We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Plaza Cozumel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Plaza Cozumel to your Saves list
Hotel Plaza Cozumel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 2 norte entre Rafael E. Melgar y 5av | Col. Centro, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

This place was great. It's a wonderful location, close to the city center, but on a quiet side street.
It's clean, the staff is nice, and it was the cheapest hotel we found. Take advantage of the breakfast. It's not like other hotels, with the standard pastry, cereal, juice routine.. Their complimentary meal is cooked to order, and fantastic.
The pool area on the roof is great. The only thing I can say was lacking was their elevator, 3 person max, and you feel like cheating death every time you take it.. But honestly, is 4 floors, take the stairs, no big deal.
In conclusion, this hotel was great, this is where we will be stying every time we come back to town.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    39
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
30
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

i was very happy with this hotel, and I am quite a picky person! I paid $57/night, and was traveling by myself. The front desk staff was quite friendly and every day I would tell them where I was going and how much should i expect to pay a taxi driver... this ended up saving me quite a few dollars, as the taxis have no meters.

This hotel is 250 meters from the Ferry to Playa del Carmen. I didn't know this and the taxi I took from the Ferry took me on quite a tour of Cozumel before depositing me at the hotel. I was quite surprised an hour later when I went for a walk and saw the Ferry was literally around the corner.

I had a room on the 3rd floor overlooking the street, nearby rooftops and ocean views as well... Mexican rooftops are pretty dirty, so its not the best view!

beds are clean, and the mattresses are quite firm. Fine for sleeping, but not comfortable for reading or watching TV.

furniture is old and little wobbly, but you're in mexico, so who cares.

there is an fully functioning elevator, which is unusual for budget accom in latin america!

By far the best thing about this hotel is the rooftop pool. The pool is 2/3 shallow and 1/3 deep. the shallow end is about chest height when sitting and the deep end is about chest height when standing (i'm 5foot9 or 175cm). The shallow end is great for lounging. I usually had the whole roof top to myself, but its late April, so the hotel isn't very busy. the pool water was very clean, and a nice cool temperature, great during the day, but maybe a little cool for night swims. the bathrooms on the rooftop were kinda gross though, so better to go back to your room. great views of the ocean, nice place to watch the sunset. pool is lined with lounge chairs, great place to read a book or tan.

Housekeeping staff is great, I left a tip of $3-4 per day and came home to different towel animals on the bed every day.

breakfast is nothing special. I only went once and options were cold omelets, or cereal.

there was some construction going on in the room next door on the weekdays during my stay. They started with their power tools at around 10am, which was annoying, but i also took it as a sign that I should get the heck out of bed and onto the beach!

Room Tip: ask if there is construction going on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Maine
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Research pays off. Trying to find a budget hotel in Cozumel on short order is a challenge- win some lose some. This was a great hit. Few things impress me as much as being treated well by management and from the moment we entered the hotel with our reservation we were treated with respect by a friendly, professional staff. EVERYONE, from desk manager to cleaners to maintenece workers appeared cheerful and helpful whether asking for an extra towel or getting directions. This is definitely a hotel that has seen better days, however, it is kept exceptionally clean and well stocked and if there are things you need the desk will gladly try and assist you in getting it. A very nice breakfast is included and you are encouraged to linger over breakfast and make whatever plans for the day with access to a community computer. A rooftop pool is kept clean and inviting and a wonderful place to relax, read, have a drink in the evening and watch the passing parade. We were also so impressed when we returned a few days after checking out and into our long term rental and found a shirt we had left in our room had been stored in their lost and found and returned with a huge smile from the manager. Great find that we will definitely return to.

