We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LA CEIBA just keeps getting better.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel to your Saves list
El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Carr. a Chankanaab Km 4.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 65% Off
Ranked #20 of 56 Hotels in Cozumel
Houston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“LA CEIBA just keeps getting better.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

We just recently completed our 5th trip to the El Cid La Ceiba in Cozumel and our 17th trip overall to Cozumel. The La Ceiba keeps getting better and we were happy with our first trip there 3 years ago. The La Ceiba has improved the landscaping, added Snuba facilities right on the property, added a beach barbeque with live music, and the sales department now provides both an orientation meeting over morning coffee and an early evening cocktail party. This little gem of a resort never rests on its laurels and is always looking for ways to improve the value of your visit. The General Manager, Salvador Sanchez Meza, leads a wonderful staff who are the most friendly and professional people we have ever encountered on our many travels The resort's restaurant, La Chopa, is one of Cozumel's finest and the wait staff, directed by managers Chrisanto and Jorge, give you a personal and professional level of service that is truly outstanding. We highly recommend that you try the Private Romantic Dinner for Two that is served on the pier overlooking the sea -- the food, service, and setting are wonderful and well worth the price. FRESH is the key word at La Chopa -- fresh fruits, vegetables, pastries, seafood, and sea air!! We love the family atmosphere at the La Ceiba and the resort is big enough to provide all of the desired services, but small enough that everybody knows you and treats you special.The dive, snorkeling, and deep sea fishing boats pick you up right at the La Ceiba pier -- just feet from the door of your hotel room. There are lots of events provided right on the property and the Events Director, Cain, always has things to do for the kids as well as offering things like cooking classes, Spanish classes, stretching classes, bingo, horseshoes, and water volleyball for the adults.. The Concierge department has booked and recommended excursions for us and their advice and service has always been great. We are tourists and customers, but we are always treated like family when we return to the La Ceiba. This is a great value and Cozumel is the SAFEST tourist destination in the Americas. Mexico takes a great deal of national pride in its tourist and hospitality industry and nowhere is that pride better demonstrated than at the El Cid La Ceiba in Cozumel. We are looking very much forward to our next visit to the La Ceiba.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    288
    121
    56
    47
See reviews for
248
463
30
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

We returned last week from a 10 night stay at the El Cid La Ceiba. We had a deluxe suite on the 10th floor of the tower. The suite had a magnificent view. There were two full bath rooms and a large bedroom. The main living area was nicely furnished with a complete kitchen and dining area. The Murphy bed in the living room was surprisingly comfortable. The air conditioning worked very well. As others have reported there are occasional odors in the bathrooms. This is common in some high rise buildings; it is caused by a low water level in the toilets. Most of the time you can just flush the toilet to restore the water level to resolve the problem. Their housekeeping staff did an excellent job keeping every thing clean. They even change the bed sheets daily. The bed sheets are not of the quality we are accustom to. I hope that hotel management decides to upgrade the linen which would make the room even better. Over all we really loved the suite.

The tower has two very small elevators that have a maximum capacity of three people. When the Time Share sales tours are in progress, the wait for an elevator was as long as 15 minutes. During our stay one of the elevators was out of service for several hours on two different days. The stairs have no hand rails and are completely open on one side so if you slip on the steps you could be killed by a fall to the bottom landing, so take extreme care if you use the stairs.

The beach area was well cared for and the waiters take drink and food orders from your beach chair. The beach service was very good. We did tip these guys and perhaps that is why our service was so good. The snorkeling was very enjoyable with many different species of marine life. There is very little Coral left but the abundance of beautiful fish made up for it.

During our stay there was only one day that had a significant number of cruise ship passengers that over ran the resort. What made that unpleasant was the large number of unruly children running around kicking sand into your drinks and food. I only observed one mom and dad practicing good parenting. The rest seemed not to care what their children did.

