We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Cozumel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas Las Anclas

Save Saved
You added Villas Las Anclas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villas Las Anclas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   325 South 5th Avenue, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 58 hotels in Cozumel
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Cozumel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Villas las Anclas is a quiet haven only a block from the ocean. Walk through the gate into the walled courtyard, and the city disappears. This quiet, intimate, Villa has 7 units around a common courtyard filled with large tropical plants, couches, bistro tables. Many visitors return year after year at the same time, so there is a feel of family. Our unit was spotlessly maintained, fresh water and great maid service. The units are set up with fridge, microwave, and sitting area downstairs, and bedroom and bathroom upstairs. For scuba divers the property is perfect because the 2-story suites are huge! You can let all your dive equipment dry off downstairs while you sleep upstairs and there is even a sunny area with a large stainless steel equipment drying rack for your wet gear. . If you have a rental car, there is a family's lot right by this hotel where you can park.
We stayed here on our honeymoon when it was operated by the original owners, Ann and Claus. This trip was our second honeymoon and the current on-site owner/manager, Jordi, made our stay as good as the first. Jordi, is very helpful and responsive from first contact via e-mail, through the easy booking process and during our stay. Everything you read about this hotel and see in the pictures is true – centrally located, quiet location, modern design, nice gardens, daily cleaning and much more. Jordi is very helpful and goes out of his way to make your stay in Cozumel the most pleasant experience; he gives great recommendations on places to see, things to do and local businesses to use.
We had a great time and will definitely stay in Villas Las Anclas in November when we return to Cozumel! J. Eckhart

Room Tip: All rooms are very quiet and private, there is not a bad room/suite in the place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    211
    15
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
126
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Villas las Anclas is a quiet haven only a block back from the malecon. Walk through the gate into the courtyard, and the city disappears. This small hotel has 7 units and a common courtyard filled with large tropical plants, couches, bistro tables, and is a welcoming place to gather before dinner for conversation and a cold drink. Visitors return year after year at the same time, so there is a feel of family even though it was our first stay. Our unit was spotlessly maintained, fresh water and fresh sheets daily. The units are set up with fridge, microwave, and sitting area downstairs, and bedroom and bathroom upstairs. Jordi, our host, was friendly and a wonderful source of information. One can walk to all the central restaurants and bars from this central location. We couldn't have chosen a better spot to stay, and we plan to return.

Room Tip: All rooms are well situated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

I really enjoy this hotel. It's a block or two from the ocean, the best coffee shop in town, my favorite dive shop on the island and all the activities around the square. Deep Exposure dive shop picks up at the pier just down the street making everything incredibly simple and hassle free. The villas are spacious and quiet. Great location and value for those looking to actually experience the town.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Just completed a great 3-night stay at Villas Las Anclas. I was debating between staying here or a resort, and I'm so glad I chose this property. It is in the middle of town, so walking distance to so much great food, the waterfront, dive shops, etc. Everything is just steps away. Also, if you are in Cozumel to dive, the property is perfect because the 2-story rooms are huge! So you can let all your dive equipment dry off downstairs while you sleep upstairs. Rooms are clean, comfortable and quiet! Would definitely stay here again. And if you take the ferry over from the mainland, Villas Las Anclas is just a 5 minute walk. So convenient!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver, colorado
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

We split our Cozumel trip into two sections: first we stayed at the Occidental Grand all-inclusive at the southwest end as it's close to the best reefs, and then we moved here to see the main town. Everything about this place was great, from the manager who lives on the property and speaks fluent English, to the price, clever room layouts, nice intimate feel, and fabulous location!

The rooms are located around a small inner courtyard which is beautifully maintained and landscaped, and the entire complex has a wall running around it. Many guests hung out in the courtyard, which had plenty of seating and was just gorgeous. There is a small area in the back of the complex where you can hose off and hang up diving gear. If you have a rental car, there is a family's lot right by this hotel where you can park for a very reasonable price.

