We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel to your Saves list
El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Carr. a Chankanaab Km 4.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
Walla Walla, Washington
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Small and Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

La Ceiba is pretty small compared to the other resorts on the island of Cozumel, but that is a good thing. It is not as crowded as the larger resorts, and everyone is so much friendlier, it's a great place to meet people. Not a whole lot of amenities, but their massages are great, their concierge is very helpful, internet and wifi, snorkeling and diving, and the staff is fantastic. Close enough to the city center to enjoy it easily, but away from the noise and commotion.
Beach bar-b-ques, poolside buffets, and the entire dining area overlooks the Caribbean; the menu is not huge, but what they serve is always good; the wait staff and bartenders are great.
If you really want to relax on a vacation - this is the place.

Room Tip: The studios are really okay for only 2 people, even though they say 4. But all the rooms are great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you very much for this wonderful review I wish to thank you for your fantastic comments and for your stay with us.

We are so glad that you spent a nice and relaxed stay in our resort.

Again thank you and We hope to serve you again in a near future.

Sincerely
Andrés Maillard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    253
    113
    50
    39
See reviews for
225
418
26
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The food in the resturant is great and their servers are very attentive. Where the hotel drops the ball is the fact that if you book a Deluxe-Elite ocean front room its not really "elite" at all. The room(not all) but ours was from the 80's. If we had a better room I would reccomend this place to friends and family.

Room Tip: Ask for the newer part!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
On behalf of el Cid La Ceiba Hotel I want to thank you for the opportunity to host your vacation. We are so happy to know that you enjoy our food and the great service provided from our personnel.
Thanks for your comments they are really helpful to improvement in our service, and hoping to welcome you again.
Cordially
Andrés Maillard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Headingley, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My mother and I are El Cid time-share owners. My husband and I visited this resort for 9 days (Jan 12-21st, 2012. We are scuba divers and have dove all over the world (Galapagos, South Africa, Fiji, just to name a few). We have nothing but good things to say about this resort and their committment to service excellence. We both highly recomend the dive shop- Luis is a very focused dive master that always looks out for your safety and well being- with all our experience Marc and I both learned new things from him. The Dive shop manager was also very personable and very flexible. Beautiful marine life-- two eagle rays checked us out and I came face to face with a sleeping nurse shark (thanks to Luis's keen eyes) with a misfortunate mis-hap-- I was about to have a perfect shot-- my camera's shutter came off! Oh well, we'll get some more pics next year!
In regards to check in Bibana, Maria and Rodger always tries to meet any of our needs. The bellmen are only so eager to help (although we like to carry our lugagge ourselves because there will be a time we cannot). Our maid was amazing at creating many animals and people out of our towels-- they were so good that we didn't want to use the towels to wash ourselves! Our favorite animal was an elephant with it's trunk upright (with a flower in it!). I'm able to talk and write in Spanish- and I wrote notes to her daily-- "Disfrutamous sus animales. Que animale va estar hoy?" She would always surprise us!
Marc and I used the all-inclusive program-- it's definitely worth it. We were happy one afternoon to order pizza from the small outdoor section from the restaurant- very good. Marc mentioned that the steak was excellent. Our last dinner here was the lobster- fantastic! The restaurant staff is only there to please guests and one only has to ask. My sister, mother and I visited here before that terrible hurricane and I was so happy to see Jorge, who is now one of the shift managers. My husband would have a few laughs with the other manager- Cristano! The other waiters have all been well trained and personable (Miguel, Alfredo, Juan, Fausto, Carlos to name a few- I can't remember everyone). If one was to get picky, there was one morning that the coffee was only warm (due to the machine)- Marc mentioned it and it was immediately retified.
My husband and I would highly recommend this resort and Cozumel in general to visit-- the people here welcome you with open arms. We're looking forward to seeing the everyone at the resort on our return in Jan 2014!

Sincerely,

Mrs. Lorilee Glenat

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
First at all I want to thank you for your preference and is an honor for us to read your comments about your remarkable stay at El Cid La Ceiba Hotel.
Our Resort as always takes pride in delivering the highly recognized hospitality standards, which leads to exceeding guest expectations .
I will be delighted in sharing your nice comments with the entire team. I can assure you that everyone mentioned on your review, will be really happy to hear that their excellent job and effort is recognized.
Welcome to El Cid Family, we truly and gladly look forward to welcoming you again with open arms very soon.
Sincerely
Andrés Maillard
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

stayed for one week, upgraded to king suite near dive shop. Had 2 air conditioners, extra sink in bedroom with jacuzzi tub, large shower with separate vanity/sink area. Kitchenette included microwave, refrigerator, stove (2 burners) with plates, pots, pans, etc. Our maid was delightful, creating animals with out towels each day like cruise ship. Only downside was the bar & restaurant...fortunately did not do the all inclusive so didn't affect us. Drinks were weak, never tasted any liquor in mixed drinks. Tried dinner once, food was mediocre. Would not want to eat & drink there every day. Concierge (David) was very kind & helpful. Enjoyed spa treatment with Diana.

