We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the main path and well worth it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ohana Cafe

Ohana Cafe
Avenida 5 between 6th & 8th North, Cozumel, Mexico
9871190343
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 247 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Hemphill, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Off the main path and well worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Located on 5th Avenue a couple blocks North of the square, its off the main path but well worth the short walk! From the bustle of the square to the quiet streets just a couple blocks North, its a completely different experience. Welcoming and comfortable from the moment you enter, Matt & Angela make you part of their family and offer up cool drinks and great food!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    42
    10
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Murphy, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

We ate here in July of 2011. The food and service were both great.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolute MUST!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

O'hana's is a wonderful place for a small quiet dinner or a larger group meal. The owners and staff are very personable......they make you feel as if you are creating a memory for them, you are not just another customer. The Chef cooked fresh Tuna that our group caught that day and brought in to the restaurant. He cooked it in two different ways, added some rice and mixed vegetables, and created a very appealing looking plate that was almost too beautiful to eat! Great food, wonderful drinks, relaxing atmosphere......this restaurant should be added to everyone's itinerary when visiting Cozumel!!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tomball
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“my new very favorite place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Who'd a thunk it? This was a world class eating experience. I had the hot wings appetizer, and my wife had chicken nachos. Superior rating on both - the hot wing sauce was to kill for, and Matteo knows it. He wouldn'r divulge the recipe despite my intense pleading.

Than came the tuna. I wept. Emotionally good food prepared by a chef, not a cook. Never had any better - seriously. It can't be any better. The chef came to the table to check for approval too. They're all plugged into service and quality, as any family owned business should be. I hope you try it. You'll love it.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coldspring, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic new resturant in Cozumel - O'hana Cafe & Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

First visit to O'hana Cafe, fantastic place and a must visit for everyone. The ambiance is quaint, the food wonderful, and the staff extremely friendly. We went fishing that day, where we landed a large tuna. We were able to take the filets to the Chef at O’hanas, where they were professionally and perfectly prepared for a very reasonable price. Each was served with sides of rice and steamed vegetables. The drinks were strong and very tasty. The appetizers were also great. We highly recommend this restaurant.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ohana Cafe also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Ohana Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ohana Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.