We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can you say "cheese enchilada verdes"?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Coffee Cozumel

El Coffee Cozumel
3rd St South . | between Rafael Melgar and 5th Ave, Cozumel, Mexico
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 249 Restaurants in Cozumel
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Can you say "cheese enchilada verdes"?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

This place is pretty easy to spot if you look for the pizza hut. I read a comment or to about the cheese enchilada verdes so even though we came in for coffee and not to eat I ended up ordering it anyway. OMG was it fabulous! I had 3 really good meals on this entire trip and it was probably the best thing i had. A very good sized serving that was just perfect for me in so many ways. I'm still dreaming of if.

As far as the drinks go, we should have just had regular coffee. My daughter had hot chocolate. Mexican hot chocolate is not the flavor she is used to and she it quite picky so only drank a bit of it. I had the Coffee cajeta which was a bit on the sweet side. Wife had a latte that was also sweet for her taste. I mean these were both good but it was our mistake ordering drinks we should have realized would be sweet.

They have a nice array of desserts here but we did not have any. I would come back in a heartbeat for more cheese enchilada verdes or to sample other similar items. Also just to have some regular coffee or espresso.

Inside is narrow but a long stretch of seating is available and the atmosphere inside was nice.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    17
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Don't expect a slice of cake........”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

glad we found this little coffee shop instead of Starbucks taking all our coffee trade! Very authentic and many different tasty homemade cakes to choose. I chose an orange cake which was so fresh it was still warm, delicious. When I say don't expect a slice of cake it is because the cake you see on the cake stand is what you get, the carrot cake my son had was 10cm cubed but he managed it! Many different coffees and teas for all tastes you won't leave disappointed.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Great coffee!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

The price is similar to Starbucks, but it's well worth it, especially it's right in the downtown tourist area across from Suites Bahia hotel. There's free wifi, and they also serve light meals and dessert. But I only tried their coffee.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williams Lake
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food and coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Good food here and great coffee. I think one of our family was here almost every day of our Cozumel trip.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wow, wish I had found this place earlier !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Decided to leave the resort to find a coffee shop in town and thanks to Tripadvisor ended up in El Coffee. What a great coffee shop. Had a cappuchino and shared two desserts. One would have been enough but after deciding on the banana cake with cream cheese carmel swirl icing found out the apple pie was just baked and couldn't resist. The service and price were great and left 2 very satisfied people.j

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Coffee Cozumel also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to El Coffee Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Coffee Cozumel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.