The La Chopa restaurant was never crowded. The service varied from excellent to poor, mostly good so we tipped accordingly. Most of the staff was very friendly and helpful. The Elite all inclusive plan eliminates surcharges for their better liquor and menu items not included in their standard all inclusive plan. The only restriction was Lobster, you are allowed one Lobster dinner for each 5 nights of your stay. I was not impressed with the Lobster, the Rib Eye steak was much better. Breakfast each day was a limited buffet with a menu available. All lunch and dinner service was from the menu. I am glad we had the Elite plan since most of what we ate and drank would have had a surcharge. Over all, the restaurant food was good, better than the six other all inclusive resorts we have stayed at. The restaurant and bar are managed like a separate business, you are required to sign for each and every drink you have and every thing you eat regardless that the balance due was zero, that became very annoying.

This resort is very quiet at night. It was disappointing that you can not get a drink after 10:30PM. When we are on vacation we generally like a night cap. I wish that the bar was open until midnight.

Over all we were very pleased with our stay at the El Cid La Ceiba. The 10th floor deluxe suite really made this trip especially enjoyable. For the money we found this resort to be a good value, for what this vacation cost you can not expect every thing to exceed your expiation's. The El Cid La Ceiba certainly exceeds most of my expiation's. This is a great place for a laid back vacation. Next time we go to Cozumel we will certainly consider staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salavatore, Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2010
Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you very much for your extensive review and your patronage. We really appreciate when our guests leave such detailed reviews since that helps other people see that El Cid la Ceiba really has our guests' comfort and satisfaction as our number one priorities. We assure you that we will work on correcting the problems you encountered, so that the next time you're here, the service and eveything else you experience are stellar.

Thank you once again for your kind review, and we hope to have you here with us very soon.

Warm regards,

Salvador Sanchez Meza

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

Talk to the El Cid host Marcella Montano - she was so upbeat, informative, and polite - not pushy, kind and truly concerned about our enjoyment of the island. We really connected with her.

The ony improvement I would suggest is to have teen night (games, etc) early in the week to allow young folks, like our 17 year old daughter to connect with other teens - she was rather lonely by the second week of our stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salavatore, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2010
Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you very much for your review. We will definitely take into account your suggestions, and will make sure that the next time you visit us, they'll be implemented. I'll be sure to pass this review to Marcela, I'm sure she'll be delighted to read it!

Here at El Cid la Ceiba, personalized service and fulfilling our guests' needs are our number one priorities so we're very happy to know that your stay was enjoyable. Looking forward to seeing you again very soon!

Warm regards,

Salvador Sánchez Meza

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

I read all the reviews before deciding on El Cid La Ceiba and was very exciting about our stay there. Unfortunately, our stay was not as enjoyable as most of the reviews on here.
To begin with we were not greeted with a wet towel nor were there any welcome drinks, instead we were told we could not check in for another 3 - 4 hours because they were getting people checked out. BUT the couple behind us in line were also trying to get checked in and they were allowed to do so while we waited in the lobby. Because we are owners in a timeshare they took that opportunity to try to sell us their vacation club package.
El Cid's website says it has been totally renovated... our room was not! The bathroom looked dirty, smelled and the ceiling looked as if it would fall in on you while showering. The bathroom had very little light... there were two light fixtures in there but they were very dim. The refrigerator made a loud popping noise that would actually wake us up at night. We were told this was normal. There was only one very small trash can in the bathroom so we were always looking for bags to put the trash in. There was a non-functioning safe in the room.
The maid came everyday but did not actually clean anything. One day she must have just wiped the inside of the coffee cups with a dry cloth because the next day there was dried coffee all in the cup. There were stains left from a drink on the refrigerator that was not touched AND she actually left her dirty cleaning rag on the table when she left! The a/c would be cut off when we would return from an outing so it took a while for the room to cool off.
We made a complaint but never heard from anyone except for the maintenance man when he came to tell us the popping from the refrigerator was normal.
The concierge staff was very aggressive, after awhile, we tried to just avoid them, so what did they do… they called our room to setup meetings. This I did not appreciate at all!
The one good thing about El Cid La Ceiba was the restaurant, La Chopa… very nice people and great food!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salavatore, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2010
Dear Sir or Madam,

Your comments and observations are very important to our staff in helping us to provide a positive, satisfactory experience. However, it is clear from your review that we missed many opportunities to create the experiences you anticipated and we deeply apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. We assure you that we will immediately work on the areas that you found unsatisfactory and will do our best to correct them.
We hope that we will be able to have you again at El Cid la Ceiba, so you can have a better experience and truly enjoy our facilities.

