We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Thirsty Cougar

The Thirsty Cougar
Rafael Melgar entre calle 3 y 5, Cozumel, Mexico
+52 987 869 0214
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 264 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Thirsty Cougar is right on the waterfront in beautiful downtown Cozumel Mexico. This is the second venture from the creators of Wet Wendy's Margarita House, only we kept everyone's favorite creations and added an unbeatable view and smaller format. If you're down for a week or just a day, you can't beat our kitchen or bar to deliver just what you need! We hope to see you soon, Jazmine, Niko, Leka, Carlos, Klara and Chad.
New Lenox, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

The food and drinks were great and Peter (Vin Diesel) was fantastic. They bring a napkin and pen for you to write down any songs that you want to here. We tested them out with some obscure songs but he was able to play them all. I would go back to Cozumel just to hang out there.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    84
    18
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Planet Earth
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Brew with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

We have been to Cozumel numerous times over the past 10 years both vacation and cruise. As we walked along the main street with no intention of eating or drinking that early, Nico reeled us in. He invented a 2 for 1 beer special, seated us at the corner table with a great view of the ocean and action...the rest is history. We had a great time eating, drinking and watching the action. Included was watching Nico and his counterpart work the crowd to fill up the tables. Two hours after lunch we returned for a snack and a few more drinks. Our next trip to Cozumel will certainly include a stop at the Thirsty Cougar

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nachos and beer! ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Great way to start the day! Near the peer... nice view of the water while eating and drinking. Friendly waitresses!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great food and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

This place is awesome. The staff alone are just overall food people (Edgar, Manny, Ixchel, crystal)
Thanks for the excellent food, drinks and service. It is here we learned about adding fresh cucumber to a Ojo rojo, it's delicious.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Margaritas, nachos and guacamole!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stopped here for late afternoon drinks and snacks. We sat outside on a vey busy street corner. Our table was visited by the owner while we were there. Margaritas were excellent, the guacamole was delicious and the pico de gallo that came with the nachos was tasty. A fun spot for a casual snack or light meal.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Thirsty Cougar also viewed

 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to The Thirsty Cougar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Thirsty Cougar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.