Room Tip: WE enjoyed being on the 4th floor as we had a nice view and were just a floor below the rooftop pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Plaza Cozumel during Carnival. The hotel was in the perfect location to enjoy everything downtown Cozumel has to offer shops, and the parade. We took the ferry across from the mainland Playa Del Carmen to Cozumel. When exiting the ferry the hotel is just two blocks down on the left with a right on Calle 2 Norte. We stayed in room 315 (corner room) at the end of the hall. The water pressure and AC in the rooms was great. The beds were a little firm, but sufficed. Every morning fresh fruit, mango, papaya and watermelon was set out along with a special egg combination, accompanied by beans, chicken and breakfast pastries on the rofftop overlooking the pool and cruise ships.
There is not a safe in your room, but one is available at the front desk for complimentary use with a $100 deposit which they return when you return your key. We had a rental car and parked it right out front. One day the parking was full, but there is a lot right across the street where you can park overnight for $5.00 and the hotel covers half the cost, so it was only $2.50. We purchased all our drinks and snacks at the OXXO station (similar to 7-11) just one block to the right of the hotel. We refilled our water bottles with complimentary water in the lobby. There is also 2 complimentary computers in the lobby set-up for free internet use.
Gilberto found out it was our Birthdays (3 of us) and brought up a special "tres leches" (3 milk) cake and sang Happy Birthday. Gilberto and Amelia were both very helpful and nice at the reception.
We had a very special rate for the 4 of us who shared a room. For less than a $90, taxes included per night, and walking distance to the town square, Wet Wendy's, and numerous restaurants, this is the perfect location for the value, thus why I gave it 5 stars. We will return again in the future. Muchas Gracias!

Room Tip: Check the water pressure. If not good ask for a room with an upgraded toilet. Some rooms have much h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

This was our first trip to Cozumel and we were doing it on a budget. We chose this hotel based on reviewers comments and were not disappointed. Normally we choose more luxurious accommodations and this hotel is basic-no hairdryers, irons in the room, safes to lock belongings- the things you see in a 4 or 5 star hotel. I didn’t care for the bedding much which reminded me of my grandmother’s floral bedspread. But I didn’t complain. We weren’t spending time in the room anyways except to sleep. It was a great deal for $49 a night through Priceline. The big pluses are it is super clean throughout the entire hotel and pool area (you won’t see any black mold on their pool furniture); the staff is very friendly; the beds are comfortable; the breakfast is awesome with four different hot choices, fruit, and pastries; and the location is probably the best in Cozumel. Right around the corner is a great restaurant, Kinta, bakery, and Tequila Town where you can enjoy good company and $1 cervezas. Parking is sometimes an issue since there are limited spots in the front of the hotel. But the staff worked very hard to fit everyone in or make arrangements in the paid lot across the street. It is a great value and we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

This was the second time we stayed at the Hotel Plaza Cozumel.

This is your basic hotel, nothing fancy. So if you are looking for a Ritz Carlton experience you will not find it here. However, this hotel offers exceptional value for the price.

The hotel is located 1 block from the main square in town and you are usually the first stop for the shuttle bus coming from the airport.

The rooms were spacious, yet basic, and very clean. Every time we went to our room, we saw people maintaining the common areas of the hotel. There are also two computers for use in the lobby and wireless internet throughout the hotel.

There is a pool on the roof and they serve a free breakfast every morning. The breakfast is not just juice and muffins. The menu consisted of yogurt, cereal, beans, and a fajita chicken and onions, to name a few, on the first day. The second day omelettes made to order topped the menu.

The Hotel Plaza Cozumel is a great value and we will be back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

If you're looking for a cheap, clean hotel in the center of Cozumel, this is just the place. The rooms are fairly big, shower pressure is excellent and the breakfast buffet is great (something new every day) The location is perfect - right next to the pier, shops and restaurants, and you can lie on the rooftop terrace where they have a pool, or rent a motorbike to explore the beaches around the island. Free wifi in every corner of the hotel, and it was reliable and fast too. Ask for a discount if you are staying for a few days, the hotel has plenty of rooms and they normally give you a good price.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Plaza Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Cozumel

Address: Calle 2 norte entre Rafael E. Melgar y 5av | Col. Centro, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plaza Cozumel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to our location, the Hotel Plaza Cozumel offers an excellent panoramic view of the Island and Cozumel's Sea Channel. Our location and facilities allow us to meet the needs of business men and tourists that visit us. The access of Hotel Plaza Cozumel is fast from any point of the island, because we are in the downtown commercial and tourist heart of Cozumel. Walk a few steps and visit the Cozumel Museum, the Main Square and Ferry Pier in front of us.If you are planning a fantastic vacation in Cozumel then our hotel is the perfect place to stay with friends or family. An experience beyond accommodation, make your stay unforgettable. Our spacious rooms allowing our guest ton enjoy the privacy and silence needed for a welcome rest. Walk into a warm and caring atmosphere in classical light and bright colors, where you will find the comfort that you deserved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Plaza Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Plaza Cozumel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.