We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and atmosphere!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kondesa Restaurant

Kondesa Restaurant
456 5th Ave between 5th & 7th Street, Cozumel 7760, Mexico
+52 987 869 1086
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 264 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $13
Cuisines: Mexican, Mediterranean, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Awesome restaurant and certainly one of our favorite parts of the trip! You have to try the guacamole trio and queso fundido - best of both I have ever had. Also great cocktails. The ambiance is very unique - almost feels like you are in a jungle, and is a nice variety to the scenery in Cozumel. Kondesa is one of the best restaurants on the island!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    640
    122
    33
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great, so glad we made it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We decided to go here our last night and boy we chose good!

Even with some rain in the area we were able to enjoy this AMAZING restaurant

PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE make sure you go here when on Cozumel

Food Great
Service Great
Ambiance Great

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Over exceeded our already high expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Our group of 6 could not stop raving about the ambience, service and food. Ambience - the restaurant is set in a lush, outside area with trees, flowers, dim/romantic lighting with low Euro jazz playing over hidden speakers. Service - we we greeted by a friendly face at the door and lead to our table. Immediately a waiter appeared to take our drink orders and help make recommendations. We always had the waiter nearby and he was on top of our drinks....making sure the glasses were never empty. Food - Fabulous, fabulous, fabulous! I think we ordered everything on the menu. The In Gauk we Trust was great. There were 3 different guacamoles to choose from (our favorite was with fruit). The Keso Fundido was ridiculously delicious. Definately have the Tortilla Soup. The presentation was beautiful and the taste even better. If you like Mole, try the Pollo Poblano. My husband was raving. I had the Peskado Tomatillo and it was a fabulous fusion of sweet, spicy and great texture. We cannot say enough great things about the restaurant. Thank you Kondessa for a lovely and memorable evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury-on-Thames, null, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“amazing atmosphere and surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

wonderful location and atmosphere, easily the best restaurant that I visited. Great food and service and nice ambient DJ music.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Richland Hills, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Very romantic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Modern fusion Mexican food at it's best!!! Fresh, fresh, fresh fish here. Service was top notch and the food was great. The dining area is a very romantic court yard with lots of candlelight. The drinks are good and the fish was out of this world. We will be eating here again next time we go to the island.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kondesa Restaurant also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Kondesa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kondesa Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.