We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful scenery” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sunscape Sabor Cozumel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sunscape Sabor Cozumel to your Saves list
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Km 12.9 Carretera Costera Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Sabor Cozumel Resort and Spa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
Chicago Heights, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed at the resort October 12-19, 2014. The scenery is beautiful, our view from our room was breath taking. They offer snorkeling, sail boating and kayaking, the snorkeling was amazing, so many different and colorful fish to see. Our room itself was ok, but we didn't spend that much time in it anyway. The pool was nice, but was under the impression they had a swim up bar, they don't, also, no hot tub They only have two restaurants and a snack bar, the food was good, but they served the same thing, and they could use a bigger snack bar menu. The shows they put on at night were nice, but they only had a few, we were told it was because it was not " peak season" that shouldn't matter. The activity crew were awesome, Mariana, Jose and Santana, couldn't have been any nicer and our waiter, Ricardo from portafino and Antonio fron el patio. One thing we did not like was the hounding we got to buy activities outside of the resort, anytime we went to the lobby, they were there trying to get us to buy, they even called our room one morning, pitch it to us when we get there, then leave it alone, if we want it, we'll get it.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    172
    116
    78
    47
See reviews for
140
212
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed here 9/24-9/28 with another couple. This was not our first option. We were rerouted here after our resort in Cabo was hit by the hurricane. At first we were just so excited to have a vacation after dealing with rebooking through Apple. The resort was beautiful and most of the staff was very helpful and enjoyable. We had agreed to do a timeshare tour in Playa as we arrived at the airport. It gave us everything we needed to enjoy our vacation (ferry rides, taxis, tullum ruins tour, lighthouse entrance, tequila tour, jeep rental). The lady warned us not to mention it to the people at the hotel and boy was she right! We were immediately greeted in the lobby by a very pushy timeshare salesman who wanted us to eat breakfast at the property next door (Secrets). When we explained we "had plans," his tone immediately turned hostile asking if we had talked to the people at the airport. We lied and walked away. The rooms were great, at first glance. The other couple had no issues. We however had such rusty pipes in our shower that it looked like a horror film. The front desk moved us without any questions to an ocean view suite. It was beautiful. The beach and pool areas were nice. It was a very quiet week which we loved. The food was ok at best. The buffet is served outside which seems very odd bc it was swamped with bugs. The italian restaurant was closed the entire time which limited the choices even more. All four of us ended up with horrible stomach sickness by the end of our stay and the only thing we could narrow it down to was the salad since that's the only thing we all ate. It cleared up about a week after we got home finally. We tried to snorkel and kayak but the equipment was checked out or broken and they close at 4pm. We ended up snorkeling by the lighthouse instead.
The worst part of the trip came on our last day.....my husband surprised me with a massage (the spa was amazing!) When they ran our card, it said declined. We assumed it was our bank even though we had prepared before leaving the US. After paying the money to call our bank, we were told it was never ran. My husband then decided to just take cash out at the ATM in the lobby to make sure we didn't have this problem again. He asked for $400 and it approved it but the machine shorted him $120. When he explained this to the front desk, they said they don't have access to the machine and it is a US bank. The lady at the desk directed him to a phone in the lobby to call the atm number.......after hearing an echo in the phone conversation my husband looked at the front desk and realized he was talking to the same lady? That's when we lost it. They called someone to come retrieve the money and said they'd be there with our money in 30 min. We decided to go eat. When we came back, Mr. Jerk timeshare man asked what happened and the response was "maybe the machine ran out of money? it happens a lot"......That's when we were also told all they could do is file a report and have us follow up when we got home. We explained the only reason this happened to begin with was because the lady in spa didn't do her job and we still owed them $200. We said between the $120 and the money spent to call our bank they would not be seeing that money from us. Finally, after 2 hrs they agreed to write off the spa stay. We were told by the atm company and the hotel that the return would be on our debit card in 24hrs. It's been 3 weeks and we still have nothing but vague emails. Luckily the fraud department at our bank is handling it.
If I had to do over again I would never stay here. I would've paid the money to stay at Iberostar or Occidental (who we did the timeshare tour with in Playa and everything was beyond amazing). Needless to say, our vacation was more stress than anything. So much for relaxing before our wedding. Luckily we weren't sick on our wedding day

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Moline, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

the property is beautiful. Staff super friendly. views/snorkeling breathtaking. room great. The only problem - only 2 restaurants open and the food...OK.
Entertainment..OK, but really didn't go for that anyway. The activity staff (Marianna) was the BEST ever!

