We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dale & Kathy make you feel darn near part if the family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cozumel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel
Save
You added Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel to your Saves list
Ave 55 sur #140, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 28 Cozumel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Santa Cruz, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dale & Kathy make you feel darn near part if the family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

We were shown promptly (and very courteously) to our room. It was spacious, well appointed and clean. They were a wealth of local lore and dining advice as hosts. Dale arranged rental cars on the island AND the mainland upon our return. They also prepared some seriously fine food for Christmas dinner (no charge). Kathy has got some wickedly fine margarita and pina colada recipes up her sleeve. All the meals were first-rate. The bed was comfortable (and a lot better than most other places we stayed).
I could say that the only down side was that their place is a dozen blocks away from the waterfront. A few less blocks would have been perfect.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
121
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St-Ours, Quebec
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

We've just returned from two weeks of a perfect stay. Again, after a second time, it is still as perfect as the first time. Talk about consistency Dale and Kathy have just done it again, WE WHERE BACK HOME. Then, the island, what a spot for snorkling, great beaches and just about everything else, but feeling safe and being able to go just about everywhere or any beaches is the greatest feeling.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

The definition of hospitable is Dale and Kathy opening their beautiful home to guests. Dale and Kathy were so helpful before we even got on the plane to Cozumel, we had several questions, they help us with our car rental ,everything was in place before we left . The directions and advice given to us was appreciated since this was our first trip outside of the U.S., not to mention we did not get lost from the airport to their home which was great. The rooms were great, spacious , very clean, and quiet. We had a mishap with our luggage, with spillage of liquid which was on about every piece of clothing in the suit case.Kathy, was to the rescue took our clothing immediately for launder service so nothing would be ruined.Thank you so much Kathy. The location of the B&B was a great walking distance from and to the Plaza an easy walk. Kathy was wealth of information about things to do and see. We went snorkeling, to Tulum and Coba to see the Mayan Ruins with friends from the B&B Hi, Rosie and Mitch, this is an all day trip but worth it. Cozumel Saling the all day trip was great, if one has time this definitely would be something one wants to do, the crew was very attentive and took the best care of everyone on the boat. The beaches are beautiful. This is a vacation where you can do as much as you want to or as little, which means there is something for everyone. The breakfast each and every day were wonderful from the orange juice Dale made fresh every morning not to mention the best Breakfast on Cozumel, Kathy it's not the same without your Breakfast in the mornings. Just take a look at the pictures of the home and grounds on Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel, the pictures speak on there own. Before the end of our stay we had already looked at our schedule's, to make reservations for next year, Yes, this place is that good, no hesitation about this at all. We came as guest and left feeling like friends and family. Thank You both, Dale and Kathy for a great stay at the best B&B on Cozumel. See you in 2012!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

This is our third time back to Baldwin House - We simply wouldn't consider any other place. Dale & Kathy are incredible hosts who made us feel right at home from the very first day. The breakfasts always began with fresh squeezed OJ, fresh tropical fruit, yogurt & granola. (can bananas be any fresher when they're picked within a few yards of the table?) Following that was the 'main course' which varied from day to day - waffles, french toast, and a number of delicious Mexican specialties.
The accommodations are wonderful - clean, safe, secure! Their recommendations for restaurants, shopping, activities etc., have never disappointed. Oh, and did I mention laughter and friendship? These are always served in generous portions! Baldwin House is truly an oasis in the heart of a Mexican town

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

From the moment we entered the gates to the reception area, we knew that we had found someplace special.
Kathy and Dale have created an oasis of gardens and waterfalls, replete with birds, arbors of bouganvilla, orchids, royal palms, and a rooftop palapa with hammocks. Adding to the ambiance is the large outdoor kitchen with lots of seating, and an honor bar refrigerator. We enjoyed the comraderie of our guests but felt that there was plenty of privacy if that was what one was looking for.
All we can do is agree that Kathy is a fantastic cook and hostess.. Our breakfasts were delicious with plenty of variety. Her margarita's are the best that I have ever had. Dale is forever busy tending to the property maintaining it in tip top condition in spite of the challenge of the humidity and salt. I got tired just watching them both work.
Having been to Cozumel many times in the past, I found out just how much I didn't know by following Kathy's recommendations on places to go and varying activities which greatly enhanced our stay.
The beds are very cozy for those of us who have had the rock hard mattresses experience so common in Cozumel. Since this house is located in a neighborhood there is some street noise but it is easily dealt with as the airconditioners provide plenty of white noise, as well as removing the humidity from the air (the temperature is actually very pleasant in February).
As an aside, I have not always favored highly rated Tripadvisor establishments, I commend our hosts for not urging us to post about them on tripadvisor. I have stayed at such places in the past and felt that the ratings of these B&B's/Small Inns were inflated due to these practices. This is NOT the case at the Baldwin Guest House. They do not need to tell their guests to write reviews to promote themselves.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose, Mon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

My wife and I enjoyed staying at the Baldwin Guest House. The rooms are very comfortable, nicely furnished and quiet. Great breakfasts. We also enjoyed visiting with the owners ( Dale and Kathy) . and they recommedations for places to eat. beaches and car rental were right on. We cant wait until we can go back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

We spent a week at this B&B tucked aware in a convenient neighborhood. It is nicely out of the hectic downtown area but close enough if you want to walk. Our room was large, extremely clean, and air conditioned with a very comfortable bed. The room also had a TV and a large bathroom with ammenities.

The breakfasts that Kathy cooked were simply wonderful. Fresh fruit, yogurt, fresh squeezed orange juice and coffee were available every morning. Additionally, each morning was a different feast complete with at least two hot food items. By the time you finished you really didn't need to eat again until late in the day. Everything was beautifully presented as well.

We decided one day to go to Tulum which necessitated a very early departure - about 6 AM. We told Kathy not to worry about breakfast but she got up early, coffee was ready and she packed us a breakfast to go. She truly went above and beyond what I would expect of a hostess - and of course the food was delicious.

The day typically ended in the outside kitchen/bar area sipping a few drinks and exchanging stories of the day's activities with the other guests. Kathy and Dale were always there to help with suggestions for what to do the next day. They create a very comfortable and casual atmosphere.

The pool is nice, the rinsing area for wet suits, great, and the landscaping, turtles and geckos all make for a relaxing atmosphere. The B&B stands on it's own as a place to stay. The thing that makes it all the more special, however, are Dale & Kathy. They clearly care about the people that come to visit.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel

Address: Ave 55 sur #140, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our focus is on cleanliness and your personal comfort. Our goal is to ensure you have a great vacation. We look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Baldwin`s Guest House Cozumel Hotel Cozumel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.