We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Charms of September -- 5 Things To Do” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Carr. a Chankanaab Km 4.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great Sale: Up to 55% Off
Ranked #15 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
Houston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Charms of September -- 5 Things To Do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

September in Cozumel is the off season and many do not take advantage of the charms that it offers. To be sure, one will encounter a good bit of maintenance and many of your favorite staff members will be on vacation, but there is a laid back charm that is a bit different than during the busier times ("busy" in Cozumel is still relaxing and laid back). Our visit in September 2011 was very different than our September 2010 visit in which we participated in many of the 200 year Mexican Independence Day (Bicentenario) festivities. 2011 was much more of a typical September in this little gem of a resort. We found that there are 5 great things that many overlook on a visit to La Ceiba in September or busier seasons:
1. A Sunday night visit to Plaza Del Sol in downtown San Miguel. There is always a great band giving a free concert and a very festive atmosphere with the local people and their children. It is a tradition for the local folks to come to the Plaza Del Sol after church on Sunday evenings and partake in the festivities. This is a great event for families and allows you to mix with the people of Cozumel. Even though our Spanish is limited, we never fail to have a great conversation with local residents about the island and its history and culture.
2. Romantic dinner for two on the pier at La Ceiba. This is a very reasonably priced luxury and features a great meal and service.The executive chef for the La Chopa restaurant of La Ceiba is excellent and we had the honor of meeting him in September.
3. A massage at the Cocay Spa of La Ceiba. After 45 minutes of massage you will feel like you have no worries in the world. The price is very reasonable and well worth it.
4. A bowl of pumpkin flower soup at La Chopa. Do not pass up the opportunity to sample this culinary work of art. We have sampled pumpkin flower soup in many US and Mexican restaurants and have found the best is served at La Chopa.
5. A visit to the sales office at La Ceiba. We recommend this especially for first time visitors to La Ceiba. We always meet some first time visitors who have been hijacked at the airport or on the street into attending a "45 minute presentation" at some other resort, only to waste 3 hours fending off some high pressure salesman. La Ceiba does not operate that way. See Dee Landreth or one of her staff in sales and you will receive a very professional presentation on the advantages of joining the El Cid Vacation Club (ECVD) family and you can make some informed choices for the present or the future. Some of the very best advice we have received on our over 20 visits to Cozumel has come from members of the El Cid sales staff (e.g. great restaurants, activities, places of interest, ground transportation, history of the Cozumel, places to avoid, etc.

September may not be for everyone, but there is never a bad time to visit Cozumel and El Cid La Ceiba.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have an ocean view. The rooms on the higher floors of the tower have the best views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salavatore, Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Hola from Cozumel!!! Yes, that year was very special because of the “bicentenario” of independence, many people find that traveling in September, October and even November has many advantages, it`s very relaxing, like we say “muy tranquilo and rico” (very quiet and delicious) and many people enjoy that, the Sunday fiesta is a very important tradition here in Cozumel, it`s when the people get together and have a great time, you can try your best dancing moves with the live music of the band, the dinner at la ceiba pier, what can I say about it, it`s very romantic, and the kitchen staff is really good and they will make you have the most romantic dinner with that view that makes you fall in love with Cozumel and with el cid la ceiba, about the spa, I totally agree with you, before that special dinner, to enjoy a relaxing massage at the beach while you are listening to the ocean sounds or inside the spa with relaxing music, that is what I call a vacation day in Cozumel, pumpkin soup, isn`t it delicious? We love it, also the xochilt soup, try it next time you come back, you will love it too, we also believe we have the best sales staff on the island they are very friendly and professional, our main goal is that you walk out with the same smile when you walked in, we do things different from everybody else, we know about the salespersons at the airport, and we have no business relationship at all, just try to be away from them, that`s a good tip we give you, we only have representatives at our hotel, and we have found out that our guests are happy and pleased with our service, even with our sales department services, we want to make sure our guest know the options we also offer, without any obligation, we really appreciate your comments and we`re looking forwards to have you here with us, muchas gracias!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    246
    111
    49
    39
See reviews for
224
403
23
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern Oregon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We spent a week here as the "resort week" of a cruise/land package. The people were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were spacious and clean. The lighting in the bathroom was very dim, and whenever anyone above flushed, you could hear the water rushing through the pipes, which are below the ceiling, camouflaged by a bamboo pole false ceiling. At $49/person/day the all inclusive was a bargain. There is just one restaurant, and the food is good, but prices are very high ($26 for a hamburger/fries). Our room did have a refrigerator, cooktop, microwave, blender and toaster as well as cooking utensils and service for 4, so cooking some of your meals would also be an option. There is a snorkling area right at the hotel, but the weather was extremely windy with the red flag out almost every day, so we did not experience it. The good beaches are all on the east side of the island, and renting a car would be advised. The hotel is 3 miles from town and the ferry. We walked this one day and took a taxi back to the hotel for about $8. Because of the rough seas, we opted to catch a 20 minute flight back to Cancun ($75.) Saving the price of the ferry and bus or shuttle helped offset the price of the flight. The hotel is next to the cruise ship pier, where everyday 4 cruise ships dock. There were usually 2 ships at a pier downtown as well, so the island is very busy..

