We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Carr. a Chankanaab Km 4.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Great Sale: Up to 55% Off
Ranked #15 of 58 hotels in Cozumel
Houston, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Our stay was at the end of July 2013 for five days with good weather. The hotel is very clean as was our room on the 7th floor of the tower.The air condition worked well and our bed was very comfortable. The maid service is excellent. We had an issue with the TV and maintenance exchanged it for another TV. Programming is very limited and most channels were in Spanish. Our room had great amenities - small refrigerator, microwave, etc. The lighting in the bath area is dim which was a little inconvenient for my wife. The balcony which faces the water provided a spectacular view and it was cool to see the cruise ships come and go. The hotel has a small beach area which is well equipped with loungers and umbrella's thatched with palm leaves. It was very nice. Access to the water, however, is limited by stairs which allow you to step down into the water. It is a bonus for those who like to snorkel but if you are looking for a walk along the beach you would have to go toward town for beachfront. The swimming pool is small but clean and has access to the bar area. We ate in the main dining area most nights and ordered off the menu for the majority of our dinner meals.. The dinner buffet was nice but the food was just average. In contrast, the breakfast buffet was great with made to order omelet's, pancakes, sausage, cereal, and some of the best fresh squeezed OJ and other fresh juices. If management would improve the dinner buffet it would be excellent for all of the dining including breakfast, lunch and dinner. We ate at the Italian restaurant which basically serves pizza - best pizza I have ever had. We had an all inclusive which included food, beverages and alcoholic drinks. The alcoholic beverages leave a little to be desired. They are watered down and the liquor was sub-par, but we had an excellent bartender. We discovered that we did not have the premium package which for a little extra provides a better selection of alcoholic beverages. CheapCaribbean.com did a good job on booking our stay but failed to mention about the premium package. I would ask for the premium package as it is worth the extra expense. The wait staff are very friendly and do an excellent job. They work hard and we always tipped to acknowledge good service even though it was an "all inclusive". One night the staff prepared an outdoor barbeque on the beach. We loved it and the food was very good. They also have a movie night where the staff sets up a screen in the lobby and plays a movie complete with popcorn. Since this was our 10th wedding anniversary I requested something special and they had a bottle of champagne waiting for us when we checked into our room. The rooms have a DVD player but unless you bring your own movies the hotel has no selection. It would be a big plus if management decided to stock several good DVD movies for guests who wanted to hang and watch a movie one night.
Overall the hotel is very nice and we would recommend it and will come back. We were not impressed, however, with our reception when we first arrived. The front desk person, Rocio, was not friendly and was very cut and dry upon our arrival. I am a firm believer that first impressions are lasting and a little congeniality goes a long way. We had a small issue concerning a lost room card key with Rocio, but Andres Maillard, the general manager, took care of the problem without hesitation. Our gratitude to the manager and staff at El Cid for making our stay a memorable one.

Room Tip: We recommend the tower - 7th floor or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest:
thank you for your time writing this review in which you share your recent experiences in our hotel.
We take our comments as an essential way to improve our hotel. I apologize for any inconveniences you encountered. specially with the front desk staff we keep working to fix and improve at many mentioned points so for your next stay you will see some changes specially in the food at dinner and the beverages.

I’m glad you liked our food or most of our food , and the excellent service of our staff. we really appreciate your honest opinion and concerns. We really do hope to see you again on this you home away of home.
Cordially Yours,

