel
Grand Occidental Cozumel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Occidental Grand Cozumel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.