Room Tip: worth the upgrade to ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel for 10 days in September. The beach is very rocky at the entry point to the sea. I don't mind a rocky beach because it usually means the snorkeling is better. I saw lots of fish, lobsters, and a yellow ray. People we met saw squid. I was very pleased. There are bigger fish under the wooden dock to the south. Take some bread from the buffet and feed them. I had a blast watching them swim at me from all directions.
The pools are clean. We really missed having a swim-up bar. If there was one at this resort it would make our decision to return much easier. It just felt like something was missing.
The drinks are great. Many of the cocktails are hand-crafted with fresh ingredients. The food was disappointing. We are not picky. We were there for 10 days, therefore the selection got old quickly with only one restaurant that wasn't a buffet. The food at El Patio is very good. The room service menu is very limited; bad pizza is the only item during dinner hours.
The staff are fantastic and made our stay very pleasant. Gabriel, Sheila, Zitaly, Beatriz, Carlos, Max, and others (sorry I can't remember all the names) made us feel welcome and very relaxed. We always tip; the staff definitely deserve to be compensated for their great service.
We were upgraded to a wonderful ocean front room. We would return if we got an amazing deal like we did on this last trip. Due to the low price we paid we were able to rent a car and eat at some restaurants on the island.

Room Tip: The ocean front rooms are fantastic- directly on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We do a annual girls trip every October for 7 nights. This year we picked Sunscape Sabor in Cozumel Mexico.
It's a great property for the price. It's a small resort that sits on a nice stretch of beach and you can snorkel right off the property. The food was good.and the saff was wonderful. We booked a deluxe ocean front, which was so worth it. I rolled out of bed open the door and the beach and ocean was right there.
Down side... No pool bar or pool and beach service. For little bit of a tip, we did find someone to accomodate getting our drinks.
I would go back without any hesitation.

Room Tip: Do a deluxe ocean front or a junior suite deluxe ocean front which will put you on the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, E-Concierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear luv2travel1960-50,

We would like to thank you for choosing our resort as your host on your recent gateway to our destination. It was a pleasure having you and we appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are very happy to learn that your stay was a pleasant one, and that you were highly satisfied with our service. We have strived to deliver the most memorable experience to our valued guest. We highly appreciate your gracious comments here and have shared it with our team.

We thank you for the suggestion it helps us to improve our areas and facilities.

We sincerely look forward to welcome you back on a future occasion and provide you with the exceptional quality and service that characterizes our brand and resort.

I Remain at your service,
Eduardo Betancourt
Management Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent a week during Christmas and loved it! Got away from the chaos in the states and turned it into a week of diving, eating, drinking and soaking up the sun. I highly recommend staying here anytime of the year. Staff is nice and very accommodating!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, E-Concierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear AmyLivesFit,

We appreciate you have taken the time to share such an enthusiastic review about your recent visit to Sunscape Sabor Cozumel.

Please be confident that we’ve shared your kind comments with our team as motivation to keep up with our commitment to offer truly remarkable experiences in our guests. We thank you on behalf of our team and Management.

We sincerely hope we can have the honor of being your hopes in not too distant future.

I Remain at your service,
Eduardo Betancourt
Management Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We took our 2 teenagers 14 & 15. girl & boy, here during first week of June. Absolutley loved the place, got a GREAT deal on cheap carribean "seas the deal". Excellent atmosphere, stil under change over from previous company, so there is a learing curve. Overall service was good, they could have used a few additional bar tenders during peak times. Felt sorry for the ONE they hac, worked his tail off, but smiled the whole time!!
Highly recommend the dive facility. Instructors are the best!
Would definitely return to this resort

Room Tip: any room is good, not much time spent in ours anyhow
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaczEconcierge, E-Concierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Gregory B,

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your recent experience at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel.

We are happy that you were particularly pleased with the service and atmosphere.We are happy to see that you had a great stay with your famility, We are thrilled to hear that you are having in mind to visit us in the future.

We truly hope you can give us the opportunity to host you again in the future so we can offer you the truly remarkable experience that you deserve. Please do not hesitate to contact us personally at info.seacz@secretsresorts.com prior your arrival, we will be happy to assist you.

I Remain at your service,
Eduardo Betancourt
Management Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunscape Sabor Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunscape Sabor Cozumel

Address: Km 12.9 Carretera Costera Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Sabor Cozumel Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunscape Sabor Cozumel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unlimited-Fun® with all Sunscape resorts amenities will be available effective April 15th 2013. A place where everyone will find a place that suits them perfectly. We are the largest beachfront resort along with its larger variety of room categories and services in Cozumel Island.Vacations at Sunscape Resorts & Spas are unforgettable adventures offering lively, exhilarating, and affordable Unlimited-Fun® vacations now in Cozumel Island. All your fun is included at Sunscape, including day and evening activities, top-shelf spirits, and limitless food and beverages – a new and better way to have it all! Swim all day, dance all night, relax in the spa and dine anytime with no restaurant reservations ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sunscape Sabor Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sabor Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Wyndham Cozumel Hotel
Cozumel Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.