Andrés Maillard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    454
    236
    107
    47
    39
See reviews for
220
389
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Looks can be deceiving. This place is great for divers and folks whose sole interest is the water. The service staff at La Ceiba are the absolute best! Some of the nicest people I have ever encountered. The drinks are sub-par. Every frozen drink in thrown into a blender for a minute or less ... sometimes not even 10 seconds. Pina Coladas that look and taste like Icee brand drinks (not even Slurpee consistency) except they also have big hunks of ice. One Pina Colada wasn't blended at all. It was milk-like with 2 ice cubes in it. Food: Pretty good except two things: It was never fixed the same way twice (if you ordered something and liked and ordered it the next day - it was not prepared the same). They don't know what filet mignon is though it was an offering. It was the same flank, rubbery steak offered in a different selection. All food is overcooked regardless of what you ask for. Garlic shrimp was great! A little overcooked as all the food is. Ceviche was perfecto!
Cleanliness: Everything was well-presented but the staff don't seem to look beyond toilet, sink and tub. Shower walls appear to have never been cleaned. There was toothpaste scattered on the walls as if previous occupants brushed their teeth when they showered. There was mold/mildew growing in the creases, top to bottom. Drip stains coming from the ceiling areas down the tiles. I complained during the sales presentation about several items including all named herein, that just didn't meet a 5 star hotel standard as El Cid is supposed to be. I was promised all would be handled among promises of the stars and the moon, however, when I did NOT elect to invest more in the timeshare - NOTHING WAS ADDRESSED whatsoever. I had a major moisture problem in my room that went unaddressed - staff couldn't identify the cause and refused to move me so I had to deal with mildew smell and using my towels as rugs on my floor until I checked out. On the second night, all beds were covered with plastic with no pad (just the thin sheet) so we had to sweat while we slept each night thereafter.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest;

Thank you very much for your valuable time to write this review and for share your past experienced here at el Cid la Ceiba Hotel.
I was concerned about your comments about our drinks quality, I will take a note of this situation and let know to the Food & Beverage Manager to take care of the situation, so we can be
better that´s one of the reason we really appreciated each comments.
Also let me assure you that the mentioned point about the mildew smell it´s already been resolved.
We feel so proud to your encouraging comments regard to our convenient diving location, beach, and also for let us know that we provided an excellent service from our staff,
Again thank you for this review and hoping to see you again very soon.

Sincerely
Andrés Maillard.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This hotel is a beloved diver hangout because it is one of the few locations with protected shore diving (because it is right next to the cruise terminal). But when the hotel also offers $46 all-you can drink plus a resort dive, the cruise people descend during the day. You will return from a 3 tank day to find the hot tub & pool full of very drunk cruise ship people. Not recommended for people who are not diving during the day.
Pluses:
1. Surface diving & snorkeling
2. Large clean rooms with kitchenettes
3. Decent wi-fi but only on lobby & only when cruise ship people are gone
Minuses:
1. Cruise Ship invasions
2. Average food
3. Expensive bar
4. Far from town ($8-10 taxi each way)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind notes. We really feel happy that you enjoyed our accommodations and our diving locations.
It is our intention to provide our guests that unique experience and we will continue to upgrade our services.
Again, thank you for your review of our hotel and we truly hope to welcome you again.

Cordially Yours
Andrés Maillard
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flowery Branch, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is my second time in 6 months staying at the El Cid, and I can not wait to get back again soon. Everyone at the hotel is very friendly and helpful. The entire facility is immaculately clean. The food is amazing and the drinks are some of the best in Cozumel. Best of all, if you are a diver, the on site dive shop is amazing. Juan Carlos is more than helpful in scheduling trips to fit your every need and the dive masters (Luis and Carlos) are awesome. I have been diving for many years all over the world, and these guys are hands down the best, friendly, helpful, and just plain fun to dive with. I am just home from a week with the guys and checking my calendar to see how soon I can get back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest;
Thank you so much for choosing our Hotel for second time. We are extremely delighted that you feel your stay with us and our service was excellent as always ! Our amenities, comfortable accommodations, the amazing food we have and prime location are unbeatable!

It is great to receive all feedback from past guest experiences and your comments truly reflect our daily efforts to be the best in all we do. I will share your comments with our mentioned staff , especially with Juan carlos and Luis at the dive shop.

If there is anything we can do to make your third stay more enjoyable, please don’t hesitate to let us know.

Again thanks for being our guest and hope to welcome you again very soon,

Sincerely
Andrés Maillard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This may not be the fanciest place to stay on the island, but you'd never know it by the way they treat their guests. My friends and I make a regular dive trip to Cozumel every Labor Day week and we return to El Cid La Ceiba every year for the great service, the great food (check out the ceviche), and the great location! Every request made by those in our party was taken care of immediately.

I have only used the on site dive shop for tanks for shore diving, but they are always friendly and helpful to our group even though we are using another operation. Every diver that I have spoken with who did use them rates them highly.

