We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worked fine for me” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Plaza Cozumel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Plaza Cozumel to your Saves list
Hotel Plaza Cozumel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 2 norte entre Rafael E. Melgar y 5av | Col. Centro, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
40% off room rate
Ranked #16 of 53 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worked fine for me”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed here for a week in June. My AC worked, free wi-fi in the room, close to my dive shop and restaurants, free breakfast, the bed was firm, and room was clean. Not sure what else you'd want in a hotel.

I happened to be here the week the pool was down for cleaning and maintenance, so that was a bit disappointing, but nothing you can do about it. All in all, a good stay,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPC123, Director Comercial at Hotel Plaza Cozumel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su preferencia será un placer poderlo servir en otra ocasión.
Y una sincera disculpa que durante su estancia no este en servicio nuestra alberca ya que para mantener nuestras calidad de servicios damos periódicamente mantenimiento preventivo a nuestras instalaciones. Y de la misma manera muchas gracias por compartir sus comentarios.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    69
    19
    4
    0
See reviews for
30
51
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This is a very nice hotel with extremly clean rooms, comfortable beds and a brilliant breakfast buffet. Staff is very helpfull and for those who enjoy it there is a pool on the roof. Rooms do have airconditioning but we did not use it. It is very central just one street from the ferry terminal but quiet. The only thing I would suggest for improvement would be facilities to hang the wet beach towels for drying. I would definetly come back

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontiac, mi
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The hotel is NOT air conditioned, The window air is more of a fan, but the rooms are clean, there is no odor. The beds are firm, there is free internet on the computer in the lobby. There is also a free breakfast complete with a made to order omelet! The coffee is hot and amazing. A perfect place to stay near shopping and restaurants. The "Oxxo" store is a great place to get all your snacks and sodas for cheap! Get your snacks before going to a resort. You can walk here from the ferry.

Room Tip: We had a room on the third floor. This are was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Older building but great location downtown,close to the ferry pier,very well maintained,very good breakfast included,nice staff and has a small pool,wifi and ac. Great value!! Also, try the bakery next door for fresh baked goods and drinks for a good price.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomohon
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We found this hotel by chance, the location is very convenient. Close to the jety end close to the city centre. The rooms are spacious and clean. Breakfast is available and sufficient to start the day. Wifi is working good so that is fine if you need to keep in touch. The pool is a bonus and a nice view comes with it for free.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

While diving in Cozumel, I suffered from decompression sickness. I was forced to spend an extra two nights in Cozumel. I was staying in the southern resort zone, but to extend my stay was going to be too expensive (and too far away from where I was receiving treatment). So, I decided to move in town. I found Hotel Plaza Cozumel on the internet at an excellent nightly rate (perhaps because it was the low season) and booked it. I had a secondary issue in that I needed to drop off my bags and my brother's bags before going to get treatment the day I was to check in. At the same time, we needed to be able to get my brother's bags back from the hotel so he could fly out as scheduled. All of this before check in time. I wrote the hotel and email and got a very quick response that they would have my room ready at 8:00am (6 or 7 hours before check in time) and my brother could leave his bags at the front desk. With so much to arrange and coordinate in rescheduling my trip and getting treatment, it was wonderful how easy and quickly this hotel solved one of my obstacles for me.

The staff was always friendly and helpful. They have a strange procedure where you leave your key at the front desk when you leave the room, but it never presented any problem for me, so I was okay with it. They serve a pretty good better-than-continental breakfast.

The room is basic, but clean with a lot of television channels (which was necessary since I was on bed rest). My only complaint is that the beds are pretty hard. Several days stuck in bed took its toil.

I would definitely consider this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
165 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The building is old, BUT the hotel is very well-kept and clean overall.

-The good size guest room (I was on the 3rd floor facing water) had fairly new paint on the wall and lighting/bathroom fixtures appeared very new(shiny!) as well.
-When I asked for a hair dryer at the front desk they gave me practically brand-new dryer still in the original box/bag!
-They give you a bottle of water each day
-Nice complimentary Breakfast buffet(selections of hot entree/fresh tropical fruits/variety of bread/yogurt & granola) by roof-top pool

>Wooden furniture in the room could use some updating...Especially the wooden guest room doors with no deadbolt/security chain/auto-lock didn't seem too secure. I put a chair and my luggage behind the door at night. Would love to see some improvement on the door situation in the future.

I am satisfied at this hotel overall though, and will stay here again when I go back.
Great location too - close to restaurants/shops/piers etc.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.4 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#13 of 53 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 stars 647 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flamingo Hotel
Flamingo Hotel
#6 of 53 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 stars 381 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villas Las Anclas
Villas Las Anclas
#1 of 53 in Cozumel
5.0 of 5 stars 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Villablanca Garden Beach Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
0.2 mi away
Suites Colonial
Suites Colonial
#31 of 53 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 stars 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Cozumel

Address: Calle 2 norte entre Rafael E. Melgar y 5av | Col. Centro, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 53 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plaza Cozumel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to our location, the Hotel Plaza Cozumel offers an excellent panoramic view of the Island and Cozumel's Sea Channel. Our location and facilities allow us to meet the needs of business men and tourists that visit us. The access of Hotel Plaza Cozumel is fast from any point of the island, because we are in the downtown commercial and tourist heart of Cozumel. Walk a few steps and visit the Cozumel Museum, the Main Square and Ferry Pier in front of us.If you are planning a fantastic vacation in Cozumel then our hotel is the perfect place to stay with friends or family. An experience beyond accommodation, make your stay unforgettable. Our spacious rooms allowing our guest ton enjoy the privacy and silence needed for a welcome rest. Walk into a warm and caring atmosphere in classical light and bright colors, where you will find the comfort that you deserved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel, HostelBookers, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Plaza Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Plaza Cozumel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.