We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great as always” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Thirsty Cougar

The Thirsty Cougar
Rafael Melgar entre calle 3 y 5, Cozumel, Mexico
+52 987 869 0214
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 249 Restaurants in Cozumel
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Thirsty Cougar is right on the waterfront in beautiful downtown Cozumel Mexico. This is the second venture from the creators of Wet Wendy's Margarita House, only we kept everyone's favorite creations and added an unbeatable view and smaller format. If you're down for a week or just a day, you can't beat our kitchen or bar to deliver just what you need! We hope to see you soon, Jazmine, Niko, Leka, Carlos, Klara and Chad.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

This is the 3rd time we have eaten here. We consider this reservation eating every time we hit Cozumel. The staff is great (Tino is the best and remembers you) and the food is beyond belief. Ate the blackened burrito this time. WOW, Just WOW. Go there, you will NOT be disappointed.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    63
    15
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Nightly Stop For Drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

This was just a stumble away from our room at Casa Mexicana, so we stopped by here for drinks every night after we finished diving. We always sat at the bar because Manny and Ixchel were the coolest people we met on the island. Always offered up great conversation. Manny is a whiz with drink concoctions. I don't like sweet or frozen drinks (prefer whisky), but didn't want to get smashed due to diving. He made me a cucumber jalapeno drink that was super refreshing and unique. I even caved and tried a frozen drink (they're a foot tall!), he even put his own twist on that. This place became our "local" spot during our stay. Great for people watching and gazing out on the ocean. Also, you can't beat the company.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Georgia
2 reviews
“We'll be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Great little roadside eatery on the main rd of Cozumel . Good food and great drink desserts. Fish for dinner was a great value

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnyville, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quirky! Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We were just walking by and decided to check it out - sure glad we did. Great food and the margaritas rock! I had the deep fried camembert and the coconut shrimp and way too many margaritas! I would come back again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhies, Iowa, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food and view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stopped here after a 3 hour snorkling adventure with my son and nephew. The food was amazing! I definitely recommend the fish tacos! The fresh grouper was the best my son had ever had, according to his comments. The service was fast and our waitress (can't remember her name--is in Cozumel from Mexico City) was very friendly and fun to talk with. Sitting outside with the ocean just across the road completed a great eating experience. I will look for this place again the next time I am in Cozumel.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Thirsty Cougar also viewed

 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to The Thirsty Cougar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Thirsty Cougar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.