Room Tip: I believe all rooms have an ocean view, but the view would be obstructed from lower floors. We were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salavatore, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
We appreciate your comments, we believe our rooms are very romantic atmosphere, many people find it very special and unique, we`re glad you enjoy it, we truly think we have delicious food and the best staff, this combination makes our guest have a great time and to enjoy their vacation even more, I’m glad you found useful what we provide for the kitchen in the rooms, We`re very sad you had bad weather while you were here, and yes, everybody should try our beautiful snorkeling area that we have here in the hotel, we mainly have amazing weather, of course, nobody can manage the weather, but we hope next time you come back to Cozumel you get the most beautiful weather so you can enjoy the second largest and most important reef barrier in the world, and renting a car is a good idea so in that way you can do your own time to enjoy the beautiful island of Cozumel, here at the hotel we have a very professional car rental company, that flight is very convenient but I have to say that many people enjoy taking the ferry, they go to the outside deck and they love the view, we are here with open arms waiting for you again.

salvador sanchez
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

We had a great stay at this hotel. Be sure to get the platinum level when you arrive or book before you get there. It only has really one restaurant but many options for menu items. There is also a pizza place on the outside terrace of the main beach area. It serves amazing lobster pizza. The beach is a small area - The best beaches are on the east coast where one can take public transportation to . We renter scooters and had so much fun exploring the area. It was a bit of a walk to the downtown Cozumel so we found the scooters to be perfect to go to and from & so very easy to find parking :-) The hotel/resort was clean and all the staff very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: the higher the better. The rooms on the south side were the newest and the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salavatore, Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
“We`re very glad that you enjoyed your staying with us, we hope you come back soon to this beautiful island and to this hotel to visit us again, we are also very glad you enjoyed our food, I will let know our kitchen your comments, we will keep working hard now and on so you keep considering us a good option to stay next time you come back.”

king regards.

salvador sanchez meza
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

My wife and I just got back from staying at El Cid La Ceiba. We enjoyed it very much. The staff was helpful and courteous (with only one small exception). The room was clean, the beds comfortable, and they even have a "Pillow Menu" so you can select different pillows if you don't like the ones you have.

The previous reviews about cruise boats being parked immediately in front of the hotel's private beach are accurate (though we actually sort of liked seeing them there). The only downside to the cruise ships, we felt, was the traffic it brought to our beach. Perhaps to draw some of the cruise traffic, the hotel had a DJ set up on the beach during the day and that got to be a little annoying (someone just needed to turn his volume down).

We booked this trip through the RCI timeshare program and were a little worried about getting hassled about buying into more timeshares and vacation clubs and such. The hotel concierge did invite us to one of those 90-minute meetings but it was a genuine invitation--when we declined, he was gracious and didn't push.

Regrettably, we didn't get any diving into this trip, but we did plenty of snorkeling. There is a decent number of fish that hang out right in front of the El Cid private beach and there are steps down into the water there. There's not much for coral right in front of the hotel, though. We also visited Dzul Ha, which had better snorkeling. That cost us $16 in cab fare ($8 each way) and $5 for a locker rental. At Dzul Ha there is a restaurant (the Money Bar) where you can order drinks and food. There are chairs out on the beach and there didn't seem to be any sort of minimum order. We didn't order anything, anyway (we thought the $5 locker should cover us).

We also walked into town to go to the grocery store. It's a fair walk (at least a mile), but it's along the coast so it's pretty. El Cid is too far from downtown to be in the center of everything but it's closer to everything than some of the places on the south shore.

Overall, things cost a little more than we expected for Mexico (not just at the El Cid restaurant but everywhere), but we enjoyed ourselves and would recommend El Cid for people who like to be near touristy-type activities.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salavatore, Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
happy you enjoyed our pillow menu, after a good day at the beach, what is better than to have a good siesta, many people find the cruises a special touch, nice view, and yes, I agree with you that after couple of days, they are nice to see next to the crystal waters of the Mexican Caribbean, our concierge services are very good, we are a professional company, as you saw, and our main goal is that you have a pleasant staying, we hope you come back soon to the beautiful island of Cozumel.”

