We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leo the Driver was wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tours Plaza - Private Day Tours

Tours Plaza - Private Day Tours
Calle 9 Sur 310 - 5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
9871035504
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 237 activities in Cozumel
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Get away from the crowds and enjoy the Island in a private taxi tour! During 3, 4, 5 or more hours (the duration of the tour is up to you), visit only the places YOU want to see with one of our licenced and very reliable bilingual drivers. You can choose from our 3 different types of vehicles according to your needs: a car for up to 4 passengers, a van for up to 9 passengers, or a larger van for up to 14 passengers. If you are not familiar with the Island, we can suggest some of the most popular sites to visit. Because it is a private tour, if you like one site better than others, you can stay there as long as you want.
Hollywood, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Leo the Driver was wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

A group of 9 Royal Carribbean cruisers hired this company and had Leo for a full day of touring Cozumel. He met us at the designated place and we drove around in an air-conditioned van that was clean and comfortable. His English was excellent and as a "local", he kew the island quite well. We visited the ruins, a local market where we were able to sample a fruit that was delicious but so ugly we never would have tried it on our own. We drove along the sea and had a great lunch with a picture perfect setting, and we drove through town central as well as saw some local neighborhoods. Went to the lighthouse and really got a feel for Cozumel in just 7 hours. Per person the price was much less than the cruise tours and much more inclusive-he was game for anything we wanted to see. Well deserved a tip and a recommendation!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    637
    63
    15
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Castle, Indiana
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Nice way to tour Cozumel with informative driver.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Booked this on the Net prior to getting on our Carnival cruise to Key West and Cozumel. Jerry met us at the end of the shops off the dock just as instructed and took my daughter & granddaughter to the swim with dolphins activity at the park south of town. After we calculated how long they'd spend there, we set a time for Jerry to pick them up about 3 hours later as he took us around the city to an area where he said he lived. It was nice to learn about the local culture, people and sites along the way. Our "station wagon" was an older maxi van with very poor air which made it a tad hot. Later on, we simply rolled the windows down for relief which was an acceptable solution. At our request, he took us on the 5-mile bumpy road back to the San Gervasio ruins which are touted at the best on the island. Some friends of ours suggested going to the less-frequented eastern shore of Cozumel which Jerry gladly obliged. He stopped by one beach resort for my wife and I to check out their menu, but we settled on Coconuts which rests on a 50' "cliff" overlooking the ocean. After a decent mixed Ceviche, we went down the road to an area where sea turtles are being protected along the beach. Jerry turned around so we could actually see and hold these fine small creatures. It was time to pick "the kids" back up at Chankanaab park. By then we'd exceeded our 3-hours for $95, so we picked them up and asked to be taken back downtown to the Hard Rock for a bite to eat before going back to board our ship. We paid Jerry $25 for an extra hour, shook hands, and exchanged pleasantries. Next time we might rent a car for $65, but I'm glad we got this friendly and informative tour guide and driver this time around!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Driver for a Day in Cozumel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We just used driver for a day in Cozumel and had a great time. Leo was our driver and he was awesome ! Service was very professional, and will use it next time we are in Cozumel. Leo was very knowledgable about the island, and took us anywhere we requested to go.

Plan on using them again in March !

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papillion
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Happy cab”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Got to see the island first hand. A little pricey for 2 people maybe better for 4 or more. Got to see the other side of the island where the waves are much larger and found a great eating place right on the water. We learned that the island is 30 miles long and 10 miles wide with about 90,000 people.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful day at Cozumel!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

About a week ago we spend the day at Cozumel, Mexico. We followed trip advisors review and when we got there Mr.Leo took excellent care of us. We certainly encourage anybody to use this company because they are very professional, knowledgeable and best of all flexible as to what fits your needs. Mr.Leo made us feel like one of his Family members. We will ask for him next time we go to Cozumel.
Muchisimas Gracias por siempre les recordaremos!!
Yari & Fam.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tours Plaza - Private Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Tours Plaza - Private Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tours Plaza - Private Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tours Plaza - Private Day Tours to your Saves list