We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All adds up to a great hotel experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel to your Saves list
El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Carr. a Chankanaab Km 4.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 55% Off
Ranked #15 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“All adds up to a great hotel experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We used to always stay at the old La Cieba but tried other hotels on the island. In May, we hit El Cid La Cieba again and what a nice surprise...it is even better!

Our room was excellent; most Cozumel beds are rock hard, but this one was rather nice. Large room with good size bathroom. Balcony overlooked garden, ocean area.

Service was again excellent. From check in to everything in-between, you can tell the management prides itself on a well trained customer friendly staff.

Food - we had lunch once and breakfast daily and food was over all good. Good choices for breakfast as well as lunch. Pool bar had great drink assortment and staff was attentive.

After checking prices, El Cid was the most affordable by far! With strong service, location and room, it added up to be a perfect choice for our May getaway.

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor to have better ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
“Dear Guest,
We know many guests who have stayed here when it was La Ceiba and they were no so happy , but as El Cid la Ceiba Beach Hotel we had become better, it made us become the best option for your vacations, we truly appreciate your words and we will keep the good work so you can keep counting on us for your next trip, remember, El Cid la Ceiba Beach Hotel is always waiting for those guests who want to enjoy with the best quality service.
“We will be waiting for you”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    259
    114
    50
    40
See reviews for
227
428
26
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Top Contributor
342 reviews 342 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

From the moment you walk in the door you feel welcomed. They put drinks (non alcoholic) in your hand while the bellhop takes your bags.

We chose to have our wedding at El Cid La Ceiba in Cozumel. We were in contact with a wedding planner as a part of our package months in advance making sure every detail was to perfection. Her name was Cynthia and she was great from beginning to end. She was even our photographer for the wedding and afterwards.

We stayed here for 7 nights in July. We arrived a few days ahead of the wedding to have some relaxation before the big day. We had a suite in the tower that had a large bed in one room and a kitchenette and Murphy bed in the other side of the room with 2 bathrooms. The room was very clean and in great shape, and it was cleaned with nice towels in animal shapes daily. The lighting in the bathrooms was a bit dim, but you could open a small window with a view of the ocean and let some natural light in. We also had 2 balconies which was pretty cool. We usually used one for hanging some wet towels and such. After a day or 2 there was a decent amount of bugs that collected on the balcony, but it wasn't too big of a deal. We had a couple of breakfasts on the balcony which was about as good as it gets with the view.

The grounds were kept so clean all the time it was noticeable. Every time I walked to the pool or the restaurant you would see workers sweeping the sand or cleaning the floors. It was definitely nice to never walk on a floor that had been soaked or track a ton of sand around. The concierge was very helpful when it came to the simplest questions and even gave personal recommendations on restaurants and never asked for any money or gave us a sales pitch on any activities. The front desk was courteous the times we had to deal with them. The pool was very nice and warm, but the hot tub was the best being that you could be at the bar while in the hot tub. We took advantage of this numerous times. They had very tasty pina coladas and Congas. They also had people walking around the pool and beach area that asked you if you needed a drink as well. The beach area was very nice and it was easy to always find chairs (or hammocks) if you wanted one. One of the coolest parts of this beach is that there is a built in access to the sea where you can easily snorkel. There is a handrail that you can hold on to with a long rope that you can continue to hold on to into the water. There is a roped off perimeter that is very large that you can swim in. You wouldn't want to go beyond that because that is where cruise ships pull in. There is a ton of fish etc... that you can see in this area. You can swim to another access area on the other side of the restaurant or up to their pier. We have snorkeled in many places in Cozumel and you can see just as much right in this area as you can anywhere else.

After some time snorkeling or relaxing around the pool you can eat in one of two restaurants they have on the grounds. The main one is called "La Chopa" and is set up like a restaurant and is right over the water at one end. The prices are reasonable, especially compared to anywhere else on the island. We ate each type of meal here at least once or twice and were not disappointed. As with each part of this hotel, the staff made it great. The waiters were extremely friendly and always happy to just chat you up or glad to take your picture as many times as you like. I found it funny that you got chips and refried beans with your regular breakfast, but it's a nice touch. The second restaurant was "La Trattoria" and it was a smaller area where you could order pizzas, calzones, etc... I believe they were brick oven or wood fired pizzas. They were different but in a good way. Also, beside the pizza place there was a hut where you could get massage treatments staring right at the water. There was a small area to access the water from here as well. At the opposite end is a nice looking pier which is where we were married.

