We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All inclusive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Carr. a Chankanaab Km 4.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Great Sale: Up to 55% Off
Ranked #15 of 56 hotels in Cozumel
Plano, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“All inclusive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The words All Inclusive is misleading at this hotel.
You will be up charged for any steak, lobster or shrimp dishes, ranging from $11 to $20 per meal.
The tower rooms were designed into a two bedroom studio with a separate kitchen, (three rooms).
If you book a room, you will get one of the three rooms described above.
The couple we traveled with ended up with the kitchen room with pull out Murffy bed.
They had to change to one of the two bed rooms of the studio.
The food was good in the one dining room, the second dining room was an outdoor pizza oven, which we never saw in operation.
The hotel is about two miles from the shopping area, we had a rent car so had no problem.
No shuttle service from airport, taxi is expensive, $10 per person.
We got a rent car for $100 cash per week, but were required to visit Occidental Grand for a sales pitch, where they stamped our rent car receipt.
We still had a nice time, but probably won't return.
The snorkeling was wonderful.

Room Tip: Ask for two king size beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guest:

First at all I want to thank you for your time to post this comments. we always appreciate all type of review positive or negative will help us to improve areas and services.
i can see that you are really unhappy for the surcharge in some of our foods, i must say that we have different meal plans not only one and unfortunateley you choose the basic my apologies if we did not offer you the other options and i want to let you know that we are working with some of the points you mentioned.

Sincerely
Andres Maillard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    461
    242
    110
    49
    39
See reviews for
221
400
22
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Agua Dulce, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Every year we take an All inclusive trip with several couples. Aug 6 - 13 our group stayed here. The first disappointment was the lack of hospitality checking in. The staff seemed to be stonefaced and not very helpful for obvious needs. This hotel has no escape from the weather, except your room. There are no eating areas or lobby areas with AC. We had 7 couples and everyone got a room with a hollywood or Murphy type bed...really?? never had any of us see this in our worldly travels. The hotel was able to change 4 of the rooms, but some of us had to settle with a hard uncomfortable bed for a week. The food was ok, and you can get something to eat easily. The security or tracking the employees are required to do with your wristband was annoying for both guests and employees. To get a bottle of water, you had to either read the number on your wristband or show them your band and sign a receipt. We never enjoyed the pool, it always seemed full of kids. Kinda small for as many guest that were using it. The small beach was nice to swim and snorkeling was pretty decent. The location of the hotel was central to many sites and shopping. You could see and hear the Cruise ships literally right out off the hotel beach. Unfortunately it was not a hotel you would want to spend all your days enjoying the facilities. It was small and not many activities to keep us there. We would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Request a actual bed - not a Murphy pull out bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guest,
We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience of your stay at the EL Cid La Ceiba Hotel.
We are taking note about your comments in order to improve our services.
We want to do a big effort for the inconvenience we have caused, for this we hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again and change your perspective of your last experience at our hotel.

Cordially
Andrès Maillard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

we stayed here july 25-aug1 and had a pleasant trip. the grounds are nice and clean, food was wonderful, service was great. we had a room on the 1st floor the first night then moved up to the 9th floor as the room wasnt available the first night. both rooms were good with good views. we stayed in the tower which i suggest if you want the best view of the ocean. you will see the cruise ships all day but i liked that. i want to give a shout out to eli our waiter his nickname was (owl) he was wonderful. i have two complaints about the place....1st is that breakfast was never ready at 7 when they opened...we had a dive boat to catch and it made us rush to eat and run 2nd is when we arrived about 1245pm they would not issue us a bracelet until 2pm. we asked if we could get one to go eat and have a drink and they said no. we have stayed at other resorts on cozumel and you are issued a bracelet as soon as you arrive...if you are staying at an all inclusive that is. besides those two complaints everything was great. message me if you have any questions and i would be more than happy to answer. we also had upgraded to the elite which is with it as you can eat steak and seafood every night with no surcharge and also get better quality of liquor.

Room Tip: tower if you want a good view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Guest:
I want to Thank you for your review. Your referrals are very important to us to encourage our staff and ourselves.

We work hard taking great care of our guests and will always do our best to exceed their expectations. indeed with the detail mentioned we will work to improve those details.


