We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sunscape Sabor Cozumel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sunscape Sabor Cozumel to your Saves list
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Km 12.9 Carretera Costera Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Sabor Cozumel Resort and Spa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Savings up 40%
Ranked #32 of 57 Hotels in Cozumel
Alabama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We have been going to this resort since it was the Reef Club and I guess the best way to describe our most recent visit was disappointing. First the good. The grounds we neat and well kept and the staff for the most part was friendly and service oriented. The bad parts were. The water smells, sulfur (rotten egg smell). The water was off one night for a while and when it came back on it was gray. I think they may have tried some type of filter to kill the smell and it may have gotten better for a couple days but still smelled when we left. The dinner menus are limited and after about 4 days you pretty much have exhausted the choices. Last year you were able to go next door to Aura and have dinner and one of their restaurants and that helped break things up and made for a nice evening, they have taken that away. The worst part of the week was the long wait and slow service in the main restaurants. One night after being there for over 2 hours and still not getting our entrees we just left and went to the grill. At the grill they were sorry for our problems and were going to fix us a special dinner, so we gave it a try. After about 35 mins it was about 9:30 and we had started trying for dinner at 6:00, we got up and left out of just frustration. After our week at Sunscape Sabor as they call it now, I would need a really good reason to go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusczeConcierge, eConcierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Scuba2Alabama,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

With that being said, we genuinely regret hearing that you were disappointed with your recent stay at Sunscape but however guarantee that this is definitely not a true depiction of our standards of operation and certainly not the typical experience of our guests. We nonetheless apologize for any dissatisfaction and we will certainly share your comments with all the respective department managers in order to avoid any other negative opinions.

As returning guests we take your concerns very seriously and I assure you that we have opened more restaurant options so that we can accommodate everyone in a more timely fashion. In addition to that we are offering more changes with regards to the menus so that guests have feel like they have more of a variety. The service standard has improved due to the fact that we have been sharing our reviews with our staff and they are eager to ensure that familiar faces like yours decide to return in the near future.

We sincerely hope that we will once again have the honor of welcoming you back to Sunscape Sabor Cozumel so that we can redeem ourselves and offer you the service that you deserve.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social media Coordinator
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    304
    157
    93
    51
See reviews for
228
335
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed at Sunscape Sabor 4/26 and were a little disappointed. Online states that they have more restaurants than what are open a swim up bar which is closed and room service which is to an option. Even with those downfalls I think that they are working hard to morose their newest resort. Everyday we had some sort of improvement, when we arrived we had a stiff wool blanket close to what you would see on a horse. Soon after they changed for a comfortable mattress pad and duvet. They changed the ice bin, no ice maker available tho.....changed the coffee cups, I dock statin instead of alarm clock replaced the fridge and the fans too. Overall, our stay was great the diving was amazing, the beach is the best on the island and the food was good, however with very limited choices.
My advice to them would be to have the swim up bar open, a bar or drink service n the north pool and the buffet open at night. With those small changes it would be a very desirable place to go. On a positive note, since they were newly opened they upgraded us to oceanfront a the same price so we seem to have not cared too much about the small nuisances.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusczeConcierge, eConcierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Kristinep88,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

Thank you for your very complete and constructive feedback as it provides us with information that is helpful in identifying those areas of opportunity we may be overlooking .Unfortunately I can see that you did not enjoy all the services we provided to you, and I do apologize for any shortcomings from our side. The areas you have raised are under review with the Department Heads.

On another note It was very rewarding to read that despite the fact that we did not meet your expectations you still enjoyed a week of diving, eating good food and our beautiful beach.

We sincerely hope to welcome you to Sunscape Sabor Cozumel on a future occasion so we can have the opportunity to redeem ourselves providing you with the service you deserve.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I have traveled enough to know good and beyond BAD and this was beyond BAD. Room when we got in sheet was torn make-up on pillow case and bug in bed. Bathroom had a very bad sewage smell no hot water and just plain dirty , the pictures you see are not what you get. On to the food pizza palor was closed so was the Italian so the other two rotated depending on what night it was. Because there reason was new mangement took over and they got rid of half there staff. And what we did eat was horrible. Oh and the swim up bar you say you have because there was suppose to be two pools was also closed. The only good thing was because we went through Apple vacation and we moved to a new resort the Iberostar which was great. Many people also left and complained this is not how you run a Hotel close and do what you have to and then re-open. Just there April 18, 2013 left April 20, 2013 never will go back. For those who think this place is ok or good your standards are either low or you just haven't traveled much. Rebecca.F

