We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy with our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Carr. a Chankanaab Km 4.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 58 hotels in Cozumel
Weeping Water, NE
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very happy with our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We recently stayed a week at the El Cid la Ceiba hotel in Cozumel. We have stayed at a number of all inclusive in Cozumel over the last few years. This hotel was reasonably priced, the service was great, there was only one restaurant but the food was fresh and tasty. The only AI food we have had that was better was at the Palace. Our room was clean and we felt secure at all times. The bed was very firm, on par with most of the hotels we have used in Cozumel.

The beach was uncrowded even on days with day trippers from the cruise ships. Most days there were cruise ships parked out front we enjoyed watching them come and go. The beach service like the service in the restaurant was fantastic.

Snorkeling was good right in front of the resort, lots of fish. The only improvement I would suggest is eliminating the 90 minute limit on snorkel gear. I usually leave my fins at home to save luggage space, next time we come I will bring my own.

We will come back for sure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments about your recent stay at our Resort. We apreciate your kind words about our premises and our staff services, your feedback help us very much to keep working and make our best in order to create great experiences to our guest that can be remembered for long time.
We are ready to welcome back you very soon at this “your home” in Cozumel.
Warmest regards,
Andrès Maillard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    452
    234
    106
    46
    39
See reviews for
218
387
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
OMAHA NE
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at El Cid during mid-January...second time in ten months. Although they have a new general manager (Andres) since our last stay, we didn't notice any major changes. I would prefer that Andres have a bit more face-to-face with the guests as did his predecessor, Salvador (great for public relations and hearing first-hand the guests' concerns).

El Cid is an older property but the rooms have pretty much kept up with the times and are very clean. Any remarks about bugs are unfounded in our opinion. Nor did we note any broken glass around the beach area.

Do not expect any night life at this resort. The "older" crowd seems to flock to this hotel...although there are families with kids, my guess is the average age is in the mid-fifties.
Many are returning for their 5th, 6th and 7th time (and more). The clientele seems to be on the "higher end" but nowhere near snobby!

We did the AI and totally enjoyed it - the food is as good as any we've had at an AI. The breakfast buffet was fantastic; most other meals were a la carte from a substantial menu.

Service is the hallmark of this resort. Special thanks to Miguel the bartender (always be nice to the bartender!). It is nice to be remembered in the restaurant by the captain, Chrisanto. There is a great staff including Luis, Armando, Juan, Eliezer and hard, hard working Vicky.

Probably the weakest link is the front desk: aloof and indifferent! 'nuff said.

We would like to return in the fall.

OPT

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean view. Rooms in the tower are newer - the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We just returned from El Cid last week. It was an excellent place to stay, it is located near the middle cruise port so you are far enough away from the southern port (busy tourist trap) and only a 3-5 min drive from the downtown area. The hotel staff was fantastic, Hotel Manager Bibiana and desk clerk Roger helped us out on our first night. Our room had a slight odor (to be expected it is a hot steamy island after all) and after a night out on the town I approached the desk and asked if they could help us locate a better room. Roger called Bibiana at around 10:30-11:00 PM and spoke with her, she told him to look for available rooms, by morning time we had a brand new room that smelled fresh and clean. They were very helpful and courteous. Our room had a queen size bed, working TV and a nice clean bathroom, the cleaning staff does a great job here. The hotel itself is always well maintained, clean and friendly. The beach area is amazing as well, waiters walk around all day offering you drink and food menus and are very quick to bring you your orders. The hotel offers an all inclusive package but we declined, the rooms have a hot plate and fridge so we made our own breakfast and lunch there, also we stocked our fridge with beer and bought a cheap cooler from the Mega for our daytime beach drinking. Downtown has great food options so i would encourage you to try to eat out as much as possible. All in all this was a great value, the staff was very friendly and responsive. If you are respectful and courteous in Cozumel you will be treated with the same respect and courtesy. Can't wait to come back to this amazing island next year.

Room Tip: People say the new tower was nicer but I couldn't tell a difference, just don't pay for a oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest:
On behalf of El Cid La Ceiba Hotel, thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. It is through guest feedback that we assess the standard of our service and therefore improve and exceed guest expectations.

Thank you also for highlighting the service you received at the front desk, Housekeeping service, the restaurant staff and the public areas staff, I am glad that all of our staff was helpful and ready to welcome back you very soon for another marvelous vacation.