King regards.
salvador sanchez meza
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ca
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

This place is very nice and clean. Upon checking in, you are greeted with a yummy drink while you get registered into the hotel and complimentary cookies and coffee. The rooms are very nice and clean. Very large bed and very spacious overall. Internet is complimentary, however, it is slow sometimes. If you want a good view of the beach, i suggest you get a room on the 4th floor or higher. They brought us a newspaper in the evening and also some chocolates and a mazapan along with a sweet dreams card. You also have a small private beach, a jacuzzi, hammocks and chairs to sit in. i believe you can even go diving! Room service is very expensive and the portion size is very small, i would not recommend it. If youre in town you might wanna try el palmar restaurant they have yummy food there! Location is semi far from the shops and restaurants but if you take a taxi it is 80 pesos.

Room Tip: the better rooms are on the higher floors as they offer better beach views (:
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

I have to say, most of the staff is very friendly and very accomodating. If you stay in the tower you will have a better stay overall. These are bigger, newer rooms with a nice view of the ocean. In contrast, the room we stayed at was very dimly lit, had very loud pipes that would wake us up in the middle of the night and the room was small and outdated- and there is no elevator. There is one bellman that can help you, but it's rather difficult managing the stairs with a stroller and baby in tow- which was my case.
The food at the hotel wasn't all that great and it's rather pricey. I would definitely NOT recommend getting all inclusive for this reason. I would recommend eating towards the centro (but not on the main strip...the restaurants there are super pricey) where you can find some wonderful restaurants with reasonable prices.

One main reason why my hotel stay was not as enjoyable is because I was supposed to receive "hotel credit" in a certain amount to use at the resort. I was specifically told that I could use this credit for food and drinks and pretty much anything there at the resort. Instead, I received a coupon book that was completely useless to me. You have to spend a minimum (usually around $150-200) to use a coupon, and many of these coupons weren't even for the La Ceiba. It was very disappointing.

Another thing- I wouldn't go on tours using the hotel service. Do your own homework online and save yourself a good $20 per person or more for the same exact tour. They try to make it reasonable if you waste 90 minutes of your day listening to people try and sell you a time share, but I value my time there and instead I spent 10 minutes doing some research online and found the same company they use for a MUCH better rate.

I liked that the rooms had kitchenettes with mini fridges- this was a must especially traveling with little ones. This is a small resort and not super luxurious but the people are quite friendly and work hard to make your stay a nice one. Next time I would definitely stay in the tower...if you can't get the tower then I would reconsider coming here.

Room Tip: Definitely only stay in the tower!! The rooms have a beautiful view, are newer and have elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salavatore, Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
“we are really sorry about those noises, we will make sure our maintenance staff takes care of it so next time you are here with your family you have no problems with it, about the hotel credit, I need to mention that those are some special that are arrange with agencies, many people find them very good and they thank us for them, we have many people using those special, next time you visit us we will give you recommendations about how to use them, about the tours we offer in our travel agency, I must mention we use the best operators on the island and at the mainland, we make sure we work with the best of the best in service, we think our guests would appreciate this more, we also think that your vacation time is important and that`s why our exclusive vacation club invitation is optional and we never push nobody to do it, we just want you to have a great time.

King regards
salvador sanchez meza
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We've enjoyed staying with you so much we are returning for a one year anniversary stay! We're looking forward to seeing you Friday noon!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel

Address: Carr. a Chankanaab Km 4.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Cid La Ceiba Beach resort is an oceanfront paradise perfectly in tune with Cozumel's easygoing island rhythms. Explore the island's enchanting beaches, lush mangrove forests and brilliantly colored reefs with amazing sea life. Whether you are in search of a romantic getaway or a tropical setting to reconnect with family and friends, our intimate and friendly resort offers the ideal setting for snorkeling, diving or simply lazing by the pool. Your vacation is sure to be relaxing and authentic experience at El Cid La Ceiba. • Babieca Dive Shop on site with PADI certified dive masters. • Spectacular diving, snorkeling and unmatched ocean views. • European and All-Inclusive Plans • Fly High Adventures, eco-park featuring 6 zip line platforms and six rugged trails • Two swimming pools: a free-form pool with kids' area and a tide pool with cascading waterfalls, rock formations, and lush gardens • Ocean View and Ocean Front Accommodations. • All Inclusive and European Meal Plans • International cuisine in our Oceanfront Restaurants • Nearby shopping at Plaza & downtown area. • Three miles from Chakanaab Park • Only Six miles from Cozumel International Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cid Cozumel
El Cid La Ceiba Cozumel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.