Kind regards,

Salvador Sánchez Meza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

Cozumel, Mexico
April 2, 2010 – April 9, 2010

TripAdvisor™ get the truth. then go.
E-mail Cozumel, Mexico to a friend
To*: (separate e-mail addresses by a comma)
Your e-mail address*:
Your name:
Message:
*indicates required field
All e-mail addresses submitted on this page will only be used to send this message and will not be collected or used for marketing purposes.
SendSend
CancelCancel

Thank you!

Your e-mail was successfully sent.
CloseClose
My trip notes: Cozumel is a beautiful place to visit. I loved the snorkeling, reefs, cleanliness of the city, and the friendliness of the people. We stayed at El Cid La Ceiba. It is about 2.5 miles south of the downtown pier area. Marcella, one of the coincerge was extremely helpful. The rest of the staff was very, very friendly!! The maid was more than awesome!!! I used to be annoyed about all the "tipping" that is such a large part of the tourist culture until I found out that minimum wage was $5/day in Mexico; I was quickly humbled. All that said, be prepared to budget in tipping expenses when planning. Cozumel does not have a public transportation system. One must rent a car or scooter; taxi's are available. We paid $7-$15 to go from a range of 2 - 4 miles - per one-way ride, not per person.

We spent Saturday to Saturday in Cozumel. Saturday was about traveling, checking in, and recovering from a 36-hour travel experience. On Sunday we attended a orientation breakfast, rented a car to travel around the island and to shop in the pier shops downtown, and finally, topped off the day with a Mexican buffet at our hotel restaurant.

Monday was about nursing Moose over a strep throat infection (Thank God one can buy penicillin w/o a prescription in Mexico at any farmicia!) while traveling to the mainland by ferry to see the Mayan ruins in central Mexico (Chichen Itza). What an experience!!! Mike loved this tour the most because he is such a history/culture buff!!!

On Tuesday we took a cab to Chakanaab Park to snorkel, watch the dolphins, lay out on the beach. It is - without a doubt - the most beautiful, well-kept beach I have ever visited!! That night we ate at Alberto's South. Garlic grouper---mmmm!

Wednesday was about the Passion Island Tour. You take a fishing boat to a private sandy beach for lunch, playing in the water, swinging in the hammocks, etc. Food was delicious!!

Thursday was my favorite day. We took The Fury tour where one rod a catamaran out to two separate reefs to go snorkeling. The reefs and the sea life was out of this world!!! Afterwards there was a beach stop with late lunch and water toys - superslides, iceberg climbing wall, trampolines, etc. I cannot say enough good, good things about this tour. The staff was very attentive and made us feel very safe in the water for us inexperienced snorkelers. Thursday night we ate at Casa Mission. Where can you get a complete filet mignon for $16 USD - with desert!!!? The atmosphere was true to the Mexican mission charm.

Friday was about hanging out at the hotel - snorkeling off the hotel pier, sleeping in the hammocks, lunch at Albertos By the Beach (garlic grouper again!- I'm so predictable!). Friday night we went shopping in the downtown shops again. Found Wet Wendy's!!! Wow!! The BEST margaritas I have ever had in my life!!!! Wet Wendy's is the definite must-visit place in Cozumel!!! Closed on Sundays.

Saturday was all about getting back to the states and getting home Sunday afternoon.

