We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Save Saved
You added Casa Mexicana Cozumel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Rafael E Melgar 457 Sur entre 5 y 7, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 58 hotels in Cozumel
Peculiar, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Comfy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Dtr got sick so our stay was extended. We moved to Casa Mexicana when our reservation was up at the all-inclusive. The beds at CM are so comfy!! Much better than all the places that get reviews saying beds in Mexico are hard, hard, hard. And better than at the AI we came from. Some of the staff was aware that my dtr was sick and would ask about how she was doing. Some folks at the dive shop told me how great the breakfast was here, but I can't confirm that. One of the days it was raining so hard that the breakfast line was actually getting wet. They moved the buffet from 2nd floor to a spot in front of the pool area on 1st floor, but then did not have the use of the griddle. Next day more rain, buffet at pool, no griddle. What was offered was OK, not spectacular, though I always enjoyed the variety of fresh fruit. The maid did not speak English, but was as delightful as could be and very thorough. Alex, front desk, was particularly helpful and gracious.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    291
    151
    23
    10
    5
See reviews for
52
235
39
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Within close walking distance to the central part of town and the ferry terminals to the mainland. Very clean room and facilities with friendly staff. Breakfast buffet was great! Would highly recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed here on Cozumel for 2 nights before we headed up to Cancun for a week. La Casa Mexicana was everything and more than we had expected. We were greeted with a delicious non alcohol fizzy fruit drink and a ice cold wet hand towel to cool off with. The service is top notch, the people were so very friendly and helpful and the rooms were excellent. I had asked for a ocean view room on the highest floor available and we were given 401. Incredible view and very quiet. There was some road noise, but only when the sliding terrace doors were open. The beds were definitely a good sleep bed with plenty of pillows. The buffet breakfast was very good. I loved the omelets! The pool was right in the lobby, but chairs and couches actually blocked your view of the lobby, so that was fine. The water was very cool and refreshing. This hotel is with in walking distance to just about everything and is incredibly clean and modern. We will most definitely stay here again! La Casa Mexicana is for sure the way to go here in Cozumel!!

Room Tip: Ask for Ocean View rooms on higher floor.Alot quieter than an inside room on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The hotel is located in downtown cozumel very close to restaurant,bars and supermarkets!rooms are very clean and spacious!the breakfast buffet tasty and rich.the personel is friendly and nice.the only thing i did not like it is the pool,which is very small but the view from pool area is amazing!overall i had a very nice and confortable stay at casa mexicana!i recomend it to everyone!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Just spent a week at this lovely hotel which is located perfectly in the downtown location. Ideal for great resteraunt just around the corner as well as many local bars. Rooms were clean and well kept. Always take a balcony room with and ocean view, away from the breakfast buffet as i does become noisy in the mornings. Great stay at this hotel and would definately go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed here last week (May 8-14th) and were super happy with everything here! I have visited Cozumel before and stayed at an all-inclusive, budget hotel frequented by divers, but it was nothing like this place! We opted to pay extra for an ocean-view room and Roberto, in reception, kindly arranged to give us a beautiful room on the 5th floor away from street noise and far enough above the breakfast area which gets busy at 7 a.m. each morning. The room and balcony (where you can hang up our swimming/diving gear) were impeccably clean. Each day the maid created a little towel creature for us (we left a small tip on the pillow each day before going out). The breakfast was the bomb and the custom-prepared omelets were cooked to perfection by the nice lady who multi-tasks like nobody's ever seen. The internet reception was decent as well. I will be going back to lovely Cozumel as soon as possible and would not even consider staying anywhere other than Casa Mexicana!! You won't regret staying here!

Room Tip: Opt for an ocean view room! You've got a nice view of the ocean and pier where the Disney cruise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

my teenage daughter and I stayed at the hotel at the recommendation of a dive instructor. It was an excellent choice. The hotel greeting was friendly, with a wonderful cold alcohol free cocktail, much appreciated after the two flights and 6hrs slept in Atlanta airport to get there. The hotel was clean, staff friendly & helpful, the towel sculptures(?) entertaining. Breakfast was good, & whilst no on-site room service, they were happy to deliver from a nearby restaurant. Unfortunately the pool was being serviced whilst there, but it was pleasant in the hotel foyer looking at the sea & watching the ferry/cruise & military ships, with or without a drink from the bar! We appreciated having upgraded to a sea view, & our room was comfortable & quiet. The hotel is on the front, a couple of short blocks from the main square, located between the two main piers. Neighbouring store owners were friendly and not annoyingly persistent for our custom which we appreciated. We both felt safe enough to make excursions alone, me around the stores, my daughter walked back the mile or so from a dive rather than take a taxi, so she could window shop. Should be noted it has access across the street to good snorkeling, (family can watch from the comfortable inviting seating area in reception) although no beach of it's own. We totally recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: sea view rooms look out over beautiful clear aqua seas with plenty of boat activity to watch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Mexicana Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Address: Av Rafael E Melgar 457 Sur entre 5 y 7, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 58 hotels in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Mexicana Cozumel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Otel and Venere so you can book your Casa Mexicana Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Mexicana Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Hotel Cozumel
Cozumel Casa Mexicana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Mexicana Cozumel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.