The main fixtures in the rooms such as couches and bed frames are framed with built-in concrete, and the space was cleverly optimized--a small circular staircase connects to the second floor. The rooms were kept scrupulously clean, hot water and air conditioning was great, beds and couches were quite comfortable, and there was a small kitchen and dining area if you want to bring in a few groceries. There were no safes, but we hardly had concerns about theft, considering that the location seemed extremely safe and the manager lived right there. The bathrooms were tiny but were kept very clean and had nice amenities. If this hotel ever renovates I'd recommend shower enclosures, but that's the only change I'd make. In short, these rooms were absolutely spacious for couples, and if you have a kid, the couches downstairs would be perfect. This was a lot of room for a very reasonable price!

This hotel is located just a block from San Miguel's main street and the water, three blocks from the very pretty town square, and maybe six blocks from a big grocery store. If you just want to see downtown, this is an excellent location. I carried back heavy grocery store bags twice, and it was no big deal. We were there over Christmas, and there was also a really memorable festivity in a large area close to the grocery store--great fast food, a big crowd, and a very good dance band. It could not have been a better choice for Christmas! There are also tons of great restaurants nearby, and Jorgi, the manager, gave us excellent recommendations. (In fact, he can also recommend car rentals, diver operations, and just about anything else you'd want to know.)

Jorgi takes cash only. We brought Traveller's Checks. These are probably a little cheaper than getting a cash withdrawal from an ATM because of foreign transaction fees you might incur from your bank.

My only complaint about the location concerns coffee--I'm an addict! Although there is a coffee shop only a scant block away on the main road, its prices are unbelievably bad--like think $9 for two TINY bowls of ice cream amounting to less than a cup total, for example. (It was obvious they charge ususurious prices because the tour boats stop very close, so their feeling must be that it's no problem to rip off tons of people as they hardly need any repeat business.) So although I really loathe patronizing Starbucks whenever there are local businesses, there is one about six blocks away we went to more than once! I also got a bag of ground coffee from them and just made it up in the room.

To compare this to an all-inclusive, I really preferred this as it was fun to walk around town and especially to try different restaurants. It was also far less expensive, and super-convenient to everything downtown. So yes, the reviews for this place are all true! I picked this place based straight off the Trip Advisor reviews, and I could not have been more pleased!

Room Tip: This place is tiny and all the rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012 via mobile

This was a great find. A quiet small boutique hotel away from the hustle and bustle yet close enough to walk there. Rooms were clean and amazingly spacious. Microwave and fridge were a welcome bonus and a cute courtyard to sit and relax outdoors and sip some rum! Jordi was great to work with and all his dining suggestions were spot on. wish we could have stayed here and on Cozumel longer

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We had a very pleasant stay at Villas Las Anclas while vacationing in Cozumel for ten days. The owner Jordi been very helpful and responsive from the first inquiry via e-mail, through the very straight forward and easy booking and during our stay. Everything you read about this hotel and see on the pictures is true – great central, though quiet location, modern design of the units, nice gardens, daily cleaning and much more. Jordi is very helpful and goes out of his way to make your stay at the hotel and in Cozumel the most pleasant experience; he gives great recommendations on places to see, things to do and local businesses to use.
We had a great time and will definitely stay in Villas Las Anclas next time we visit Cozumel!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villas Las Anclas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Las Anclas

Address: 325 South 5th Avenue, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 58 hotels in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas Las Anclas 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet small hotel complex with seven villa style suites, surrounded by a tropical garden with a private atmosphere. One block away from the ocean in the heart of Cozumel where you find restaurants, bars, main shopping areas and the pier to Playa del Carmen. The attention and suites are wonderful with everything you need. We are able to offer stay and dive packages with several local dive shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your Villas Las Anclas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Las Anclas Hotel Cozumel
Hotel Las Anclas
Las Anclas Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas Las Anclas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.