We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST RESTAURANT IN COZUMEL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kondesa Restaurant

Kondesa Restaurant
456 5th Ave between 5th & 7th Street, Cozumel 7760, Mexico
+52 987 869 1086
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 247 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $13
Cuisines: Mexican, Mediterranean, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Miguel Hidalgo, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“THE BEST RESTAURANT IN COZUMEL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Went there for dinner with my family. We had tasted many different places in Cozumel but were looking for an outstanding place and we found it. I loved the jicama tacos with fish and the fish enchiladas. The desserts are also great. The drinks are awesome, we had a cocktail called Hemingway prepared with fresh squeezed grapefruit juice. The atmosphere is relaxing and their main dining area is open air. Highly recommended.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    642
    122
    33
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Intimate, trendy, elegant eating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Right off the main drag but a million miles from anywhere, this is the spot to have great service and food for those looking to escape the cruise ship mobs. Not ideal for families with kids (when we went they didn't have a high chair for my toddler nephew) but great for just about everyone else.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

It took us a LONG time to find, but it was well worth it in the end. With modern mexican food and new combinations of old favorites, Kondesa introduced us to a whole new taste of food.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
“A surprise garden oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Kondesa was a huge surprise for my family of five. Very unassuming from the curb. Once inside it's like nothing you'd expect. Ambiance was phenomenal! Music, lighting, use of space, all wonderful. Outdoor setting. Tables set in spaces surrounded by trees, well tended shrubs. Zen garden meets modern decor. Kalifornian salad was amazing! Had three versions of the red snapper. Two were nicely prepared. The other had a little too much sauce. Fried bananas for dessert have become an island favorite for us. Kondesa's version didn't disappoint. Definite plans to return. Moderately priced

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston & Crested Butte
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good food in lovely surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Fine meal with a large and lively group. The service was attentive. Everyone was happy with this choice and I recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kondesa Restaurant also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Kondesa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kondesa Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.