We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kondesa Restaurant

Kondesa Restaurant
456 5th Ave between 5th & 7th Street, Cozumel 7760, Mexico
+52 987 869 1086
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 264 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $13
Cuisines: Mexican, Mediterranean, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We have visited Kondesa many times but were really miffed in Jan. by the rude service and said we would not return. Fortunately, we changed our minds and returned in September. It was a great evening. This is a beautiful, al fresco, restaurant with wonderfully creative and tasty dishes. The drinks are very good and reasonably priced. Try the queso fundido with chorizo and freshly made corn tortillas! To die for! We had excellent fish and pasta dishes as well. It is not difficult to find; just one block from the main street, Raphael Melgar, on 5th Ave. between 5th and 7th streets.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    640
    122
    33
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“hard to find, but worth the wandering”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

the atmosphere, service and food were fabulous! A favorite, for sure (though, not too keen on the cucumber cocktail that is supposed to be 'the drink' there---wine for me, next time!)

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We have been there twice and look forward to going back. The food is stellar and the service is fantastic. Beautiful spot. May be considered pricey by Mexican standards' but worth every penny.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, CO
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Muy Bueno!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

My wife and I went to Kondesa on our last night on Cozumel. Our margaritas were good, service was fast and the atmosphere was nice. I had the fish of the day (which was Mahi Mahi), and it was very nicely done. My wife had the pasta, and it was delicious also. The guacamole trio was an brilliant starter, as we had never had any non traditional guacamole dishes like that before. All in all Kondesa was excellent, and we would highly recommend you try it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Spivey Estates, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My wife and I went to Kondesa for our tenth anniversary. We loved the guacamole trio and atmosphere. Their food is modern and very good-I had the Azteck Fish and my wife had the steak. We will be visiting again!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kondesa Restaurant also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Kondesa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kondesa Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.