Thank you again for your compliments and hoping to welcome you again soon.
Warmest Regards,

Andrés Maillard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for an Easter weekend. It's normally the weekend after spring break so there wasn't much noise or loud teenagers running around. Hotel staff was very polite and attentive to any special requests. We received welcome cocktails and were escorted up to our room. The room was super clean, the view from the balcony was superb. The cruise ships coming in in the morning and the sunsets from the balcony were the best parts for me.
We went for an evening swim one night and noticed that the hotel had a schedule of events that they plan for their guests. One night was an oceanside Bbq on their deck. The night we went swimming however, they aired a movie ( The road to El Dorado) on a white screen behind the pool. Even though it was an animated film for kids, I felt it fit the ambiance perfectly as we were in Mexico surrounded by the culture already.
Their pool was a little small, but If you're looking for an intimate little hotel, this fits the bill. They also have a hottub right next to the bar. Food was yummy, and taxi's are always parked outside for you. I felt like i was in a luxury hotel, without the huge price tag, hundreds of hotel rooms and people running around.
I haven't gone back to Cozumel, but if I do, I'll definitely be staying at El Cid. I felt so welcome, so comfortable and so at home. Overall, great experience!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
I love reading you had a wonderful vacation. As you well mention, our staff specializes in providing a service of excellence to our guests and serve you, it is our pleasure.
.
We hope to serve you very soon again in order to provide to you other amazing vacations.

Cordially yours.
Andrès Maillard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the El Cid for a week and were quite pleased with our experience. It is not one of the newer hotels, but they do make up for it in the customer satisfaction that they try to provide. One very nice aspect of staying here is that you can dive right from shore and additionally there is a dive shop on site. The pool is rather small, however, while we were there it was not used a great deal, so was not a problem finding a chair. Out at the beach, there are many chairs and cabana umbrellas for free use. One thing I would mention, is if you prefer a more quiet experience, ask to be in the tower, as the two story area of this property is where they have daily activities with an MC on a microphone and it can become rather loud and a nuisance. Overall, the rooms were very clean, and staff goes above and beyond to try to give customers a great vacation experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest:
i am very pleased that you enjoyed all that we and the area have to offer.
We have worked hard to appreciate our guests and visiting El Cid El la Ceiba should be like returning home.
I am glad to note that our facilities, rooms, all inclusive food and drinks and friendly staff exceeded your expectations; we realice that we are in a competitive market and customer needs must remain as a top priority.

Best Regards,

Andrés Maillard
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We took advantage of the all-inclusive at the La Ceiba. We have been to Cozumel numerous times and this was the first stay at El Cid La Ceiba. The rooms were very comfortable and the view great. Food was much to our liking. The staff was very friendly and helpful(Thanks Crisanto!). There is a swimming pool and hot tub for those who do not want to snorkel right in front of the hotel/bar. The hotel is located south several miles south of the central plaza but taxis are not expensive. Numerous dive shops close by.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view since it is a small hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest:

On behalf of all the Staff of Hotel El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel I want to thank you for your fantastic review and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are so glad to know that you had a fun holiday with us and that our staff took good care of you, I will share your kind comments with them specially with Crisanto.

It will be a pleasure to serve you in a near future.
Thanks again for your awesome review and for preferring El Cid Resorts.

Cordially

Andres Maillard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I recently returned from our second trip to Cozumel but our first time at El Cid. We had a great time the first time at another hotel and an even better experience the second time at El Cid. The El Cid exceeded our expectations! Our room was nice, the bed was comfortable, the balcony view was great, the staff (especially Eliezer) were helpful and pleasant, and the resort never felt crowded.

We loved the location, snorkeling, view, and the constant cruise ship activities. We also liked having different options for enjoying the sun and El Cid grounds. The pool area was active and sometimes too loud, the waterfall area was more peaceful and quiet, and the hammocks were comfortable. We also enjoyed the food options (we were on the AI plan). The Dos Equis beer on tap was fantastic (I usually don’t prefer beer on tap but when I do..).

We had a great trip and look forward to returning to El Cid!

Room Tip: I prefer a good balcony view so a room on a higher floor is what I would prefer. With that being sai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest:
We would like to thank you for taking your time and post your comments on TripAdvisor; believe me your feedback is really appreciated.
I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stayed with us.
Once again, thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to see you again in a near future;
Kind regards,

Andrés Maillard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel

Address: Carr. a Chankanaab Km 4.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Cid La Ceiba Beach resort is an oceanfront paradise perfectly in tune with Cozumel's easygoing island rhythms. Explore the island's enchanting beaches, lush mangrove forests and brilliantly colored reefs with amazing sea life. Whether you are in search of a romantic getaway or a tropical setting to reconnect with family and friends, our intimate and friendly resort offers the ideal setting for snorkeling, diving or simply lazing by the pool. Your vacation is sure to be relaxing and authentic experience at El Cid La Ceiba. • Babieca Dive Shop on site with PADI certified dive masters. • Spectacular diving, snorkeling and unmatched ocean views. • European and All-Inclusive Plans • Fly High Adventures, eco-park featuring 6 zip line platforms and six rugged trails • Two swimming pools: a free-form pool with kids' area and a tide pool with cascading waterfalls, rock formations, and lush gardens • Ocean View and Ocean Front Accommodations. • All Inclusive and European Meal Plans • International cuisine in our Oceanfront Restaurants • Nearby shopping at Plaza & downtown area. • Three miles from Chakanaab Park • Only Six miles from Cozumel International Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cid Cozumel
El Cid La Ceiba Cozumel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.