We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Occidental Grand Cozumel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Occidental Grand Cozumel to your Saves list
Occidental Grand Cozumel
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Km 16.6 Zona Hotelera Sur | Colonia El Cedral San Francisco Palancar, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Mostly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Just returned from 7 nights at OCG- we loved the grounds and the proximity to diving. I think the staff was gracious and hard-working. My biggest complaint was the food and the AC. Our unit ran constantly and it never really cooled enough. The food was somewhat repetitive. Overall- I can't complain too much- our trip was wonderful - Cozumel is a beautiful island and the diving is superb!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,198
    1,080
    497
    272
    156
See reviews for
744
1,251
49
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (768)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
TX
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The hotel and staff were great. However, the a/c was out in the main dining room where you eat breakfast and dinner.......needless to say - it was almost unbearable. :| I felt sorry for the staff working because it was so hot.

Believe the other reviews when they say there is a problem with mosquitos. Bring lots of off and make sure and apply it heavily when going to breakfast and dinner.

The food and the drinks were good. Luis at the pool bar makes a mean drink and is always cheerful. We are members, so we are able to use the First Club facilities. Luis was funny and so paitient. (yes - a different Luis).. :)

The grounds were immaculate, food great....we would have given it 5 stars - if there would have been air! :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandRapids, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Great location for Divers being so close to the best scuba diving area. The rooms are large with stocked refrigerate, is a nice amenity when you don't want to leave the room. The staff is friendly, and helpful. Food and selection is wonderful. The facility has all you could want including quiet areas. The animals (reptiles) are also entertaining that roam freely on the grounds. We are looking forward to going back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peabody, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

A great place to visit! Cozumel was beautiful and we would defiantely go back to the Grand Occidental. We have been to aruba twice, the DR twice, and Playa del Carmen. We would reccommend Cozumel to anyone looking for a low key beach vaca! While there is not as much to do as far as sight seeing, this leaves more time to sit on the beach or by the pool with a margarita... Also, I felt much safer traveling here then having to be bused through villages to get to your resort in other places we have been. Diving was fantastic at Dive Palancar even for novices like us... Just beware of the "time share" guys - don't get roped in, it's not worth it and its very high pressure, not just at the resort, but be careful at the airport also. They tried to tell us the beach where we were staying was washed away and we had to rent a car to get to the beach... kinda sleezy. If you do go outside the resort for anything, the bar at the end of the road before it turns had the most amazing views and great margaritas... and we did one of the tequila tours (yes, I do love tequila!) which was ok... never knew there was that many flavors of tequila, but kind of a tourist trap.

Room Tip: no elevators, so we had to do 3 flights of stairs to our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela S, Social Media at Occidental Grand Cozumel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear JLobel

Thank you very much for your time to write your review in TripAdvisor. We are glad to know that you enjoy your stay with us. Our main goal is the complete satisfaction for our guest. Please fell free to contact us at any time to make your reservation.

We look forward to host you again in the near future.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waskom, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is the most gorgeous place on earth! ALL the people who work at Occidental Grand are very nice, helpful and go out of their way to please you! We felt as though we were catered to the entire trip. We were there for 7 wonderful days! Going back in July of 2014! See you all again then!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My family and friends stayed a week at the Occidental Grand in February. We had an amazing time. The resort was beautiful and well maintained. The rooms were luxurious and very clean. The staff was absolutely wonderful. Everyone was extremely friendly and bent over backwards to get you anything you may have needed. The drinks were flowing and the bar tenders remembered your name and usually your order. I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I totally enjoyed my vacation at the Occidental Grand. We were there in February, 2013 for a Scuba vacation and it was fantastic.
The only thing I would warn you about is that everyone runs on island time, which means nothing is ever really on time!
The facilities are beautiful though, the rooms are lovely and well kept (get a balcony room if you can) and the food was really really really good!

Room Tip: The balconies are fantastic if you're a scuba diver, as they have railings you can drape your ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Occidental Grand Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Grand Cozumel

Address: Km 16.6 Zona Hotelera Sur | Colonia El Cedral San Francisco Palancar, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Grand Cozumel 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only the Caribbean’s most famous reef system could match the beauty and splendor of the Occidental Grand Cozumel, which is exactly why the two exist side-by-side. Located on Cozumel’s gorgeous San Francisco beach, just above the bottomless blue paradise of the Palancar Reef system, you’ll find an authentic-style state that delivers all the luxuries of a private oceanside hacienda. Gourmet dining, bright and airy rooms, nightly music and entertainment, daily sports and beach activities and an on-site spa and salon make the Occidental grand Cozumel the jewel of any Caribbean experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Occidental Grand Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Occidental Grand Hotel Cozumel
Occidental Cozumel
Grand Cozumel
Grand Occidental Cozumel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Occidental Grand Cozumel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.