One thing i've read about is the cruise ship passengers being a nuisance. They were no issue to us whatsoever. They definitely did not "take the place over" by any means. Some people were actually fine to talk to and it never overcrowded the place at all.

Wedding day was made easy with the help from Cynthia. We got in touch with her by email initially and she explained all the options as far as locations and what we wanted for the actual day and ceremony. We opted for the symbolic ceremony because of the hassle of the blood work in Mexico and wedding certificate restrictions the state of Kentucky has. Some times it took awhile for emails to get responded to, and I think some of them didn't go through. If I didn't get a response in a week I would send it again. We met Cynthia the day we got there (Thursday) to go over last of the details and she walked us through where the ceremony would be. For the wedding ceremony itself she took care of my bouquet, flowers, the cake, and even found someone to do my hair the the wedding day. It couldn't have been more helpful! We also picked her as our photographer and I think that made things easier as well. On the wedding morning (Saturday) we decided to have the ceremony held in the morning around 10am. Looking out at the pier in the morning they had already began decorating and had chairs and tables set up. There was even someone sweeping the walkway! The flowers were delivered and the hairstylist came up to my room. Although she didn't speak much English, but she had pictures and worked diligently on my hair. It turned out perfect! I felt like a senorita with flowers in my hair. The only issue was that the pastor was a little late arriving to the hotel (about 15 min). Everything else went great and he did a wonderful job on the ceremony. We couldn't have asked for it to go any smoother. Cynthia moved around to get all the pictures she needed and after the ceremony we drove around the island with her to get some amazing beach shots at different places. We even stopped at a shop that had a large bull named Nino that we got pictures on. So we had some unique pictures no one else had! She gave us a mini tour as we drove and we learned some things about the island we didn't know. When we arrived back at the hotel we had lunch and they had set up a beautiful table for our whole wedding party and we had food and cake that was just perfect! Back up in our room, we were surprised to find rose petals everywhere and swans from towels on our bed. There was also champagne, a fruit bowl, and chocolate covered strawberries waiting for us. It was so great! Later that night we got assistance from the concierge to find a restaurant down the street we walked to and because he had mentioned it was our wedding night apparently we got special treatment and the live music even dedicated a song to us. It was so magical I can't even describe. Love this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer Park, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Dear Travelers,

My husband and I just returned from another week in wonderful Cozumel at El Cid La Ceiba. As many of the other reviews have said, the staff there is wonderful!! Marco helps you get great prices on rental cars. Ester and Heather make SURE everybody is HAPPY. The wait staff in the restaurant cannot be beat anywhere. Eli (beautiful green eyes), Fausto (AKA: Baby), Chris are the best. Virginia (Vicky) works very hard out on the beach to get everybody what they need. My husband is a commercial shrimper and fisherman and knows his seafood. The food at the restaurant was so good. The Tuesday night "lagoon" BBQ, the Wednesday night special of fish with saffron sauce and Friday night Mexican buffet (with Chris's rice milk) cannot be beat!
Juan Carlos of Babieca Dive shop was so great in booking our diving and where we requested to go. We have been diving in Cozumel since 1987. We actually dove three sites that we had never dove before. Go figure!!! The Dive masters Adriene, Raul, and Luis gave the best pre dive instructions we have ever had. They watched the divers very closely for SAFE and entertaining dives. Considering Cozumel is a diver's paradise, El Cid is our home away from home when it comes to personnel. If you want pretty rooms, go to Puerta Morelas, if you want good food, good treatment, clean rooms, awesome diving.... come to Cozumel El Cid La Ceiba.

