We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ANOTHER GREAT JOB!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Booking.com
and 9 more sites!
El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Carr. a Chankanaab Km 4.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 57 hotels in Cozumel
Walla Walla, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“ANOTHER GREAT JOB!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

My wife and I just returned from our second stay at La Ceiba, and I gotta say they were even better than the last trip which we did not think was possible. The food, service, ammenities, staff, and rooms were all tops. We wanted for absolutely nothing there.
If you are looking for a quiet, non crowded place then this is where you want to go. It is truly a hidden gem. You are made to feel like you are family and that the staff really cares about you.
It is close to town and shopping. Sightseeing on the island and the peninsula is just a ferry ride away. Laid back atmosphere everywhere on the island.
The sunsets were gorgeous too.
We want to thank Salvador, Dee and Marsela (AND THE ENTIRE STAFF) for another job well done!!!
See you in December!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salavatore, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2010
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    429
    218
    103
    44
    37
See reviews for
206
367
20
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

We just got back from our 7 day stay at El Cid La Ceiba. It was wonderful. We had 3 great private rooms in rooms 1730+. we enjoyed our stay with our 3 children, my dad, and aunt. The staff Cain (from Kids Club), Carlos (lifeguard), Maria (front desk), and the Main Chefs were just some of the staff members that were wonderful...it was not crowded at all and the family atmosphere was perfect....the snorkeling was great too. not too far - not too close to town. It did rain for 2 days non stop, so we lost 2 of our days, but that was not the resorts fault. Jorge in Guest/Customer Services was also great...we are members of RCI and if we could go back to this Resort we would go back in a heart beat. Gracias El Cid La Ceiba Resort... :)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salavatore, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2010
Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you so much for your kind review and recent stay with us. Nothing makes any of us at El Cid la Ceiba happier than to know that our guests were happy while staying with us, as we strive to provide our guests with personalized service to make sure that their stay is as pleasurable as possible.

I'll be sure to pass this along to the staff who will be delighted to know that they made you feel at home and pampered.

Warm regards,

Salvador Sánchez Meza

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweetwater, TX
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

Babieca Dive shop is located within El cid La Ceiba Resort on the water of Cozumel. We just spent two full weeks diving almost every day. Luis Rodriquez is by far the most awesome dive master. He is safety conscious and lets your air dictate your dive. This is unlike some other operators that run you through like cattle. They served fruit in between the dives during the surface interval, and services are awesome. The resort is very nice with very friendly and helpful staff. This is our 3rd summer to go and we look forward to another visit.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salavatore, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2010
Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you so much for your review and your stay with us at El Cid la Ceiba. We are very glad to know that your stay with us and your diving experience were to your liking, we strive to provide our guests with first rate safety measures and staff, as well as making them feel pampered and at home. I'll pass your comment along to the staff at Babieca, who will be very happy to know that their services were to your liking.

We hope to see you again very soon, so we can pamper you even more.

Sincerely,

Salvador Sánchez Meza

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisville ,ky.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

we truly enjoyed are stay at el cid, the staff was not only helpful and accomodating but beyond frienly, we left left there as friends with many. we know they will remeber us when we return and we will remeber them.the little convenient store outside the main entrance also has a friendly staff. no problem getting off beaten path for excellent food and safety was never a issue.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

