We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Casa Mexicana Cozumel to your Saves list
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Rafael E Melgar 457 Sur entre 5 y 7, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
Upstate New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The staff there is great. Anything we needed they tried to accommodate. It is within walking distance to anything we wanted to do downtown. They gave great recommendations for places to eat in the square and around town.
The only draw back we had was the pool was out of order while we were there.
If you are looking for a place to relax but in the middle of everything you have found it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    159
    25
    12
    5
See reviews for
56
244
40
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Central Nebraska
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This was our second trip to Cozumel. Last time we stayed at Cozumel Palace, and while a wonderful place to stay, we wanted to put more of our money towards diving and less on lodging. IMO, Casa Mexicana is just as nice but is much less expensive.

Our room was clean, roomy enough for the 2 of us and our things and the beds were pretty comfortable for hotel beds. For the most part the noise level was tolerable other than the breakfast clatter and when a very large group of teenagers checked in for some festival going on. They were quiet at night though so we weren't bothered much. The soccer fans outside were the loudest when they were celebrating a last minute win. Lucky for us we didn't want to get to sleep early that night.

The included breakfast buffet was okay, I just wish they offered bacon on a daily basis (they only had it one of the five mornings we stayed). The made to order eggs and pancakes were great though and the fresh OJ was delicious!

The central location was ideal so we didn't have to pay a taxi anytime we wanted to find a place to eat. We got a kick out of the "hawkers" that tried to get us to "buy something for the lady" each and every time we walked by their shops. After a few days they got to recognize us and knowing we weren't going to stop they came up with some very humorous comments!

Everything went very smooth during our stay. Housekeeping was awesome! Every day we'd come back to our room and there would be a different towel art for us to enjoy. We called down to the front desk one day to inquire about an ice machine and they brought us up a bucket full right away. Alex at the front desk even called to make sure we got it quick enough!

We only enjoyed the "pool" once but it was nice to just relax with a wonderful (and potent!) margarita from the bar without a lot of people around like at larger resorts with larger pools.

We hope to return to Cozumel again next year and will certainly consider Casa Mexicana again (unless we decide on a condo rental instead).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hale, Mi
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was our second time here and once again had a great time. The staff is very friendly and very helpful. We stayed the first night in a city view room the upgraded the rest of the week to the ocean view. (what a view) The staff made it simple and easy to upgrade.

Very close to everything. There are a lot of great rest. close by with reasonable prices.

Will go back again.
Thanks Casa Mexicana

Room Tip: Try to get the top floor ocean view. All though all the ocean view rooms are nice the top floor give...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Lick, PA
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We have stayed in Cozumel for 6 years straight and we have found a new favorite. All inclusive are great but you can't eat out at all the great local restaurants so we have decided we have to stay somewhere that gives you an awesome breakfast and then we eat locally for our other meals. We were greeted when we arrived by Jaime. He is like an old friend. He actually remembered my daughters name from our visit the year before. We stayed at a sister hotel but were able to use the breakfast at Casa Mexicana. He brought us cold yummy drinks that were very welcome after a day of traveling.

The front desk people are more than accommodating. They also gave us cold wash cloths to wipe our faces upon arrival. I had emailed ahead of time asking form a general area for our rooms and they were perfect.

I have NEVER seen a hotel anywhere as clean as this hotel. I could not have been more impressed. You would be hard pressed to find smudged glass or dust anyplace. Really.
Ok, breakfast is the best on the island. Santa and Felecia make great made to order eggs or omlets and helped us with our spanish. I have added Bacon to my list of spanish words. Jimy was great and always there to lend a hand. Jaime is the best employee that Casa Mexicana has working for them. He is quite an ambassador. I would return just to see him.

Our housekeeper was great. The towel art on our beds were fantastic. Every day a new item was waiting. My daughter (age 20) is still talking about the monkey hanging from her bedside light on the last day. We left items of value out and never even considered there would be a problem.

There is a large TV in the room that we never turned on. A small refrigerator perfect for juice or keeping water or beer cold. There is a complimentary bottle of water in the bathroom and the Mega is very close if you need more. You can also get more for $1 each from housekeeping.

Our king size bed was the largest bed I have ever slept in. It had to be larger than standard kings. There was a small table and chairs and plenty of room for your suitcases. The closet has plenty of hangers and a small safe. Water pressure and temp was great. There is a sign on the sink stating that all water is purified and we used it to brush our teeth. I would not drink it but I thought it was fine for brushing. Our room was 405 and we were hight enough the breakfast area to not be bothered but then we were up daily at 7 to go diving. We had a partial ocean view and loved that we could dry our dive gear on the balcony. Our children were in 315 which had double beds and they overlooked the city to the east. They enjoyed sitting on the balcony and could see our rental car from their room at the Punta L.Mall parking lot.

I would give this hotel a 95/100. My only complaint is that you get sporadic Wi-Fi in the rooms and you get booted off a lot. My complaint is that you have to put the password in every time you are booted off. If I did not have to put the pass word in each time, it would have been less inconvenient.

The pool is great for a dip, but you can't really swim in it. We would get wet and cool off and then lay out on the lounge chairs to get some sun. That was perfect of our needs. Gasper, the bar attendant was very pleasant and I enjoyed taking with him. You will not meet anyone at this hotel that does not go out of their way to be pleasant.

We will definitely stay here again. Hope my review helps someone and that this hotel it doesn't become so popular that I can't get a room next year.
Feel free to contact me with any questions. Book this hotel and be sure to tell Jaime that Karin sent you......

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed recently at Casa Mexicana for five nights. This hotel is located directly on the malecon with a wonderful 'sea view' from the balcony/pool area. Check in was quick and we were welcomed by Jaime with 2 cocktails (nice reception). Our room was located on the third floor and we had partial ocean view from our balcony. Rooms are very clean well appointed, TV, air, safe box in closet. Very comfortable bed and nice size bathroom with amenities. Breakfast buffet was included in our package and was delicious! Location convenient for shopping, dinning, snorkel excursions. Easy walk to the passenger ferry and plaza. Highly recommend this hotel and its friendly welcoming staff!

Room Tip: Ask for partial ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as we were diverted from Cancun Airport when trying to land during a tropical storm. Travelled by Virgin Atlantic and stopped at Cozumel for refuelling but due to adverse weather we had to stay here for the night. A nightmare at the airport with a 5 hour wait on the Tarmac, followed by a 6 hour wait for our luggage. All 468 passengers were allocated different hotels in Cozumel. Arrived at the hotel at 2 am in the morning during the storm to be welcomed by a helpful team at the reception desk. Due to late time, we were given tea and coffee and a quick check in. Stayed until early evening. A great hotel with helpful staff. Food was of high quality. We were made welcome due to our unforeseen visit. Thank you to all staff for a memorable visit to a fantastically run hotel.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The breakfast can't be beat; variety, quality, first rate filling meal. I'd even come to this hotel as a paying guest just to have the breakfast, even if i wasn't staying here. Great for divers, couples and possibly the family (limitation being the lack of a sandy beach or a great big pool) they do have a small pool overlooking the sea. However most do not come to hotel for sandy beach or pool.
Centrally located and convenient to many great dive shops such as Cha Cha Cha around the corner on Calle 7 Sur.

.

Room Tip: City views on the upper floors 4, 5, & 6, of the south side of the building, do actually have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Mexicana Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Address: Av Rafael E Melgar 457 Sur entre 5 y 7, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Mexicana Cozumel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa Mexicana Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Mexicana Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Hotel Cozumel
Cozumel Casa Mexicana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Mexicana Cozumel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.