We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place with great snorkeling” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Condumel Condobeach Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Condumel Condobeach Apartments to your Saves list
Condumel Condobeach Apartments
Carretera Hotelera Norte s/n, Cozumel, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Edmonton, AB
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great place with great snorkeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Had a great stay here. Were on ground floor with walkout to water's edge. Floor-to-ceiling windows. This is a small condo/hotel located immediately north past the end of the airport runway and president's house. There's no large "Condumel" sign but rather a large concrete swordfish/sailfish sign with words Condos/Apartments on it close to the entrance. Building exterior is a pretty mayan style. These condos are one of about 8-10 small places immediately north of the airport runway and south of the north marina. Staff were very helpful and very pleasant. The in-room groceries and booze were very nice to have and well priced. In our estimation, the snorkeling here was the best on the island compared with El Cozumeleno (about 1 km north...not bad snorkeling), Playa Palancar/Columbia (good snorkeling but only boat accessible and fish not close....in 10-25 feet of water) , Punta Sur (reef about 75-100m out and nice but limited fish variety), and Money Bar (unusually very strong current when we were there and mainly artificial reef balls). Condumel (and south along the shore to president's house, and north past other units to marina) has very good snorkeling with large variety (e.g. French & Queen Angels, cuttlefish, lionfish, some corals and sponges, eels, octopus, urchins, etc.). The snorkeling is all along the wall of the shoreline in 8-12 feet of water; the substrate going offshore is mainly sand and eelgrass with relatively few fish. I would STRONGLY recommend this or one of the other condos right next to Condumel to snorkelers. It's an easy 5-10 minute walk to edge of town. Not enough airplanes landing or that close so as to bother us. There is no restaurant at the condo or in the immediate vicinity. Units have cooking facilities and is a charcoal BBQ for use outside. There is not a sand beach here; you are on a limestone/coral reef although some sand has been spread around in front of the unit to create a small beach-like atmosphere. To enter the water you jump in off steps and use a ladder to get out. Paper cannot be put into toilet but rather into wastepaper basket...in case you a prude or high maintenance type. There is no swimming pool here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
41
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Ida, Ar
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

When we arrrive at Condumel, we rush the doors each time. Pulling back the curtains, we reveal our favorite place in Cozumel...our private beach at Condumel! The sunlight plays over the deep turquoise waters, the palms wave gently and the hammock sways. We're back! It's not really just the beach, or Sara's welcoming smile. It's more than Zacharia's warm handshake and greeting and more than the luxurious king bed overlooking the sea. It's the comfort and the thoughtful conveniences, the touches of authenticity in the art and amenities here, yes, but it's also the living, breathing spirit of our little private place at Condumel that draws us back again. Practically speaking, you'll find everything you need for a great stay. The condo us beautifully and comfortably furnished with a well equipped kitchen. The housekeeping service is friendly and outstanding. Everything is pristine. The gentle patina of these units is gracious. There are lounge chairs and a hammock on the beach and Zacharrias will light the grill for you if you choose the grill on the beach - and you should. The Mega has a wide range of meats, fresh seafood and vegetables. We even baked our own bread in the DeLonghi oven. Sara and her staff will accommodate your every need! The price is perfect for our budget. The kitchen is fully stocked with the basics when you arrive, but if you are staying almost two weeks as we did and want to cook, they will remove everything so you have room for your purchases. We've snorkeled all over the island and the best snorkeling is right here at Condumel! Jump off the diving board or climb down the convenient ladder and see rays, tons of fish, the occasional eel and beautiful coral. Sara will outfit you with complimentary fins and snorkeling gear. Stay once at Condumel and you will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

