We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“20th Anniversary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Royal Cozumel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Park Royal Cozumel to your Saves list
Park Royal Cozumel
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Paraiso Km 3.5 Carretera Chankanaab, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
Ryan, OK
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“20th Anniversary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

First trip together in 20 years.Hotel staff treated us like family. 1501 has a beautiful view with plenty of hot water. Special thanks to Gustavo-bell boy, Genny-reception, Omar-La Veranda, Alan, Jesus, Franscisco, Alberto, Ivan, Gustavo-entertainment. Would definately stay here again. Chichen Itza tour, Chankanaab Park, scuba diving, parasailing, ATX Rails are all a must do. Can't wait to go back. Water is so clear it's unbelievable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    842
    871
    333
    136
    110
See reviews for
622
1,010
42
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Went here with our 4 kids ages 17 to 28 in March 2011. The food was good, drinks were good and got better when you befriended and tipped the bartenders. I like being able to order top shelf liquor. Beach is small and you better get there early to get under a palapa. Lots of chairs around all the pools. We got 2 rooms side by side which was nice. I tried to get rooms higher up above the trees so we could see the ocean but after several requests we gave up. Very nice clean resort. The food was excellent at the specialty restaurants. It is fairly close to town. I rented a car for the week to drive to town, tour the island and get to the dive shop down the road-Papa Hogs.
Downsides: Be carefull walking as the flagstone walkways are easy to trip on-they are not level. We saw several people from a small child to an elderly person trip and fall. The view is partially blocked by cruise ships every day but Sunday. Not much to do at night. The entertainment is lame. My older sons went to town every night to Senior Frogs.
You have to sign up for the specialty restaurants and they fill quickly so get in line 1/2 hour before the sign up opens. Bring a drink and meet a new friend! We weren't bothered by the timeshare people once we politely said no thank you. I would go back again.

Room Tip: Get one high enough to see the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Going to Mexico scared me a little with all the crazy stuff going on but when I landed in Cozumel, it was beautiful, clean and I felt safe.
When we pulled up to our resort, we were greeted by a friendly staff at our taxi. The same service was given to us when we checked in. This resort is BEAUTIFUL! Its very clean and the staff is very Friendly.
We ate a lot at the buffet, it was always good. They have a Mexican restaurant that is a little more fancy that you have to make reservations for it was ok, they also have an Italian restaurant that you have to make reservations for, SKIP it!

Adult beverages were yummie. Try the dirty monkey! At the pools, they have a grill that serves up hamburgers, hot dogs, it was all good!

I would return again, we loved it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Great All inclusive resort. Very very clean , in and out. Impecable. Beach is small but snorkeling is great. Friendly staff. Short taxi drive to dwontown. You can rent a car right off the street. The only thing we did not like was the agents trying to sell us time share. Very intimidating when we first arrived than we got used to them.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Travelled from Nov. 3-10th and flew right in to the Cozumel Airport. Had to wait in a 3.5 hour line up to get through immigration. What a nightmare! DO NOT FLY IN ON A SATURDAY. This happens all the time here.
I cant explain exactly who would like this resort. Time share sales pple are annoying! The resort staff are very pleasant, speak great English but are ALL VERY inexperienced right up to the annimation crew..
Food is good. Resort is VERY clean.They roll up the carpet by 8pm at this place.
Beach is very small, pools are great but COLD. Hot tubs are NOT heated either. Drinks are ok but dont make you want to run back for more too fast. A/C and Hot water worked great!
Guests from the Cruise Ships come onto the resort daily. Beds are HARD but clean.
If you have problems walking or with balance, stay away! The stone is uneven everywhere so leave any heels at home and bring a cane.There is no elevator from the lobby to the main level of the hotel which would be 15 very large steps or so. Elevators are great after that. You have to pay for the security safe in your room and they are still not safe. Ours was broken into and hotel manager could do nothing.
Travelled into Playa Del Carmen twice,and checked out other resorts. Will not go back to Cozumel ever again!

Room Tip: Demand a room above the 5th floor or you are going to see NOTHING but trees. If you are between 45...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

very nice property, with excepitionaly pleasant staff, they all went out of their way to make sure your stay was the best it could be. The rooms were nice and clean. the resturant staff was very friendly, with a large varity of choices. this was the first trip doing an all inclusive, and i was pleasantly surprise. plan to return with the whole family in the near future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Just spent he week of 11/1/ through 11/8/2012. We had two Presidential suites reserved due to points. The only disappointment was that only one room was provided above the 4th floor with an ocean view. When we questioned this, were referred to member services, where a lady says, "I know, I know - everyone wants above the 4th floor. if your traveling companions are that good of friends - give them your room on the 7th floor". I understand that there are limited rooms/suites available, however, for the use of the 40,000 points, it would be nice to feel that there are some considerations due to members.

That was the only complaint, the staff was very nice, one room had a nice view, the food was better than anticipated based upon comments, and there was a variety of liquor. Ronaldo was very accommodating at the pool bars. The diving was outstanding, and we would come back with no hesitation. Renting a jeep to swim in the ocean and see the quaint bars on the other side of the island was a must.

Room Tip: As everyone knows by seeing this site, if you are to have an actual "ocean view", you need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Royal Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Royal Cozumel

Address: Playa Paraiso Km 3.5 Carretera Chankanaab, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Royal Cozumel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the many amenities available at Park Royal Cozumel are several swimming pools, a first-rate fitness center, relaxing spa, and open-air theatre for evening entertainment under the beautiful night sky of Cozumel, Mexico. At the center of our Cozumel resort is the main pool, our beach pool is next to the ocean, and two infinity pools complete the offering. Our poolside bars will keep you cool and refreshed as you swim, play and relax by the crystal clear water of Cozumel. Two Jacuzzis provide beautiful ocean views right on the beach. Our sparkling Caribbean ocean invites you to snorkel. Our on-site dive shop can outfit you for a more adventurous ocean activity. A volleyball area is available to play and have fun with your family and friends while enjoying a magnificent ocean view of the coast of Cozumel, Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Park Royal Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Royal Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Park Royal Hotel Cozumel
Park Royal Cozumel Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Royal Cozumel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.