We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Desserts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Terraza

La Terraza
Rosado Salas and Calle 5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
044 987 869 1991
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 249 Restaurants in Cozumel
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Desserts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

On the night we visited the new location of Prima, we decided to stop for dessert at the old location. While not hungry for entrees; we meet the owner of La Terraza, and talked to him about his place, and his menu. He suggested a few desserts, which we ordered to share at the table - along with a round of drinks. All were amazing. And the drinks were great too! The place was busy, and from the looks of the patrons, and the presentation of the food - no one was disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    26
    11
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sequim Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good food, good location, give this a try!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

La Terrazza, The Terrace, is on the second floor of a building near the Plaza in Cozumel, the site of the original Primas. It's open air and overlooks the street, providing a breeze on warm nights and good local people watching. The service is attentive and the food is tasty and cooked with care, although the portions were more than I could handle. The various sauces offered were quite delicious but the Al Fredo stood out in its creamy cheesiness. For anyone who had loved the first iteration of Primas, which has moved to another part of town and which has lost something in this move, La Terrazza is a real pleasure and excellent choice for dinner.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“OK Food, But Better Dining Available Elsewhere for the Money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We were wandering around looking to try a new place when we happend by La Terrace. The owner was outside and had a good pitch, so we gave it a try.

The owner was very nice, though I think the food was oversold. With each plate or round of bread that was delivered, we were told how good it was and which ingredients were homemade, etc, which ramped up expectations.

The atmosphere was fine. The restaurant sits on a second floor terrace overlooking the street. The tables and chairs were all plastic, like you would find in a taqueria, or someone's backyard. Musicians came through for serenades, just like any other restaurant in the area. The weather was nice, so no complaints.

We started with the conch fritters, which didn't have much of a taste. Main courses come with a choice of alfredo or marinara sauce. They brought us bowls of the sauces along with the bread to help with our decision, which was a nice touch. The alfredo was good, the marinara tasted kind of odd, and the fresh baked homemade bread was just bread.

I went with the recommended Combo plate. It was fine, but for the price of over 250 pesos and the accolades given to it, I had expected something better.

The key lime pie was tasty.

If I was with someone who insisted on going there for dinner, I would have no problem doing it. I'd just try something different. Left to my own devices, however, I would go back to other restaurants on the island with comparable prices and superior food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua,NH
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful and please don't miss this place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

As my friend below said(Teri) this place was great. I am the one who had the Chicken and it was wonderful! The service was great, everybody was friendly. The owner was so nice and made you feel at home. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deltona, Fl
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Don't miss this place!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We spent a wonderful evening here at La Terraza. The service is amazing and the food is even more so!! The owner makes it a point to come and visit every table to make sure everything is going well. There were four of us and we each had something different so we could try each others. My husband had the chicken parmesan and said it was the best he ever had. (and he is fussy when it comes to chicken parm) I had steak Juliana and it was tender, cooked perfectly and served with an wonderful array of goodies!!! Our friends had the lobster ravioli and a chicken dish which they said we excellent. Overall this is a place not to miss while in Coz!! Can't wait to go back!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Terraza also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to La Terraza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Terraza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.