We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good diving getaway.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel to your Saves list
El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Carr. a Chankanaab Km 4.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 50% off Air + Hotel
Ranked #16 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good diving getaway.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

I needed to get out for a week, scuba diving, and found a good deal on El Cid, Cozumel.
The deal was an all-inclusive package that comes with the obligatory plastic bracelet you have to wear.
In July the hotel was not very busy and only a few people were on all-inclusive ... so it was sometimes rather empty during the meals.
I had requested a room close to the dive shop and got the perfect room for that purpose. Great customer service!
The rooms in the lower building come with full kitchenette but are a bit dated... But since I wanted the more convenient location, that was fine with me.
The bed was comfortable and the AC strong enough to counter the 90 degrees outside. It didn't get the humidity under control though. So clothes would not dry - ever!
Pretty much the same outside with close to 100% humidity in July and regular thunderstorms and showers.
The house reef with its plane wreck and plenty of fish is great for snorkeling and diving.
There's a pool but it's not big enough to swim. Not necessary though since there's hardly any surf and you can swim in the ocean
As many others pointed out, the cruise ships land right in front if the hotel which can be quite a spectacle.
Only thing I didn't like about that is that the staff seemed to care more about the well-being of the cruise ship passengers than the hotel guest...
Still overall a good vacation.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments on this page. We totally appreciate your kind comments. It’s great to see you liked our dive shop , rooms and facilities. Thank you for pointing out the service received from our staff.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Cordially,
Andrés Maillard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    253
    112
    50
    39
See reviews for
224
411
25
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seneca SC
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We just returned from Cozumel where we spent a week at El Cid. Our room was tastefully appointed and the constant attention provided by the staff was outstanding. One of the problems we encountered was the mosquitos, so take some mosquito spray. The food was great in the dining room and we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at our property. I am happy to see that the friendly staff , the food and our hospitality were exactly what you needed for your trip.

We hope to welcome you back to stay with us in the future.

Cordially,
Andrés Maillard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Hill, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We spent the week of June 15 at El Cid & what a great choice! Our flight arrived late, but Daniel was waiting at the airport, transportation to El Cid was easy, check-in was a breeze, greatly appreciated the welcome drinks after a long day dealing with airport and delay. Our room was not in the tower section but it was a one bedroom deluxe and more than spacious for the 2 of us. At first it was a slight disappointment not to have one of the tower rooms high up, but after a few days, loved the location, had a great view, we were on the 2nd floor and it was an easy walk to the beach and pool. Didn't have to always use the elevator. We had one patio off the living area & one balcony/patio off the master bedroom. Everything worked great in our room, esp. loved walking in to a cool room after the hot days in Coz. Maid service was excellent - every night we had a "towel animal" on our bed and the room was spotless. We didn't purchase the all inclusive plan, but did have dinner at the restaurant one evening & it was very good. Snorkeling was awesome. Have been to some beach hotels that have a very small roped off area for snorkeling, but not at El Cid. We have our own snorkeling gear so we could go anytime & took advantage of it. Resort is in a good location; we walked to the Puerta Maya pier a couple times when the cruise ships were in. Walked to Ernesto's for dinner; a short distance away and even walked to Mega one night, but it is 3 miles away. Took our time & enjoyed the scenery along the way and took a taxi back for $7. Rented a car one day & Anna at El Cid was very helpful with this. Didn't get a chance to meet David, at Prontatours with El Cid but wanted to thank him for promplty returning our emails when we had questions before our arrival. Wifi worked great. We really had a great stay and would definitely return - at least we hope to some day

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
On behalf of El Cid La Ceiba Beach HoteI we really appreciate and enjoyed your feedback about your staying.
It´s good to know that you found our services and facilities to be so great we always try to keep everything in order .
Hoping to welcome you back soon with arms wide open ”

Cordially
Andres Maillard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Caney, Texas, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The accommodations here were average, we had a one bedroom suite and the master bed was harder than I prefer. The shower had wonderful water pressure, however, it leaked quite a bit no matter how I tried to prevent it. The extra large tub was nice!

Kitchenette was very useful. Pool was nice, beach area nice as well. Dock was convenient for diving (we were picked up and dropped off by another dive shop).

Food was quite expensive if you were not on the all inclusive plan. Not worth eating there, there are too many other local restaurants with better food at lower prices. Mixed drinks were weak for the price you pay.

I did not use the spa, my boys used the gym and said it could have been bigger. They could not get the treadmill to work so not sure what was up with that.

