We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent day at the Pearl Farm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cozumel Pearl Farm Tour

Cozumel Pearl Farm Tour
Calle 13 Sur, Cozumel 77613, Mexico
+52 1 987 119 9216
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 220 Tours & Activities in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cozumel Pearl Farm is a family owned and operated pearl farm nestled in a beautiful white sand beach on the north shore of Cozumel Island. Being the only active Pearl Farm in the Caribbean, Cozumel Pearl Farm is located in a natural protected area that remains pristine and untouched; it is only accessible by boat since it is surrounded by the mangrove lagoon ecosystem on one side and the fascinating turquoise color waters of the Caribbean on the other.Conceived as a project of research and development of the species Pinctada radiata in 2001, this spectacular place opened its doors for ecotourism in early 2012 with the purpose to promote responsible travelling and preserve the area in its untouched state for future generations to enjoy.Be one of our exclusive guests, enjoy this unique experience and become part of our project.Off the beaten path... Where tourist become travelersJoin us on this authentic and unique experience.Let us share our piece of paradise with you and our passion for nature. Enjoy the amazing landscape untouched and in pristine conditions.Ideal destination for those who want to experience sustainable ecotourism away from crowds.We like to have small groups, so we can give you the best personal attention.
Rockport, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent day at the Pearl Farm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We did the Pearl farm tour and absolutely loved it! It was very interesting to see how they started the biz and how they rebuilt after Hurricane Wilma. The process is very time consuming and the owners have a passion for what they do.

They take you snorkeling over the oysters in the Caribbean that are being cultivated and after that you have some beach time / exploring time while they cook you a fantastic burger. All the drinks (beer, soda, water) are included.

I especially enjoyed swimming with Gaia, their chocolate lab. They have a huge covered palapa that has plenty of shade and restroom facilities with running water. It's amazing to see how everyting they have there was brought in by boat. It's a beautiful place to spend a full day! Can't wait to go again!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
IA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Great Time, a Hidden Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had a great time at The Pearl Farm! It was relaxing, quiet, interesting, and fun!!!! We really enjoyed the snorkeling and time on the beach. So much great info on the pearl farming, hope they have great success in their endeavor. They provided us with a yummy lunch, the burgers were excellent. It was great to get away from the busy tourist areas. It is a nice quiet hidden treasure, that hopefully more people will discover and enjoy. Well worth it!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Had a Blast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We had a blast, very interesting and loved having free time on the beach, the lunch was great! I would love to go back in a few years and see what/how they have updated everything! The dog was hillarious, ran on the beach with him!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Cozumel excursion off the beaten path”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Cozumel Pearl Farm Tour

Date: March 21th 2013

From our ship we took taxi to Aqua Safari Pier; The trip started around 9:00am on time

cost $110 USD per person + tips

Our guide was Isabel and two fellas who captained the boat, cooked lunch and took care of us;
and there was Gaia, a well mannered brown Labrador, who was either swimming or anxiously waiting to get back into the water; only exception being lunch time – she did not take her eyes off my hamburger.
Our vessel: La Ostra
We enjoyed a day of snorkeling, relaxation and learning; we relaxed on a private beach; we learned about pearl farming; we snorkeled over the oyster farm and saw some beautiful tropical fish; we experienced the spirit of sustainable tourism. The value for my money here represents a vote for sustainability-- a great value for us and for our children. Great tour!

And oh yes, do bring bug spray.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskego, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent tour & locatioin!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The pearl farm tour was by far the most relaxing, beautiful day spent in Cozumel. Small group was very nice to have some peace and quiet on a beautiful beach and a great lunch. Glad we decided to spend our tour money at this private, research & development facility than with the corporate, crowded mass attractions.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cozumel Pearl Farm Tour also viewed

 

Been to Cozumel Pearl Farm Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cozumel Pearl Farm Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.