We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and wonderful breeze off the sea” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Thirsty Cougar

The Thirsty Cougar
Rafael Melgar entre calle 3 y 5, Cozumel, Mexico
+52 987 869 0214
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 264 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Thirsty Cougar is right on the waterfront in beautiful downtown Cozumel Mexico. This is the second venture from the creators of Wet Wendy's Margarita House, only we kept everyone's favorite creations and added an unbeatable view and smaller format. If you're down for a week or just a day, you can't beat our kitchen or bar to deliver just what you need! We hope to see you soon, Jazmine, Niko, Leka, Carlos, Klara and Chad.
Marianna, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Good food and wonderful breeze off the sea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We always stop here and Wet Wendy's at least once during our trips to Cozumel. The nachos are really good. You must also order the fries with cheese. Nice place to stop and get a snack or meal.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    84
    18
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Punta Cana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fun fun fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

We decided on this place from viewing others photos and reviews........and we were not disappointed! The margaritas are huge and tasty! We had the peanut butter chocolate as well as mango/coconut......yummy. And you can get them non alcohol for the kiddos too! We fell in love with our waitress Liz.....supper friendly and great with our son! Now on to the food....also great! The chicken burrito with mango sauce was yummy, my husband said he could eat it all week! I had the mixed ceviche which was the best I had tasted in 4 day on the island! My father had the chicken quesadillas which he said was wonderful too! So all in all a fun friendly place with great food and drinks!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“Better fish than many other Cozumel restaurants!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

While I have always come to the Thirsty Cougar for their drinks and chips & pico, this time I decided to have dinner. I had the grouper in garlic - and it was better (far better) than the same meal I had had at a much more popular restaurant nearby. I was pleasantly surprised - and now have another reason to go back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best staff and drinks on the island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The Thirsty Cougar is not to be missed. The staff is the best on the island: Leka (no one makes a better frozen drink with a great sense of humor!), Niko (outgoing and so kind), Hector (very friendly and attentive)... and so many others. They are professional, efficient, friendly and there to make your visit the ultimate experience. We always stop in and have at least one (ok fine, 2 or 3!) of their blended drinks- YUM! The ceviche is to die for- probably the best I've had on the island. I'm mad that it took me so long to discover that. Between the great conversation, awesome drinks, and the spectacular people watching on Melgar, you will have yourself a fantastic time. Do yourself a favor and grab a spot at the bar!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stopped at the Thirsty Cougar for an evening meal on the recommendation of some diners. Peter, our waiter, was attentive and lots of fun. Our friends enjoyed a fun frozen drink and our food was plentiful and very tasty. At the end of the meal Peter brought each of us some "Mexican water". Be sure you get yours! The sunset was great. ;-)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Thirsty Cougar also viewed

 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to The Thirsty Cougar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Thirsty Cougar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.