Deb

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

My parents have a time share and we stayed here at La Ceiba. Very laid back and clean. The pool area was nice and the beach part was nice to lay out in. The snorkeling was awesome, probably one of the best places over all the places we where at in Cozumel. The Restaurant was very good. I love pork and am a sucker for carnitas and they had this meat called Cochinita pibili.........................aaahhh so good. The night life was cool they had circus ole playing one night with the lights in the pool and the other night they had Kareokee which was a blast! Over all good experience will come again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Thank you very much for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us, we just really appreciate every single word your wrote. I am sharing your kind comments with all my staff.
next time you must have to try our baked piglet (lechon al horno), is pork similar of cochinita pibil, But with different species.
Once again thank you and I look forward to see you here your home away from home.
Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

We booked a day pass through cozumelforaday and weren't sure exactly where or what we were getting ourselves into. :) In fact, I'm addicted to trip advisor and we booked our day pass hours before our cruise left so I did not get a chance to double check on here. Though, by looking at past reviews..I would have been excited!
El Cid was within walking distance from the port. In fact you will be able to see it from the left side of your ship. When arriving, we were greated by very friendly staff that directed us where to go and when we could eat (Etc). It was pretty awesome! We walked out on the pier and enjoyed the snorkelling. The facility was very clean and inviting. The food was pretty good! I could definitely see us coming back to stay for more than just a day!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
On behalf of all El Cid La Ceiba staff I want to thank you for your fantastic review and for your preference.
We will share your comments with our staff, specially with the Food & Beverage Department.
We are so glad that you and your family had a great day with us and I hope to see you very soon.Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

I have been going with friends and family to La Ceiba for over 10 years. We go every spring to snorkle. One of the fantastic things about La Ceiba is that the reefs are right outside your window. We just have to walk a few steps and we are there !! The staff is great very helpful and friendly. We will continue to go to La Ceiba every year, it is a wonderful vacation.
Tina Ruiz

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Thank you very much for being part of our beautiful and exclusive El Cid family, We are extremely grateful to be your host again and again and again Your home at the Mexican Caribbean . we`re very glad you enjoyed your staying as always.
Waiting to see you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Stayed for two nights in early may in a one bedroom, all inclusive suite. Room, staff, drinks and food were outstanding. Front desk personnel were particularly helpful and always smiling. Food and service in the restaurant was very good. The location of the restaurant, partially over the water, is spectacular. Ester, the room manager, helped us get the room we wanted in the non-tower section. The new General Manager, Andres, introduced himself and gave us an upgrade to the premium all inclusive package. A really pleasant surprise and much appreciated. True, cruise ships dock right in front of the property, but they are not a problem and actually add an interesting touch. Snorkeling is great and the access is easy. We will be back.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the lower section, easier beach access and views are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
We would like to thank you for taking your time and post your comments on TripAdvisor; believe me your feedback is really appreciated.

I'm glad you enjoyed your staying with us; it was a pleasure being your host
Once again, thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to see you again in a near future;

Sincerely yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel

Address: Carr. a Chankanaab Km 4.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Cid La Ceiba Beach resort is an oceanfront paradise perfectly in tune with Cozumel's easygoing island rhythms. Explore the island's enchanting beaches, lush mangrove forests and brilliantly colored reefs with amazing sea life. Whether you are in search of a romantic getaway or a tropical setting to reconnect with family and friends, our intimate and friendly resort offers the ideal setting for snorkeling, diving or simply lazing by the pool. Your vacation is sure to be relaxing and authentic experience at El Cid La Ceiba. • Babieca Dive Shop on site with PADI certified dive masters. • Spectacular diving, snorkeling and unmatched ocean views. • European and All-Inclusive Plans • Fly High Adventures, eco-park featuring 6 zip line platforms and six rugged trails • Two swimming pools: a free-form pool with kids' area and a tide pool with cascading waterfalls, rock formations, and lush gardens • Ocean View and Ocean Front Accommodations. • All Inclusive and European Meal Plans • International cuisine in our Oceanfront Restaurants • Nearby shopping at Plaza & downtown area. • Three miles from Chakanaab Park • Only Six miles from Cozumel International Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cid Cozumel
El Cid La Ceiba Cozumel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.