We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Cozumel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel to your Saves list
El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Carr. a Chankanaab Km 4.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Love Cozumel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Hotel is in a good location. Our room was huge and very comfortable. It was beautifully decorated and we had two bathrooms and a kitchen, dining area and living space which made things very nice. We used our timeshare to stay here so I am not sure if we had a different room than a hotel room. The staff was nice but indifferent. The food was very mediocre. We thankfully didn't choose the all inclusive option as there are so many excellent restaurants in Cozumel to enjoy. The mixed drinks were not very good either not sure if it is the drink mixes or what but many guests mentioned sticking with beer was the way to go. The pool is quite small and is filled with small bugs by the afternoon. The beach area is small but fine unless there were very many smokers and we just couldn't get away from the constant smoke. Especially when cruise ships were in and passengers got day passes. They crowd the area with their laptops and many of them were smokers. We would stay again as the area is so much fun and it makes a good base,but would just not eat there.

Room Tip: Stayed in the tower and had amazing views of the ocean and all of the ships coming and going. The ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest:
I want to Thank you for your review. Your referrals are very important to us to encourage our staff and ourselves.

We work hard taking great care of our guests and will always do our best to exceed their expectations. indeed with the detail mentioned we will work to improve those details.


Thank you again for your compliments and hoping to welcome you again soon.
Warmest Regards,
Andrés Maillard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    282
    120
    56
    47
See reviews for
243
456
29
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
U.s.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I cannot say enough good things about this place. Our fifth stay was our best. If you need a Jeep rental, a good meal, just ask the sweetheart concierge. I would HIGHLY suggest the small cafe six doors down on the same side of the street for authentic Mexican/Caribe food. Diving is just out front, dive operation on premises and lockers for your stuff. You will literally be six feet away from seeing reef species and a wonderful shallow dive. Totally recommend.

Room Tip: Every room in this place is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest:

I want to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback! It is through guest feedback that we assess the standard of our service, and therefore amend it, so as to meet and exceed guest expectations.

We are glad to know that you enjoy our hotel and our food , Thank you so much for your trust in us, and I really appreciated your recommendation.
On behalf of all of us here, we look forward to serve you again in the future.


Warmest Regards,

Andrés Maillard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

It’s been several days since I have returned from La Ceiba. I have been mulling over what to say about this hotel and the rating to give. At first, I thought a “3” was in order, but the more I thought about it and perhaps “4” was more appropriate

We traveled on an RCI exchange and were assigned Room 2212, 75 steps from room door to beach (we were in timeshare portion of 48 rooms)

Pros: - very small – could walk from the whole hotel in under 2 minutes, quiet, no loud music at the miniscule pool, good snorkeling/swimming, lots of beach chairs, although not too many coverings, decent food at restaurant, free WiFi, spa services very good and reasonably priced; room was spotless clean, and good selection of general utensils, coffee maker, toaster, pans, etc; David at Guest Services very helpful and friendly; could take a cooler to the beach with your fav adult beverages; $7 taxi one-way to the “town” including “Mega” for a few groceries; 2 minute walk to “Ernesto’s” a good beach bar which was our second home in Cozumel; sparkling ocean water, clean beach washrooms; no night-time entertainment except for a 1993 movie shown on the big sheet in the pool area

Cons: man made beach the size of my backyard, cruise ships dock 200 feet from the beach, at one point the “Oasis of the Sea” arrived and 5,500 passengers poured off the ship; while this is not a “con” some of the patrons, especially the “crew” were quite loud and obnoxious with their La Ceiba “Day Pass”; they smoked, drank, used the free WiFi, took up the beach chairs during the ship docking; furnishings showing signs of wear: couch with stains, couch pillows a bit suspect, dining furniture showing knicks and wear; biggest issue for me was the ancient air conditioner which you could not adjust to the correct temp and the jet-engine noise from it – either freezing cold or hot; definitely needs updated units

Would I go to Cozumel again? Probably not, but glad it is off my list. Settle on a 3.5 star rating !