It is true that there are often people from the cruise ships using the facilities, but I think that it adds personality to the week. There are a few who overindulge, but there are many other interesting people to meet and socialize with while at the beach, pool, and bar.

Room Tip: If you're diving, request a room in the Building 2 (the low-rise). That way you are much closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your review. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay at El Cid la Ceiba.
Our objective is to provide the highest standard of Customer Care possible and always aim for excellence in service so it is very satisfying to know that we are doing well.
We will share your comments with all the staff.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in a near future.

Kind regards,

Andrés Maillard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radford, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel was right on the water and one of the few where you can lounge on sand then walk right into the water with good snorkeling. The whole area around this side of the island caters to people coming off the cruises. For example one day there were obnoxious 19 year olds getting wasted.THe drinks are low quality, stick to wine & beer or non-alcoholic. The food is pretty good. We wanted to go explore elsewhere after a couple days so we rented a scooter and were so happy we did. Went to the other side of the island and saw really pretty scenery & baby turtles! Next time we'll stay on the other side and come to the snorkel at Money Bar, Playa Corona which are the best spots for sure. I guess the touristy, all inclusive type thing isn't for us after all but if you want beginner snorkeling right outside, it's great for that. It's a little more focused on eating & drinking than nature -y stuff I guess, but not as bad as some surrounding all-inclusive. Cozumel has awesome Pina Coladas by the way but go to a place where you see locals. As a matter of fact for everything you do go to where you see locals there. Cozumel got so much more enjoyable for us once we figured out how to stay away from the super touristy stuff. Definitely rent a scooter or car so you're not getting constantly ripped off by cabs.

Room Tip: upgrade to ocean view balcony it's so worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your review at El Cid La Ceiba Hotel, We are very glad to be rated by experienced travelers and we are happy to know that you found our food is pretty good and a lot of people agree with you, we are located in the best area for snorkelers and divers.
Like you have mentioned Cozumel has a lot to do and places to go. We happy to know that you had a great time on this Island.
Hoping to welcome you back soon.

Cordially Yours.
Andrés Maillard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, South Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

El Cid has a great staff that truly wants to please the guests. We have stayed there twice now, taking advantage of their all-inclusive package, which is the only way to go. Rooms are great, housekeeping is first rate, and the restaurant and front desk staff do a really good job. The restaurant has first rate food and you can order off the menu for all three meals. The all-inclusive includes all the drinks you can drink and the bartenders mix a good drink. You can even relax in the hot tub while sipping a cool libation at the bar. First Class place, don't miss it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Guest:
i am very pleased that you enjoyed all that we and the area have to offer.
We have worked hard to appreciate our guests and visiting El Cid El la Ceiba should be like returning home.
I am glad to note that our facilities, rooms, all inclusive food and drinks and friendly staff exceeded your expectations; we realice that we are in a competitive market and customer needs must remain as a top priority.
Thank you for this objective comments and great tips for future travelers.
We look forward to hosting you very soon on your third stay.
Best Regards,
Andrés Maillard
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel

Address: Carr. a Chankanaab Km 4.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Cid La Ceiba Beach resort is an oceanfront paradise perfectly in tune with Cozumel's easygoing island rhythms. Explore the island's enchanting beaches, lush mangrove forests and brilliantly colored reefs with amazing sea life. Whether you are in search of a romantic getaway or a tropical setting to reconnect with family and friends, our intimate and friendly resort offers the ideal setting for snorkeling, diving or simply lazing by the pool. Your vacation is sure to be relaxing and authentic experience at El Cid La Ceiba. • Babieca Dive Shop on site with PADI certified dive masters. • Spectacular diving, snorkeling and unmatched ocean views. • European and All-Inclusive Plans • Fly High Adventures, eco-park featuring 6 zip line platforms and six rugged trails • Two swimming pools: a free-form pool with kids' area and a tide pool with cascading waterfalls, rock formations, and lush gardens • Ocean View and Ocean Front Accommodations. • All Inclusive and European Meal Plans • International cuisine in our Oceanfront Restaurants • Nearby shopping at Plaza & downtown area. • Three miles from Chakanaab Park • Only Six miles from Cozumel International Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cid Cozumel
El Cid La Ceiba Cozumel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.