First of all - do not buy into their ALL-INCLUSIVE option. If you do, you'll be stuck with their only single restaurant "La Chopa" on-site (the pizza place is not counting), which serves less than average quality of food to say at least. What is alternative? For only $7 one way to the downtown area, you'll have the variety of so many great restaurants, that you'll run out of days in your vacation before you could explore all great places for dinner. And, if you stay like us in a 1-2 bedroom suite that had a small kitchen and refrigerator, you can get all you need for your breakfasts and lunches from a huge MEGA supermarket with their prices on many food items (ham, cheese, dairy, vegetables, fruits, etc...) of half of the prices we pay here, in US.
Now, if you care for snorkeling - do not waste your time on a local hotel beach. Rent yourself a car or get a taxi ride to a near Dzul-Ha reef beach (it's only a few miles away), while its Money Bar beach restaurant providing comfortably you with drinks and food. This is the best off-shore snorkeling place on the island! (they even have a snorkeling "map" on the wall of their bar to show you the route for the best snorkeling). And do not fall for some "cheap" snorkeling tours some beaches on the island would offer you (they range from $25 to $35 per person) - they will robb you off, because they will in fact take you to ... the same Dzul-Ha reef location with their boat, while you could have gotten yourself there for free.
Now, if you came to tan on a beach and thinking you can easily get to the water (without snorkeling gear) directly from the hotel beach - you will be disappointed. Their beach is very rocky and is not suitable for someone of age over 60 to get an easy access to the water. You'd have to go to other beaches on the island with sandy access to the water: Play de Mia and Mr. Sanches are one of them.
There are many good restaurants on the island. Our favorites are: "Casa Mission" and "Kinta" - great food, great service and good prices. Where can you get a big and juicy fillet mignon for only $16?
If you'd like to explore the island and take some other tours to the mainland, and if you came with more than two people - we'd recommend to spend 90 min of your time to hear their timeshare presention on order to get some good discounts on a rental car and tours. Be aware though, that a minimum rental car insurance you'll be required to pay per day is $14 which is on top of the regular rental car fees you'd negotiate with their rental car office.
We took a tour to Tulim and Xen-ha, which we liked.
As for the quality of rooms and the sleep quality - while rooms were spacious and have suitable beds with firm matresses and variety of pillows and we were generally satisfied with that, we can't say the same unfortunately about the sleeping quality. You'd be feeling like you're sleeping on the airfield while airjets are taking off all night. Their A/C units are so loud, you'd have to bring your own earbuds to get some rest at night. During our stay, we had to call twice their service people to wipe out the water leaking in our rooms due to their internal wall pipes leakage problems. That shows how old this hotel is.
So, in summary, while we enjoy the island of Cozumel and the snorkeling experience we came there for, we can't say the same about this resort, and therefore certainly we won't be coming back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salavatore, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2010
Dear Sir or Madame,
We appreciate your letting us know about the inconveniences you had during your stay with us. We always appreciate our customers' reviews as they help us improve every day and provide even better service. We are in the process of purchasing new Air Conditioner units for the rooms, and general improvements to our Hotel, so we would be honored if you'd consider us for your next vacation.
Please be assured that we will work hard to correct those problems you found while staying with us.
Sincerely,
Salvador Sánchez Meza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

We have recently returned from our 10th trip to Cozumel and the 9th time that we have stayed at El Cid La Ceiba. We do not want to stay anywhere else. From the time that we arrive till we leave, it is a splendid experience . The hotel is of the size that you get to know the staff and they know you. For me, it feels like going home. It is sad to leave but we know that we will be back again next year. We like having a restaurant on the property; what a place to watch the sun set! The rooms are well appointed and spotless.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, PA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

Nice clean hotel with very friendly staff, located about 4 miles from the city right at the cruise docks. If you want to go into the city it costs from 7 to 10 USD. Only one restaurant in the hotel and the menu is not that big. Very pricey for a family of 5. If you want a cheaper meal you must go into Cozemel and pay the cab fare, so you're better off eating at the hotel. There's a 7-11 about two blocks away. You can get an all inclusive package for about $70 a person. If you like to eat and drink, this is the way to go. Hotel is not very kid friendly. Our grandkids said they were bored. Not much to do at night, but sit around and drink.
If your looking just to relax, then this place is great. Only about 20% filled. Pick your beach chair and pool chair and you have it for the day. 100's of them available all day long. Good place to snorkel. No sandy beach into the water. Steps go down. There is sand for the chairs. I don't think I would go back to Cozemel. You are better off going to the Maya Riviera, It's more family friendly and much more to do.
Sleeping conditions were OK, comfortable, but I would recommend earplugs.Loudest air conditioning in any hotel I have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salavatore, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2010
Dear sir or Madam,
Thank you for your recent stay with us and your review. We appreciate all feedback from our guests as it helps us improve and make sure that our guests feel as pampered as they deserve.

We are in the process of acquiring new AC units for the rooms, and would love to have you once again so we can show you what a great place El Cid la Ceiba really is. We will also incorporate more kid-friendly activities during the summer, so there can be activities for every family member.

Hoping to see you again soon,

Sincerely,

Salvador Sánchez Meza

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel

Also Known As:
El Cid Cozumel
El Cid La Ceiba Cozumel
Address: Carr. a Chankanaab Km 4.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cozumel
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the beach, in the South part of the hotel strip, the renovated El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, located in one of the world's most beautiful and spectacular scuba diving sites in the world, offering the perfect balance of glamour and flair of a first class resort with the laid back atmosphere and attentive service that made us famous. Tone up your muscles at our gym, treat yourself to a relaxing massage or detoxify and cleanse your body at our newly mayan influenced spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Venere so you can book your El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel to your Saves list