Room Tip: Never go less than a 5, you get what you pay for. And a least if you use apple they will move you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusczeConcierge, eConcierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Happybec,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

On behalf of the management I apologize profusely about your experience at our resort but I do hope we are going to be able to restore your confidence into our brand in your next stay. It is hoped that you will allow us to serve you again as it would be a privilege to have the chance to host you, with a view to exceed your expectations at Sunscape Sabor. We had just reopened and unfortunately we were still not quite finished with the overall renovation of the resort. However I can assure you that over the last two months there have been significant improvement in terms of amenities and upgrades in terms of bedding and restaurants.

We sincerely hope to welcome you to Sunscape Sabor Cozumel on a future occasion so we can have the opportunity to redeem ourselves providing you with the service you deserve.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I've been here a little over 24 hours and I know it's a huge mistake. I'm comparing to my stay at the Catalonia in the Riviera Maya a year ago and I'm so mad I didn't go back. There are very few food options and it's not very good. Tonight they have the Italian open and a small restaurant by the main pool. The main restaurant had 4 dinner options but when we tried to order at 8 they had only 2. Don't expect to be served drinks. The wait staff is minimal so you have to walk to the bar yourself.
Our room stinks....smells bad. I. Think it comes from sulfur in the water.
Hanging around the lobby you can hear the disappointment from others.
It's a pretty sad place. Looks nice on the outside but I would recommend looking for another place....

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusczeConcierge, eConcierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Reivitt,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

I apologize on behalf of the Management at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel as we are most disappointed to hear that your recent stay with us fell below your expectations. We apologize for the inconveniences caused by our shortcomings with regards to maintenance and housekeeping. Please be assured that incidents such as these are not the norm and steps are being taken to ensure that this does not happen to future guests. Your concerns regarding the quality of the food and service in the restaurants and bars has been addressed and brought to the attention of Management along with the issues you encountered with with smell of the water.

I am extremely sorry that I did not get an opportunity to meet you in person. I do hope we are going to be able to restore your confidence in Sunscape Sabor Cozumel in the future so we can have the opportunity to redeem ourselves providing you with the service you deserve.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We have been coming to this resort for 9 years, seen it through 4 different ownerships (Rafael Nadal is the current owner) and we have been members of the Reef Club since 2004. We have never been disappointed. The staff is extremely helpful, friendly and courteous. We have so many wonderful memories. We just returned today from another week there and again we weren't disappointed. The staff, from the front desk (Karina and Kinga) to the bellservice (Manuel Poot) is the best, hardworking and friendly and always with a smile. The wait staff at the restaurants, Ismael, Miguel and Marcos at the Market, Manuel and Gaudencio at El Patio, Oscar at Portofino, Julio at Windows and the head waiters, Rosana, Alejandra, Freddy and Rolando, all deserve mention for making our vacation a memorable one. The room was kept immaculate by Maritza, who was always ready to provide more bottled water and extra towels.

This year all the matresses and comforters were replaced, allowing for a very relaxing sleep.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusczeConcierge, eConcierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear AreJohnsen,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

We were really happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent return visit to the hotel and that you were particularly pleased with the service, the friendly staff, the restaurants the new beds and comforters. Guest satisfaction is our main goal at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel and it is rewarding to learn that it has been achieved on this occasion.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I had my hopes quite high going back to an AM resort, especailly one that had been recently renovated... The rooms were ok, but the curtians were torn, the bathroom was a bit moldy. The front desk never told us that if you use the cold water at all, your room will smell like rotten eggs all day. After going to Zoetry, I anticipated a great reason to go off my diet, but the food, although etible, was not of great quality. Honestly many of the staff members made us feel like we were a burden, including a few bar tenders and more importantly the snack bar staff, they would carry on a conversation for a few minutes before even looking your way to take your order. The front desk staff could not understand anything that we asked but consistently said yes, or told us something that they thought would make us feel better. Thank goodness for Juan Carlos, Mario, Sr. Lechuga and Jose. I was also disappointed that the swim up bar that is a main attraction was closed the entire week, and it took three days for them to tell us that it was broken.

Honestly, as per my reivew title, it is hard to make a bad day out of a walk on the beach and great times with new friends in the pool, and of course a few drinks.