Room Tip: we liked suite near dive shop, no elevators required, easy access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear guests:

On behalf of all the staff of Hotel El Cid La Ceiba thank you for your review and for your preference.

We sincerely regret that you unfortunately not liked our food and drinks but you enjoyed your staying with us.
All the reviews good and bad are shared with our team and help us to improve our resort and service. we are commited to improve day by day and we respect all the opinions posted.

We are at your service anytime and thank you again for your comments and for your preference.

Cordially yours
Andrés Maillard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papillion
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This was our 5th stay in Cozumel and 1st at El Cid. We tryed there because the other resort raised there price very much. El Cid was in the area we like and it has high approvel ratings. At first we thought we made the wrong choice because the rooms are a little dated but the longer we were there the better it got. Our room was 4th floor ocean view with an amazing view of the sea, so close we almost overhung the water.The 1st night we left the patio door open to hear the waves. We also got all inclusive elite which was great because we got all top shelf booze and the meals at La Choppa were all complete included, with one lobster for each of us that cost about $45 if we were to pay. We also got all of our lunchs on the beach next to the water. The snorkeling was so good that we did not book a snorleling tour this year. Very easy entry into the sea. The rooms had a safe box free of charge but no coffee which was odd because they had coffee pots. I just went to La Choppa in the morning and got coffee. It was 20 feet from our hotel. Over all it was a great stay and we would stay again The service was out standing from all

Room Tip: We liked the ocean view tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for being part of our beautiful and exclusive El Cid family, We are extremely grateful to be your host again and again here at your home away from home at the Mexican Caribbean. The Guest satisfaction in the el cid resort chain is the most important thing and that is why we strive daily to be able to reach the next level.
we will share your comments with all the staff and once again thanks for sharing your experience at El Cid la Ceiba Beach Hotel.

Waiting to welcome you again on this your home away of home very soon.

Warmest Regards,
Andrés Maillard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TULSA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We spent the day here from a stop on our cruise ship. I cannot say a lot about the rooms since this was a day pass. The outside activities are great!!.The drinks!!!!!!!!!My gosh my wife about had to carry me and the brother-in-law back to the ship. They kept them coming to us all day. The food was very authentic and great..They never quit bringing it out to us too. The whole place was very neat and clean. All of their snorkeling equipment was great. Had a wonderful time and we are going back in March of 2013 and taking the kids this time. It is owned by Wyndham now and we are time share holders with them. We will for sure be going back more and more. The staff was very helpful and friendlly. Cannot say anything bad about this place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear visitors
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel El Cid La Ceiba Resort, I would like to thank you for your amazing review and for your preference.
We are so glad that you and your wife had a great day in our resort and a lot of fun in our facilities.
It will be a privilege to serve you and your family again very soon and thank you again for this wonderful review .
Kind regards
Andrés Maillard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California girl lost in Yucatan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The hotel was fantastic, I had a really good time at mardi gras. The sea at the hotel its awesome and the view during the meals was fantastic. I totally recommend it, you mates will have the time of you life!!!!

Room Tip: I recommend the rooms that are in the tour and with view at the beautiful sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest:
I would like to thank you for your nice review and for your stay with us.
We are so glad that you had a good time and great holiday in our resort.
Thank you also for recognizing that our food are delicious and fantastic.

Truly Yours,
Andrés Maillard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel

Address: Carr. a Chankanaab Km 4.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Cid La Ceiba Beach resort is an oceanfront paradise perfectly in tune with Cozumel's easygoing island rhythms. Explore the island's enchanting beaches, lush mangrove forests and brilliantly colored reefs with amazing sea life. Whether you are in search of a romantic getaway or a tropical setting to reconnect with family and friends, our intimate and friendly resort offers the ideal setting for snorkeling, diving or simply lazing by the pool. Your vacation is sure to be relaxing and authentic experience at El Cid La Ceiba. • Babieca Dive Shop on site with PADI certified dive masters. • Spectacular diving, snorkeling and unmatched ocean views. • European and All-Inclusive Plans • Fly High Adventures, eco-park featuring 6 zip line platforms and six rugged trails • Two swimming pools: a free-form pool with kids' area and a tide pool with cascading waterfalls, rock formations, and lush gardens • Ocean View and Ocean Front Accommodations. • All Inclusive and European Meal Plans • International cuisine in our Oceanfront Restaurants • Nearby shopping at Plaza & downtown area. • Three miles from Chakanaab Park • Only Six miles from Cozumel International Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cid Cozumel
El Cid La Ceiba Cozumel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.