We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“higly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Save Saved
You added Casa Mexicana Cozumel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Rafael E Melgar 457 Sur entre 5 y 7, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
California, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“higly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for five nights, and were very much satisfied. Right in the center of downtown Cozumel, the location is perfect. We got a room with ocean view and despite what other reviewers wrote, it was not noisy at all. The room was clean, with good air-conditioning, and a spacious bathroom with all the amenities.
The best part was the breakfast buffet. They serve tons of fruits and many choices of warm food and freshly squeezed grapefruit and orange juice. Breakfast is served in the open terrace and the atmosphere was great.
If you want a secluded, everything included place, this is not a place for you. For example, the hotel lobby is used for a conference and meeting, and people come in and out on that occasion. But if you want a modern, clean room, convenient location, and great breakfast, Casa Mexicana de Cozumel is THE place for you!! We will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    154
    24
    11
    5
See reviews for
54
239
39
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2009

This hotel turned out to be perfect for us. We wanted something that was affordable, close to downtown, and close to our dive shop, but without sacrificing on quality. The Casa Mexicana fit the bill perfectly. It is located very close to the main square in the downtown area and 50 feet from our dive shop, Aqua Safari and their pier. The facility and rooms are very nice, totally clean and well-maintained. The morning breakfast buffet was just awesome, and the staff who served it were fantastic. This hotel is not a 5-star all-inclusive with a huge pool, but if you are in Cozumel to dive and explore, it is perfect. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2009

We had a wonderful time at Casa Mexicana Cozumel. The hotel was very clean and we had an awsome view from our room. The staff was wonderful and the breakfast was great. In the afternoon we would sit by the pool and have a couple of drinks at the bar. It was a lot of fun to "people" watch!! We will be back!! I would recommend this hotel for anyone. The price was right and in such a great spot of downtown!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2009

My husband and I have been to Cozumel many times but this was the first time we stayed at Casa Mexicana. I have to say we were very pleasantly surprised. We normally stay at another boutique hotel, but this will be our spot from now on. Anyone who has been to Coz knows that the beds are pretty hard. The beds here were pillowtop and quite comfortable with more soft pillows than you could possibly use. Every morning beginning at 7:00 they put out a beautiful breakfast buffet with pretty much anything you could want. We dive and it was always a problem finding something to eat early in the morning, unless you could get by on a few pastries and coffee. The buffet is great! Just about any time of day or night you would see some of the staff cleaning something. The place was always spotless. The maid service is just as thorough and our room was always clean with fresh towels and restocked with toiletries everyday when we got back from diving. Thanks Manuela! The rooms are very quiet and comfortable with a very nice balcony area and plenty of places to hang our wetsuits and such. We were there during Carnival and had a great view of the parades from our balcony, yet when we were ready to go to sleep, all we had to do was close the sliding glass door and it was extremely quiet. They also have free WIFI in the lobby, but if you don't bring a laptop, they have a computer room with about five computers, also free. I never had to wait for a computer either. I can't say enough good things about this place, and the Staff is the best and very helpful and friendly. You can't go wrong staying here. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, MA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at Casa Mexicana for a quick weekend getaway and loved it. The room was spacious, clean and we had a decent view from our little balcony. The bed was extremely comfortable and the towel-gami was a cute thing to return to every afternoon. The breakfast buffet was AMAZING! Location was excellent - within walking distance of many restaurants, shops and an easy walk to the ferry to Playa del Carmen. The staff couldn't have been nicer. I'd love to stay again soon! If anyone is looking to get scuba certified (I did!) work with Scuba Gamma - an excellent dive shop right around the corner. The instructors and owner guided me through the process and I am now a convert - very professional, fun and easy to work with group. I can't recommend them highly enough.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Pool was tiny!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Valley
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2009

I have often eyed this place when visiting Cozumel and have stayed at her sister hotel, "The Colonial" just off the square. Casa Mexicana is a great place to stay for seasoned visitors, divers, and business people. It is not a place for those who expect the "all inclusive" type of vacation. It is right in the thick of things, in town, which makes it great for people watching. Yep, the pool is small and cold, but if you want beach and pools, there are plenty of oceanside hotels that will welcome your company as long as you purchase a few drinks during the day. The bar is staffed as necessary, all you have to do is request a bartender at the front desk. The beds are the most comfortable I have ever experienced on the island, the place is spotless, and the AM buffet was excellant. There is a coffee bar in the lobby where you can grab an early morning cup and watch the island wake up from the lovely common veranda. The "city view" rooms don't offer the greatest view and there is the occassional barking dog and crowing rooster, but this is Mexico, not Florida. Diving with the nearby Aqua Safari was great, they were accommodating, reasonable, and friendly Their pier is within steps from the hotel.
I love this place and wouldn't hesitate to stay there in the future.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — caught a late flight, no hospitality accommodations, but did have a secure luggage hold
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis, MN
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2009

Casa Mexicana is a cool building right downtown. The rooms are average, but a bit noisy. We could hear a neighbors dog barking a lot one night. We had a door leading to the next room that sound passed effortlessly through. The breakfast tasted ok and a pretty good deal considering the cost per night. The do-it-yourself carrot juice was a big hit. Bar was never staffed. Pool was a joke, more like a fountain, but okay just to jump in to cool of from sunbathing on the front balcony. You can walk to restaurants, but have to rent a car or scooter to get to any beach. Chankanaab was our favorite beach.

Stayed January 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Mexicana Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Address: Av Rafael E Melgar 457 Sur entre 5 y 7, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Mexicana Cozumel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Casa Mexicana Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Mexicana Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Hotel Cozumel
Cozumel Casa Mexicana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Mexicana Cozumel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.