I was just hoping to feel like a valued guest and I didnt quite get that vibe.

Room Tip: having a view of the beach is so nice and it is perfect to have a walk out to the beach if it is ava...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusczeConcierge, eConcierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear mpn906,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

Thank you for your very complete and constructive feedback as it provides us with information that is helpful in identifying those areas of opportunity we may be overlooking .Unfortunately I can see that you did not enjoy all the services we provided to you, and I do apologize for any shortcomings from our side especially with regards to the fact that you did not feel like a valued guest. The areas you have raised are under review with the Department Heads and we have implemented intensive training with regards to standardization so that we can offer the level of service that you are used to.

On another note It was very rewarding to read from your review you were happy with our drinks, the friendly atmosphere and long walks on our beautiful beach.

We sincerely hope to welcome you to Sunscape Sabor Cozumel on a future occasion so we can have the opportunity to redeem ourselves providing you with the service you deserve.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Pros:
SOME of the staff is very attentive and courteous

The dinner food is good

The beach is nice

There is always tanning chairs available near the beach and near the pool.

Beds are comfortable, linens are not the cleanest

Cons:

No fridge in room
Bathroom smells like sewage, the third day even the water coming out of the faucet and the shower smelled bad it smelled like rotten eggs, taking a shower was very unpleasant, we complained and someone came and looked at it but the issue wasn't fixed till two days later, the day before we were leaving.

Phone in room is just for show there's no actual phone line we had to request a new one, someone did come and install it.
No reservations at restaurants which makes for long wait times
Some of the staff is rude and in attentive not acknowledging you while you wait.
We waited 40 minutes to enter the restaurant for dinner once and waited another 25 minutes before someone even said hello after we had been sat down.
The wifi is only in the lobby not a foot further.
Only two restaurants open per night, if you're here longer than three nights you will have the same dinner at least twice.
Every hotel wants you to see their timeshare presentation this hotel was just pushier than most.
When we asked at the lobby for ice they looked at us like we were crazy then I said we didn't have a fridge and they were like "Oh right! Yes, but we have to get it for you from the kitchen, bring your bucket"
The food in the buffet, if you can call it a buffet, is not as good as the food they serve for dinner
Overall service is just not there, some staff members are excellent but the majority seems annoyed when asked for help and if they do help it's with a look of desdain. I've never seen anything like it at an All Inclusive.

Overall I think it could be a much better resort if they fix the before mentioned issues, it has potential.... However I did not pay for potential, I wanted to be pampered and tended to... just like the last two times I've been to the area.

We loved Cozumel and we're defenitely coming back but save yourself the trouble, stay at a different resort.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusczeConcierge, eConcierge at Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear mannynrocco,

Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service, and our product.

It is naturally very disappointing that you did not enjoy your recent visit with us and are very concerned to read that your experience did not live up to our usual level of service. Please accept our apologies it is certainly not our intention to disappoint our guests, however, it is obvious that we failed to meet your expectations on several points. I wish to reassure you, that I have shared and are trying to address your comments with our Department Heads to ensure that we take all the necessary actions to improve our services as well to reduce the opportunity for these mistakes to reoccur in the future with other guests.

On another note we are happy to see that you recognized that the resort has a potential to be better, which we are continually improving on a daily basis.

We sincerely hope to welcome you to Sunscape Sabor Cozumel on a future occasion so we can have the opportunity to redeem ourselves providing you with the service you deserve.

Warm regards,

Justine Pyne
eConcierge/Social Media Coordinator
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
info.seacz@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunscape Sabor Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunscape Sabor Cozumel

Address: Km 12.9 Carretera Costera Sur, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Sabor Cozumel Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunscape Sabor Cozumel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unlimited-Fun® with all Sunscape resorts amenities will be available effective April 15th 2013. A place where everyone will find a place that suits them perfectly. We are the largest beachfront resort along with its larger variety of room categories and services in Cozumel Island.Vacations at Sunscape Resorts & Spas are unforgettable adventures offering lively, exhilarating, and affordable Unlimited-Fun® vacations now in Cozumel Island. All your fun is included at Sunscape, including day and evening activities, top-shelf spirits, and limitless food and beverages – a new and better way to have it all! Swim all day, dance all night, relax in the spa and dine anytime with no restaurant reservations ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Sunscape Sabor Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sabor Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Wyndham Cozumel Hotel
Cozumel Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunscape Sabor Cozumel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.