The staff was very nice, friendly and always helpful. I would stay there again, mostly for the location. It is near the cruise docks so plenty of shopping. We ate downtown for the most part...but don't dismiss a small place named Ernesto's right down the road towards town...great food LOW prices for breakfast, lunch or dinner!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We were greeted with a free one night upgrade to a suite and some complimentary delicious fruit punch cocktail drinks. The suite was awesome with two balconies, a great view, and great tub.
The bell hop was very helpful in helping us move to the regular room the following night. Our next room was still very nice for the price with a little patio. The dive shop attached was great although too booked for us to do as many dives as we would have liked, but the dives we did were great. There was some pretty good snorkeling right outside the hotel with a cool plane wreck about 25 feet down (great for free diving!). There were quite a few amenities that we didn't get to take advantage of, with some volleyball scheduled that I didn't get a chance to see. They had a karaoke night which seemed pretty fun while we hung out. The staff even sang a few tunes to help keep things going. There was a really beautiful stone pool with fish swimming around and little waterfalls, in addition to a couple other pools.
My only two complaints would be the cost of the food and that we had to slam the door of our second room to get it closed. Neither one of those were deal breakers, especially since there was some pretty good reasonably priced food right down the street. Overall, it was a great place to relax and set up our home base to enjoy our stay at Cozumel. I would recommend to someone looking for a quiet place to relax while doing some diving in Cozumel. Deals were good on the internet travel sites, but we couldn't get the hotel to extend our stay for the same price. I hope you enjoy as much as we did!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
I hope you are well and thank you for the time you've taken on writing your comment on TripAdvisor, it's for us an excellent tool to keep improving our hotel.
I am very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay at el Cid La Ceiba Resort as well our Services, facilities and snorkeling site.
We already take note on the points you had mentioned and Hoping to welcome you soon for another relaxing vacation.

Warmest regards,
Andrés Maillard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We were with a group of 19 people some scuba divers and some non divers. We all found some thing to love about El Sid La Ceiba. The unlimited shore diving was awesome! Lots of beautiful fish and sea creators to see, Octopi, Squid, Lobsters, Crabs, Sea Urchins, Sea Cucumbers, and all kinds of fish! The diving on the boat was wonderful, very helpful and friendly crew, took us to wonderful dive sites that were not crowded. Zip line was exciting and fun. Staff was friendly and helpful. Beds wonderfully comfortable. The food was plentiful and a great variety. Spa was wonderful. We felt all inclusive was the way to go, never went hungry or thirsty. Air was very comfortable, loved the open air restaurant. Pool was very pretty, but we never used, we love the ocean. Comfortable lounge chairs and hammocks. Activities for everyone or no activities if that's what you like.

Room Tip: If you scuba ask for a bottom floor room so you don't have to haul your gear thru the halls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear guest:

On behalf of all el Cid la ceiba staff thank you for this wonderful review .We are proud that you have enjoyed your stay on our hotel and our incredible area for divers.
A lot of people are agree with your comment the zip line it´s very exciting and fun.

If there's anything else you need for the next time you come to Cozumel, feel free to contact me, I will feel very pleasant to attend you.

Cordially
Andrés Maillard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have just returned from our 11th time staying at El Cid La Ceiba and this hotel just keeps getting better. The minute we land, I get all excited to get to the hotel and see all of our friends. They are always cleaning, no wonder we never see any bugs. Our son and his new bride joined us for a few days at the end of their honeymoon, they like La Ceiba as well. Next year our children and grandchildren will join us for our 50th and La Ceiba will make it special. I can not single out any one person, they are all great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest:
it feels so good to read this kind of words, we appreciate your point of view, it remind us our compromise to keep the good service, I will make sure all the staff knows about your review and we are sure you will enjoy even more your next staying.
And of course we will be more than happy to host this very special occasion.
Again thank you and we are ready to welcome you on this your home away of home one more time.
Sincerely
Andrés Maillard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel

Address: Carr. a Chankanaab Km 4.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Cid La Ceiba Beach resort is an oceanfront paradise perfectly in tune with Cozumel's easygoing island rhythms. Explore the island's enchanting beaches, lush mangrove forests and brilliantly colored reefs with amazing sea life. Whether you are in search of a romantic getaway or a tropical setting to reconnect with family and friends, our intimate and friendly resort offers the ideal setting for snorkeling, diving or simply lazing by the pool. Your vacation is sure to be relaxing and authentic experience at El Cid La Ceiba. • Babieca Dive Shop on site with PADI certified dive masters. • Spectacular diving, snorkeling and unmatched ocean views. • European and All-Inclusive Plans • Fly High Adventures, eco-park featuring 6 zip line platforms and six rugged trails • Two swimming pools: a free-form pool with kids' area and a tide pool with cascading waterfalls, rock formations, and lush gardens • Ocean View and Ocean Front Accommodations. • All Inclusive and European Meal Plans • International cuisine in our Oceanfront Restaurants • Nearby shopping at Plaza & downtown area. • Three miles from Chakanaab Park • Only Six miles from Cozumel International Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cid Cozumel
El Cid La Ceiba Cozumel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.