The Condumel Condobeach Apartments were a great find. The units are spacious, comfortable, and tastefully decorated. The property was immaculate and well maintained. The units are stocked with beverages, bread, condiments, etc. at the same price you find in the stores. The location is good and within walking distance to town. No pool or other "hype" as the other large resorts. Nice, quiet, and relaxing....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Cozumel is not really my type of place - too many cruise ship passengers and the setup that caters for their needs including a starbucks but we came here because my husband was competing in the Ironman. However I did love the condumel apartments. They are in a great location about 15 minutes walk in to town and are ideal for those who like to escape the 5 star all inclusive madness and relax and do their own thing. The apartments are on the waterfront and you sleep to the sound of the waves. There is a man-made beach perfectly adequate for sunbathing and for good snorkelling via steps straight into the sea. The apartments were clean and well equipped. I too had trouble with the hard bed but had read on trip advisor to ask for a mattress topper and that was fine. Sara and her staff are excellent. Very friendly and helpful. Sara gave us home made chocolate cake for after the ironman, arranged a taxi for the competitors and was there at 5am to see them off to make sure it went smoothly. She then took over a thousand photos of the event and gave each competitor a disk.
Really enjoyed this relaxing stay and the excellent personal service. Would highly recommend these apartments.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamosa, CO
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Cozumel is as developed as we have been on the Mayan Riviera (we love Xcalak, so that tells you where we're coming from), so we were a little trepidatious about such a touristy destination. Condumel was a fantastic experience. The place was quiet, the views were phenomenal, and the staff terrific (especially Sara, who helped with everything). Other guests were great too, which is good because you share the common beach and snorkel area. The snorkeling in front of Condumel and down to the Marina was really interesting. I am not a beach person, and so the iron shore snorkeling with the imported beach for wiggling toes and playing scrabble while watching the boats go by was great. Dove with Aqua Safari, which I understand is owned by the guy who owns Condumel. Realized I could take a short walk to the marina and ride down to the shop on their boat from there rather than the longer walk or taxi ride on land down to the shop, and that worked great. Everything was within walking distance, the walk along the waterfront into town is gorgeous, and the only reason to grab a cab is if its pouring down rain or you are just plain too tired. Were were absolutely thrilled with Condumel.

Room Tip: We preferred the top floor, better views from the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

If you're not the all-inclusive hotel type, this small 10-unit condo-apt complex is for you. It's out of the way in the quiet north end of the island, and about 1.5 miles from the center of town. It's a nice walk or a 5-minute taxi ride. Only 10 minutes from the airport. This was our second stay and I can't imagine staying anywhere else.

The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. They have snorkeling equipment that they lent us for free for the entire week. And we used it all the time, as the snorkeling right off their bulkhead is superb.

We were going to rent a car using the rental firm they recommended, but the car was not in good condition and was expensive. So we just went with Thrifty/Dollar at the airport which was great. You don't really need a car, but we liked it to see the far side of the island and some of the local areas not readily accessible by foot. We paid $275 total for 6 days for an almost brand new small car that seats 5, with automatic and A/C.

Right next door is a private compound used by Mexico president Felipe Calderon and his family on holidays and vacations. They were there during our stay. Lots of military and secret service types, but extremely interesting. Plus you get a peak at the family while they swim and snorkel by.

I also recommend the Mystic Snorkeling tour (see my other review) for a trip really worth its value.

Don't miss the El Moro restaurant. It's in the interior of the city and has great food and drinks for reasonable prices. Stay away from restaurants on the square. If you have a car, there's a great little restaurant on the way to the other side of the island called Cameron Dorado. Great ceviche and nachos and other dishes for great prices. Fill up for lunch because is closes at 4:00 pm. Closed Sunday.

Room Tip: We like the second floor rooms for the view, but the bottom floor units allow direct walkout access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Ida, Ar
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

We've already booked our reservations again at Condumel for 2013! Just two weeks after getting home we realized that we didn't want to go anywhere else!

The condo complex at Cozumel is amazing and the other reviews here explain the location, the beauty of the water and wonderful privacy of the beach. I was a little dismayed to read the other reviews about the lack of decor and kitchen amenities. The condos are privately owned, so I guess they are all decorated differently, but there is one condo that stands head and shoulder above all the others. Bottom floor, second from the right as your enter the courtyard.

The kitchen has wine glasses, regular drinking glasses in several sizes, plenty of silverware, place settings for four, an Italian convection portable oven, all of the tools and gadgets you have at home and is tastefully and artfully decorated. Plush bath mats at the vanity, tub and stool, comfortable seating in the living room, flat screen tv, amazing bed. We didn't notice any noise from the street in our condo on the ground floor and thought the WWII fighter planes the Mexican army flew over almost every day were charming.

The condos are older, but with all that beautiful dark mohagany, striking architecture and loving care they have lavished on them, they have aged gracefully. The staff is wonderful and will bring you anything that you ask for (within reason of course).

The sand fleas ate me up, too, but not until the last day when we got up at 5am and sat under the palapa with our coffee and watched the dawn wash over the ocean. So romantic....and I scratched myself silly on the plane. Next year, I am taking bug spray and wearing long pajamas if I go outside early morning or dusk.

We just can't dream of finding a more perfect place to spend two weeks!

Room Tip: Ask for Bruce and Merle's condo
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Condumel Condobeach Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Condumel Condobeach Apartments

Address: Carretera Hotelera Norte s/n, Cozumel, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Condumel Condobeach Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Condumel Condobeach Apartments Hotel Cozumel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Condumel Condobeach Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.