Kindest regards,
Andrès Maillard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Small hotel with reasonable rooms, good service, happy people. Cruise ships dock next door at the International Pier and when they are in the area is bustling, but you can't get into the shops, Senor Frog's (whose music and partying fill the air), etc without a Ship pass ID. Seems like a tease to have all the activity so close and you can't access it, but the passengers and ship crews utilize the El Cid facilities (pool, restaurant, spa, beach) with day passes. The service doesn't seem to suffer and we only had minor problems with pool side chairs and the heightened activity is a change of pace and its nice in the evening when it all slows down. We enjoyed going for an afternoon snorkel and then having a drink in the bar side hot tub as the cruisers headed back aboard ship. The maid service didn't have bottled water to replace the one bottle provided for a 7 night stay, nor did they have coffee. Maids did a nice job with cleaning, but one was a little ambitious and threw away several days worth of receipts that were neatly stacked on the table. We selected this hotel becasue they didn't require all inclusive, since we wanted to eat and party in town. Check your reservation to be sure you get the buffet breakfast and not just a very limited continental. The buffet is an additional $5, but the breakfast was good. We had a couple of other simple afternoon meals..grilled fish and guac and they were quite good. Being next door to the pier, convenience stores and shopping (outside the Int;l area) are everywhere, but close early when the ships leave. Car rental is available at the pier which was very convenient for the few days we rented an Avis car to tour the island. Again, the staff is very friendly, the rooms reasonable, location convenient, easy ride into town and once we understood and got a feel for the activity levels (from the cruise ships), we had an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest.
We feel honored that you have chose El Cid La Ceiba to take a vacation.
It is most rewarding to learn that we met your expectation and provided you a very comfortable stay. I also want to thanks for your positive comments about all our services provided from all of our staff.
At our resort we have only one main concern which is guests’ satisfaction , and all, from general staff to the top managements we are all having the same objective.
We look forward to welcome and serve you again very soon on this your new home away of home in the Caribbean.
Cordially
Andrès Maillard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We love this place being going here for 25 years has changed liked it better when it was a hotel not time share to many buffets . Have gotten away from authentic food . Still the same staff tho doorman has been ther 30 years always carries r luggage . He is a good man. The owl is the best waiter likes to have fun . And thats what its about for us having fun .

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Upon arrival I was informed the king size bed wasnt available.. The hotel was half empty the entire time. I later realized they were waiting for me to upgrade the room for an additional charge... Right...
The matresses are covered with water proof covers, tossing and turning will make a squicky sound. There is no coffee maker in the room, the restaurant's coffee is chewable. the marble tub is the only nice feature because there is no ceiling in the bathroom, instead there are bunch of wood sticks put together to form the ceiling but you can still see the plumbing, made me feel there are bugs lurking over me. The continental breakfast is consists of a toast, coffee, juice and a small fruit bowl brought by the waiter , the access to buffet will be an additional cost of atleast $5 per person. Very small variety on the menu. Dive shop on premises Biabeca is more interested in renting snorekling gear to cruise ship people. This place is tired, overrated, the staff is obviously hurting maybe by lack of business but they are trying...this place is a huge waste of money...

Room Tip: Additional $150 and the coupon from the $600 hotel credit will get you an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for this review.
As previously mentioned in other reviews all comments good or bad it give us an opportunity to improve in all shapes and forms.

And I just want to mention that our breakfast buffet is one of the bests in the Island with more than 20 different options of meals, it is a shame that you didn’t try it worth every cent of those $5 dollars that you mention Thank you very much



Cordially

Andrés’ Maillard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln RI 02865
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Small hotel on the water ,it has a man made beach with plenty of shade if you want it.No fighting for chairs and papalas(PLENTY) No early risers to secure chairs and palapas, they had plenty. 2 small walk in areas for access to beach.Snorkling is very good right in front of resort.Water is calm there. Cruise ships are parked in front of the resort most days. That did not bother me , i really enjoyed watching them come and go. Maybe 3 days of the week the resort gets crowded with cruise passengers but does not affect your vacation because the service is outstanding. They come around constantly checking to see if you need anything and you can get breakfast to dinner on the beach or by the pool without getting up all day!! Service was SPECIAL!! They work hard!! 1 pool and beach server I don't know her name worked NON STOP everyday by the pool and beach. She was outstanding. I went all -inclusive with family and for me it was fine. Food was good not to die for but good. SERVICE in restaurants was GREAT. Christo +Jose (foremen I think because of their jackets and the other waiters jumped when they told them something?) and Paul were Fantastic! Faulso was good. Everybody else fine. 2 types of all inclusive (regular- and elite. $70and $90 US per day but if you don't want it thats okay. No surcharges on some meals ,lobster 1 day and high end liquor if thats your thing.Rooms were very clean and big. If cooking is in your plans very limited, small frig,2 burner stove top . Views from rooms great. Beware of the timeshare people!! Luis was ours. Told him from the start I was not interested but tried to make you feel bad that he supplied transportation to the hotel even though I did it myself free on line 1 way. From that point on he would not even talk to me any time I saw him all week. I needed to ask him a question about Elcid and when I can come back and said I don't know the rules of the timeshare HELLO that is what he does!!!! Everybody else at the resort was more than helpful. Really good location next to cruise ship port shopping and the Brand New ROYAL VILLAGE shopping center across street. Spa was GREAT!!and cheap. Gym was tiny. Sidewalks to walk on for your exercises each direction. Very quiet and relaxful family vacation. ENJOY!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to write this review, our guest comments are a very important to us in helping us become a better hotel and provide quality services. I am glad you enjoyed your staying at our lovely hotel. Here at El Cid La Ceiba we strive to always give the best service we possibly can and I am glad to hear that our staff was able to provided that for you. also I apologize for the last points mentioned let me assure you that we are working on this in order to fixed.

hoping to see you very soon.

Warmest Regards,

Andres Maillard,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel

Address: Carr. a Chankanaab Km 4.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the beach, in the South part of the hotel strip, the renovated El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, located in one of the world's most beautiful and spectacular scuba diving sites in the world, offering the perfect balance of glamour and flair of a first class resort with the laid back atmosphere and attentive service that made us famous. Tone up your muscles at our gym, treat yourself to a relaxing massage or detoxify and cleanse your body at our newly mayan influenced spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cid Cozumel
El Cid La Ceiba Cozumel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.