I will definitely go again - in February next time AND certified to dive. It is definitely a diver and snorkeler's paradise. The weather was gorgeous from 6:00 am to about 9:00 am and then from 5:00 pm on. Perfect breezes all throughout the day. The heat was still a bit too much for me, but the clouds gave us a break from sun all day. While El Cid was a great hotel experience, I'd like to try Hotel Cozumel and Paradise Divers for the next trip.

All in all Cozumel was a great experience. Cleaner and safer than Matzalan; beaches were nicer; however, more expensive (transportation on lisland). Matzalan's El Cid Marina was a super fantastic place for a hotel experience and the tours would pick you up at hotel; food was also a little better; culture more intense and varied. I would go back again to both. Hope you enjoy Mexico. The people are wonderfully nice!!! (edit)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

My friends somehow selected this hotel in Cozumel--still don't know how--but it was a GREAT pick! We were visiting during "Spring Break" and since we are now all out of school we wanted a lounging hotel on the beach that wouldn't be packed with crazy spring breakers (yet we still want the drinks, the service and the overall week in the sun experience). We were greeted warmly and immediately had welcome drinks in our hand. Our flight had arrived well before check-in, but no worries they stored our luggage and gave us towels so that we could head out to the beautiful patio with sand and pool area.
The location was about 3 miles south of the 'downtown' area of Cozumel--we found this a plus more than anything. It only take about 8 minutes by taxi to get downtown and roughly $8USD to cram 5 girls into a taxi. The food at the hotel was good and the rooms great. We were greeted daily by new towel art which made my day.
They had beautiful artwork that decorated the hotel hall walls--which I found out was for sale! Even better, the artist is an employee at the hotel and can paint pieces upon request! I made it home with a BEAUTIFUL painting :)
I would definitely recommend this hotel. We had an extremely pleasant experience and I would want to say here again if I visit Cozumel a second time!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

We just returned from a one week stay at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel and if we could get on a plane and return today we would. The price was very reasonable and the service was perfect. Our room was comfortable and very clean and the view was fantastic! I slept like a baby every night!
This hotel has everything you are looking for - there are so many activities and shows going on all the time that you can never be bored and if you just want to relax and do nothing there is no better place. They offer a perfect combo of relaxation and fun! Their entertainment team is energetic, friendly, and engaging.
The food was amazing and I would highly reccommed this resort to even the pickiest eaters.
I am usually looking forward to coming home by the second last day of a vacation but not this time - one week was not enough.
Thank you El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel! We are looking forward to staying with you again very soon!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salavatore, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2010
Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you very much for your patronage and kind comment. We are very honored and pleased that you liked the hotel, and I will make sure to pass your comments along to the rest of the staff.

We look forward to having you again here at El Cid la Ceiba, your home away from home.

Kind regards,

Salvador Sánchez Meza

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel

Address: Carr. a Chankanaab Km 4.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Cid La Ceiba Beach resort is an oceanfront paradise perfectly in tune with Cozumel's easygoing island rhythms. Explore the island's enchanting beaches, lush mangrove forests and brilliantly colored reefs with amazing sea life. Whether you are in search of a romantic getaway or a tropical setting to reconnect with family and friends, our intimate and friendly resort offers the ideal setting for snorkeling, diving or simply lazing by the pool. Your vacation is sure to be relaxing and authentic experience at El Cid La Ceiba. • Babieca Dive Shop on site with PADI certified dive masters. • Spectacular diving, snorkeling and unmatched ocean views. • European and All-Inclusive Plans • Fly High Adventures, eco-park featuring 6 zip line platforms and six rugged trails • Two swimming pools: a free-form pool with kids' area and a tide pool with cascading waterfalls, rock formations, and lush gardens • Ocean View and Ocean Front Accommodations. • All Inclusive and European Meal Plans • International cuisine in our Oceanfront Restaurants • Nearby shopping at Plaza & downtown area. • Three miles from Chakanaab Park • Only Six miles from Cozumel International Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Expedia, Groupon and Jetsetter so you can book your El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cid Cozumel
El Cid La Ceiba Cozumel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.