We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food and drinks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Woodys Bar and Grill

Woodys Bar and Grill
Benito Juarez Bet. 5 and 10 | San Miguel, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #108 of 264 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Mexican, American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
bristolville ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“good food and drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

they have $1 beer which was actually good. The food was pretty good I don't know how authentic it is, but its good

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    98
    30
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“Killer drinks, good food, ok service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Had lunch at Woodys with friends and REALLY enjoyed the drinks! They are huge, strong and delicious. The food was good (chicken fingers and fish & chips, it's a very american menu). One of us wanted to substitute the coleslaw for a regular salad and it took 3 trips to the kitchen for the waitress to get it right, but eventually we got everything we asked for.

It was expensive for what it was, but I'd definitely be back for a drink!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Service sucks - no food in 2 hours”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We visited last night with our two hungry kids in tow. There was plenty of waitstaff who seemed to be bringing nothing but drinks out. We didn't make a very big order: 1 chicken burger, 1 chimichanga and 1 fish sticks appetizer. After almost 2 hours we just asked for the check and left. It wasn't like there was that big a crowd when we arrived. And we did see people at neighboring tables getting their food. Very disorganized and inconsiderate people.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne C, Public Relations Manager at Woodys Bar and Grill, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
We are very sorry you had a bad experience at Woody's. We do our best to provide courteous service to all our guests and we regret that didn't happen in your case. I have no explanation other than the kitchen staff was overwhelmed with football fans in the dining room (it was New Year's Day). In any case, someone should have informed you that the kitchen was running behind on getting orders out. We sincerely apologize. Our friendly service is the main reason we have so much return business, so we feel terrible that you received unsatisfactory service. Our waitstaff has been made aware of your review and we will strive to never let that happen again. We hope you enjoyed your vacation in Cozumel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing restaurant and bar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Good food and very friendly atmosphere! Very good selection and nice pricing ($9 for fish and chips, $8 fish sandwich with fries)!
Great live music, will come back soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Worst service ever!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We arrived at Woody's with over an hour before we had to catch the ferry, just a block away. It was the last ferry of the night, so if we missed it, we would have had to stay the night (and pay for second accommodation). We explained to the waitress that we were catching the ferry when we ordered. After about 20 minutes, we got drinks. After 40 minutes, we asked about our order. She brought us some skimpy natchos with guacamole. After 50 minutes, and only 15 minutes to sailing, we asked again about our order. She said not to worry, the ferry is right there! We left, ran to the ferry and got the last two seats on the boat. They were not busy! We were the only people in the place! Perhaps the cook saw that nothing was happening and took the night off! The waitress didn't even have the courtesy to apologize!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne C, Public Relations Manager at Woodys Bar and Grill, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Management at Woody's questions whether this review was posted for the wrong restaurant. Yes, we are located one block from the ferry pier, but it is not possible that these guests were the only ones there. We have live music every night of the week starting at 7pm, and there has never been an evening with only one table during live music performances. Usually, it's standing room only, which leads us to question this review. There are several other restaurants near the ferry pier, possibly this review was meant for another business? We cordially ask that this reviewer contact us directly via our website and we will be happy to chat about their experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woodys Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Woodys Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodys Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.