We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing! Amazing! Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kondesa Restaurant

Kondesa Restaurant
456 5th Ave between 5th & 7th Street, Cozumel 7760, Mexico
+52 987 869 1086
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 247 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $13
Cuisines: Mexican, Mediterranean, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
West Bloomfield, Michigan
2 reviews
“Amazing! Amazing! Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This restaurant is amazing. The food is wonderful. It is a five star that would cost you 4 times as much. The fusion of flavors is magnificent and the presentation is just fabulous. We really loved the ambiance and the staff were just marvelous. I would highly recommend this restaurant and can see why it is ranked at the top of restaurants in Cozumel. We will be going back again before we leave. I urge you to treat yourself to meal and experience that will not soon forget. What a great dinner!!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    642
    122
    33
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good grouper”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Good food but the place got packed and the service slowed down a bit. The starters are great, but small portions. Good romantic place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severna Park, MD
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Stands Out from the Pack”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Recent week-long trip we ate a different restaurant every night and while they were all good Kondesa stood out from the pack for both style and substance. As lots of people have described it has a wonderful indoor-outdoor setup and a great sense of unique contemporary style - unusual for Cozumel and this part of Mexico in general, it's definitely not your typical Cozumel Mexican seafood place (not that there's anything wrong with that, some of them are *incredibly good*). We started with a pitcher of excellent white sangria, which was so large we could barely finish it and walk out upright. We had the lionfish fritters (fish cakes), which sounded better than they were - we ordered them because lionfish are an invasive species that we had just seen out on the reef so were trying to do our part to eradicate them, while they were prepared beautifully it turns out that lionfish just isn't that tasty and has a cat-foody texture. For entrees we had (1) the ginger shrimp, which was delicious and exquisitely presented - this is really fine food, as good as any top-flight restaurant at home in the US, and (2) a special fish dish with fine cornmeal crust, also delicious. I don't remember the dessert (been a few weeks) except that my wife loved it. The waiter was very attentive and everyone was friendly and helpful. When we first arrived, fairly early for dinner at around 6PM, we practically had the restaurant to ourselves on a mid-week night but by the time we left it was packed full and the bar was hopping - quite the happening place!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Favorite dinner of the vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

A creative menu, beautiful ambiance, delicious food, primo drinks,and a good location make this restaurant a must-do when in Cozumel.

The restaurant sits on a quiet street behind the main drag, maybe a five-minute walk from the main plaza. The huge sign painted on the side of the building next to the door makes it easy to find because you can't see the seating from the street. It's located behind a gate.

Once through the door, the ambiance is modern, subtle, and comfortable. You find yourself amidst beautiful lanterns and lounge seating set to quiet, lounge music (like you were listening to the "Chill Out Radio" station on Pandora). The dinner tables are both in open air and under a covered area near the bar. You should bring a sweater if it's a breezy night.

The food is creatively spiced. I had a chicken mole dish -- in which I tasted cumin and coriander -- that came with a sweet potato side with nutmeg and cinnamon. My husband had fresh fish with tomatillo sauce. We also had a raw fish and jicama appetizer that was really good.

The cocktail menu is worthy in itself. Skip Senor Frogs and Margaritaville with their syrupy margaritas with way too much mixer and ice. Come here instead for a classic Margarita, variations on a classic Margarita, and other interesting recipes. You're only a few blocks behind the cruise ships, but as far away from that vibe, as you can get.

As a bonus -- our dinner bill was less than at our hotel and at another upscale restaurant that we tried --- and the food was WAY better. The service was friendly and attentive. The restaurant owner seems to be one of those young entrepreneurs looking to marry classic Mexican flavors with modern cuisine and restaurant styling -- and it works.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Justifiably Popular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Had dinner here twice during our week's stay - went back on our last night as this had been our favourite meal of the holiday. Staff are wonderful and charming and seem to really enjoy what they do, we loved Cesar's descriptions of the daily specials.
Lionfish cakes and shrimp tacos were delicious and presented beautifully, grouper azteca was one of the best dishes we had in Mexico, full of interesting, complementary flavours, pan katerina (corn bread, caramelised bananas, rompope and ice cream) was a total knockout. The In Guac We Trust starter is enormous - be warned!
Lovely outdoor setting surrounded by plants too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kondesa Restaurant also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Kondesa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kondesa Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.