We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Royal Cozumel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Park Royal Cozumel to your Saves list
Park Royal Cozumel
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Paraiso Km 3.5 Carretera Chankanaab, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 53 Hotels in Cozumel
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We traveled here with another couple. Check in was smooth, drinks ready upon arrival. We were given a room on 9th floor... the other couple was given one on the 3rd. The view on the upper floor was fantastic and really made for an overall better experience. This would be my number one recommendation.

Buffett was average, beach was small, restaurants good... for the price it is hard to beat. People have been complaining that drinks were watered down. For those that have never been to an all inclusive this is the norm.. The solution, ask for specific types of liquor in your drink. You want a rum and coke, say "captain and coke" Otherwise, they pull the cheap/watered down stuff from under bar.

We would return if traveling to Cozumel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    917
    932
    361
    142
    115
See reviews for
679
1,082
44
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Our time with Park Royal was compliments of a Living Social "Four-Night Stay for Two in a Deluxe Ocean View Room."

ROOM
We had room 2808. Really nice place. The room was nice. Large towels, good water pressure, awesome view. The elevators are fast and plentiful. The landscaping was unbelievable... like a scene from a movie.

FOOD
Buffet was actually very nice. The staff was super attentive and always welcoming. A ridiculous variety of food. I ate more than I normally would simply because there was so much to choose from... literally several dozen options at every meal... and it varied from day to day. Admittedly, as is the case with buffets in general, some of the stuff that was supposed to be 'hot'; wasn't. I can live with that. I also ate in the Italian restaurant one night and it was very good. The atmosphere is mellow and romantic. We were going to try and get in another night but we forgot to make reservations and there were no openings. The non-buffet restaurant options, one Mexican and one Italian, are small and have a far fewer tables so you really need to be sure and reserve a table.

BEACH
The beach area is very, very nice. The photos people share attest to this. Many places to cool off and get wet. Everything from a couple of infinity pools to a couple of Jacuzzi tubs (whirlpool baths, not 'hot tubs'. They are NOT heated.) and of course, the lovely sea. The beach is great. Fish greet you when you are knee deep. When I say 'greet' I mean they are swimming between your legs and bumping against you almost immediately. There were many very cool sea creatures to observe and depending on the time of day we saw different things... morning was best, before too many others get in the water. Some of the cooler looking creatures are apparently more shy. There are also a couple of bars and food options (nachos, cheeseburgers, etc) on the water too. Last thing I'll mention about the oceanfront at this property is the water sports available. There is a business operating right next door that does all the snorkel and diving things you would expect on Cozumel and they are price competitive with the other island businesses. Had I known this ahead of time, I would not have pre-booked stuff from other places on the island and simply, for convenience sake, used these guys. For example, they have a 3 reef snorkel trip that leave right from the property that was like $65. You can rent snorkeling gear from them for $10 a day or use it each day, checked out an hour at a time, for free.

FINAL REMARKS
I'm sure there is more I could write but I'll leave with these final remarks... we have never done the 'all-inclusive' thing before... seemed too stifling for our travel style. That said, Park Royal in Cozumel was a great first experience. Although it has a 'membership'/timeshare component, we never felt like second-class citizens. We were greeted warmly everywhere we went and catered to as though we had been there a million times. We would go back in a heartbeat and are already planning a return. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Higher is better... of course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We recently were on the freedom of the seas cruise ship and. Our last port of call was cozumel ,
Rather than go back to Orlando then return to cancun we decided to leave the ship and booked in to the park royal which was a short walk from the dock .
When we booked in we were made very welcome and had a very clean and comfortable room which had a great sea view of the hotel and ship .
The private beach and infinity pool was excellent with great views of the ships docked at the port ,I would highly recomend this hotel to anyone for its quality and locality , we continued on to the locally ferry after 2 nights which was a short trip to playa del carmen
Jim gems

Room Tip: Would recomend a room with a sea view preferably on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This was my first time staying at this resort through RCI on my parents timeshare. From previous experiences of staying in all inclusive resorts in the Riviera Maya and Cancun, this resort was not my expectations of what an all inclusive resort would entail. The first surprise is that the resort was not located on the same side of the ocean, rather, you have to take a tunnel underground to get to the pool and dock location, but I soon realized, Cozumel doesn't have a lot of real estate for beaches at any of the resorts. Due to the hotel being only a hotel and offering three restaurant options, we found ourselves venturing out more than staying at the all inclusive. However, the all inclusive fees are significantly cheaper than most resorts so what I paid for the stay was comparable to what I received.