Room Tip: Room facing beach are favourable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments and recommendations, which are the best tools to improve all of our services. let me assure you that we are working on the mentioned points because for us our customers opinions are extremely important.
Thank you again t for bring this to my attention
Sincerely,
Andrès Maillard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Excellent resort, extremely spacious accommodation right on the beach
Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

First time in Cozumel and stayed at the El Cid for two nights last Spring. We loved it! The room was nice with a comfortable bed, vey clean and a nice little balcony looking at the water. In the morning the cruise ships came in and they were interesting to see all lined up. We had dinner at the beach restaurant and it was delicious! I was able to snorkle right at the hotel and it was pretty good. The best snorkeling was about a 10 minute cab ride to Playa Corona. It was amazing! The El Cid was great and we really enjoyed our stay!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest:
First at all I want to thank you for your great review and for your preference.
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us .
Thank you also for taking the time to share your review on tripadvisor.
Cordially
Andrés Maillard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg, Oregon
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The resort is either a hotel or a timeshare. My travel mates used the time share option, I used the regular hotel. The resort booked my flight which took the long route from the west coast to the east coast then back west to Cozumel.

At the resort, I was met at reception with a welcome punch drink and gifts. Since I arrived prior to check in time, my bags were placed in a secure location and I was able to relax near the pool. I selected the all inclusive option, it was worth it. My room was ready in a short time. I had a double queen room. The bath had a huge tiled tub/shower. I was on the 11th floor with a great view. The resort has several cruise ship docks located right in front.

The staff from bell, reception, waite, grounds, to house keeping were all very friendly and helpful. It was a wonderful stay and a good time.

Room Tip: The ocean view room locates you into the 12 floor tower. The garden view rooms locates you lower dow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of all the staff of El Cid La Ceiba Hotel, I want to thank you for your nice review and for your visit to our resort.
We are so glad that you had a great stay with us and enjoyed our accommodations as well.
Thank you also for your lovely comments about our hotel staff, and hoping to welcome you again very soon,

Sincerely Yours
Andrés Maillard,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, NC
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

OK, so we've only been here twice as day trip cruisers, but I love the place. You can have an easy 5 minute walk from port (you can see the hotel from port, no problem). Then, we paid $17 each to get in and use all ameneties, and with that you get a $10 voucher towards food and drinks.

We had a few drinks each and they were really good. Bar service was great, they are very appreciative of any and all tips (i think because it is mostly an all inclusive place). They have a pool and swim up bar, chairs on the sand with lots of shade and hammocks. The wife and I stayed on a hammock all day and rested in the shade. They will bring you drinks there as well. They have plenty of sand, a great view of the crystal blue water (and the huge cruise ships are right in front of you - interesting to look at!), but not a real beach, if thats your thing or what your kid enjoys (its like a drop off into the water).

I've never been in a room here, but all the workers seem really good. In fact, we may fly to Coz and stay here in the future just because we really loved it on our two day trips.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear visitors,

Thank you very much for you wonderful review and we are so glad to read that you had a great and lovely time at our resort.

we will be more than happy to host you here at our resort , very soon.

Cordially
Andrés Maillard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel

Address: Carr. a Chankanaab Km 4.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Cid La Ceiba Beach resort is an oceanfront paradise perfectly in tune with Cozumel's easygoing island rhythms. Explore the island's enchanting beaches, lush mangrove forests and brilliantly colored reefs with amazing sea life. Whether you are in search of a romantic getaway or a tropical setting to reconnect with family and friends, our intimate and friendly resort offers the ideal setting for snorkeling, diving or simply lazing by the pool. Your vacation is sure to be relaxing and authentic experience at El Cid La Ceiba. • Babieca Dive Shop on site with PADI certified dive masters. • Spectacular diving, snorkeling and unmatched ocean views. • European and All-Inclusive Plans • Fly High Adventures, eco-park featuring 6 zip line platforms and six rugged trails • Two swimming pools: a free-form pool with kids' area and a tide pool with cascading waterfalls, rock formations, and lush gardens • Ocean View and Ocean Front Accommodations. • All Inclusive and European Meal Plans • International cuisine in our Oceanfront Restaurants • Nearby shopping at Plaza & downtown area. • Three miles from Chakanaab Park • Only Six miles from Cozumel International Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cid Cozumel
El Cid La Ceiba Cozumel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.