We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Drinks in Town!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Thirsty Cougar

The Thirsty Cougar
Rafael Melgar entre calle 3 y 5, Cozumel, Mexico
+52 987 869 0214
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 247 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Thirsty Cougar is right on the waterfront in beautiful downtown Cozumel Mexico. This is the second venture from the creators of Wet Wendy's Margarita House, only we kept everyone's favorite creations and added an unbeatable view and smaller format. If you're down for a week or just a day, you can't beat our kitchen or bar to deliver just what you need! We hope to see you soon, Jazmine, Niko, Leka, Carlos, Klara and Chad.
Tallahassee, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Drinks in Town!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We snuck in to avoid an afternoon rain shower and ended up having the best drinks of our entire trip! The staff was awesome...Chad shared stories of his travels and our bartender (I can't remember his name but he is from Mexico City and SO kind and welcoming) made me the best Mojito of my life! They recommended us to their other bar, Wet Windys where we had the Queso with White Wine which was AMAZING! Totally worth a visit early in your trip so that you have time to go back again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    84
    18
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I had seen this place on here and really wanted to try because the drinks looked so good. We found this place luckily because it was raining so hard and needed a place to stay dry. It was just okay, but wouldn't care about going back. People were super nice, told them it was our anniversary and they have us a free shot. I just didn't think my drink was anything spectacular.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Gotta stop here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Great drinks, great location, great service! Near parking just a few feet away. We stopped here several afternoons to cool of, people watch, and chat with our server. Recommend!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food and reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We just happened to pass by this place as we were walking about. What caught our attention was the outdoor seating (tables and bar), facing the ocean, and the 2 beers for $3 signs! Decided to have a seat and take them up on the beer offer. Very friendly staff. We were enjoying ourselves and decided to order lunch. Glad we did - the food was good, fresh, and reasonably priced. A great alternative to the noisy chain places in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great little bar with great views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Place had great music, cold beers, and Chad (the owner) is a great conversationalist and super host! Good times, good music, great people!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Thirsty Cougar also viewed

 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to The Thirsty Cougar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Thirsty Cougar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.