The rooms were clean and standard, however, I will note if you want ocean view, all the hotel rooms offer is a view facing the side of the ocean with the street in between. Noise of the street is something we were made aware that even on the 6th floor you could hear.

Staff were friendly and nice, however, if you had to dispute anything it seemed like it was more of a hassle to the staff versus reconciling immediately. Also, like all reviews stated wifi costs and you are required to purchase from a vending machine a calling card with a code that only allows 24 hours access. So if you require wifi while on vacation, you might consider factor in $15 a day for wifi or finding a coffee shop to utilize.

Overall, I would rate average on food, entertainment, and facilties. Again, this was off season, so in season I am sure is completely different.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caney, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My husband and I joined my brother and his wife on a honeymoon trip. Our 4 parents and cousin came along as well. The hotel was amazing. Our room's were kept up nicely. Buffet was decent. We ate one night in the Italian restaurant and it was wonderful. The beach area is very small, but we snorkeled and saw some neat fish. We payed for a snorkel excursion and it was fabulous! I enjoyed seeing the cruise ships dock from our beach area. We rented a jeep and went to the other side of the island and had a beach massage and ate some great food. The trip was taken mid February and they had an unusual cool spell almost the entire time we were there except for the first day and a half. We were thankful we had our sweatshirts!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My family of 4 had another great week long stay at the Park Royal Cozumel (Aug 13 - 20th). This was our 3rd time here and this trip was just as good as the previous ones. To start off, this is the first time we tried flying into Cancun vs Cozumel. It not only saved us several hundred dollars total in air fare, but the kids (12 yrs and 3 yrs) enjoyed riding the ADO bus to Playa Del Carmen and then the ferry boat across to the island. It was easy as could be with two kids in tow and little to no Spanish speaking skills. I booked the hotel via the website and I requested adjoining rooms we received what we requested which worked out great with the kids.
We didn't go to either one of the al a cart restaurants and if we were not in town ate at the buffet every meal and had no complaints. My wife even would order a side of bacon every morning and they would bring it out to her. The activities were also good. My 3yr old went to the Kids Club a couple of times. She enjoyed the water slide, puzzles and little bracelet making station they had. My 12 yr old was always doing activities. Volleyball (beach or water) Texas Hold'em or whatever they were doing. As for my wife and I, I brought snorkel gear bought in the States with me so I spent my time in the water and she spent her time laying out at one of the 3 pools with the 3 yr old. Unfortunately it did rain 2 of the days we were there but the staff set up the large conference room with movies playing and games for teens and adults. It was better than staying in your room all day. We actually made the most of it and went into town to shop and my wife got a pedicure cheap. Needless to say we did have another relaying enjoyable stay at the Park Royal and will be back again soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Ive been here twice now and have had a blast both times...well other than the rain that hindered some of our plans. The staff is always friendly and no matter where you turn there is access to food or drink..The hotel was remodeled back in 2007 or so and they did a good job. Looks very updated. You cant beat All-Inclusive

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
1.3 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#3 of 53 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 stars 2,919 reviews
5.7 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#17 of 53 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 stars 3,555 reviews
5.9 mi away
Melia Vacation Club Cozumel, All inclusive & Golf
4.6 mi away
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Secrets Aura Cozumel
#14 of 53 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Royal Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Royal Cozumel

Address: Playa Paraiso Km 3.5 Carretera Chankanaab, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Royal Cozumel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the many amenities available at Park Royal Cozumel are several swimming pools, a first-rate fitness center, relaxing spa, and open-air theatre for evening entertainment under the beautiful night sky of Cozumel, Mexico. At the center of our Cozumel resort is the main pool, our beach pool is next to the ocean, and two infinity pools complete the offering. Our poolside bars will keep you cool and refreshed as you swim, play and relax by the crystal clear water of Cozumel. Two Jacuzzis provide beautiful ocean views right on the beach. Our sparkling Caribbean ocean invites you to snorkel. Our on-site dive shop can outfit you for a more adventurous ocean activity. A volleyball area is available to play and have fun with your family and friends while enjoying a magnificent ocean view of the coast of Cozumel, Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Park Royal Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Royal Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Park Royal Hotel Cozumel
Park Royal Cozumel Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Royal Cozumel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.